We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't see the hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sublime Doughnuts

Sublime Doughnuts
535 10th St, Atlanta, GA 30318
404-897-1801
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 3,540 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries, Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Takeout
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I don't see the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Maybe I didn't get the best doughnuts Sublime has to offer, but the guy working the counter rushed me through and didn't seem to want to answer questions even though no one else was in line (it was my first time there and my boyfriend and I were just visited Atlanta). Anyway, we went with an A Town, Reese’s PB Cup, and Chocolate Wild Berry fritter. We dug into the A-Town right away since it was fresh, but I was disappointed. It was essentially a boston cream pie doughnut. I can get the same thing at Dunkin, so I was unimpressed. The Reese’s donut was better than the A-Town. The inside had a peanut butter cream and it had reese’s on the outside, so what’s not to like. The chocolate berry fritter was my least favorite because I’m not a fan of fruit and chocolate together. However, I did appreciate the use of real fruit (there were raspberry seeds in the dough so that was cool). If I'm ever in Atlanta again, will I visit again? No. I would look elsewhere for a doughnut fix.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA, USA
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Yes, the donuts are good but don't count on your favorite being there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This tiny place in a tiny shopping at 10th Street and Hemphill (near Georgia Tech) is fine if you can go by off hours and get tyour donuts to go. While they show at least 15 different types on their list, it is his or miss as to what they will actually have. The donuts are good, but hot glazed Krispy Kremes on Ponce De Leon are just as tasty, 24 hours a day. The place is all the buzz but not worth a long drive or enduring the line as the service can pretty slow. Much time is wasted with people asking what all the donuts are, which could be easily resolved by labeling them!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Doesn't Live Up to What Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I went here with my brother and sister for a bite to eat before we left Atlanta. The donuts are certainly unique with interesting flavors and nicely done pictures on their internet site. I enjoyed the strawberry and cream donut, although the cream could have been better. The other donuts were just OK as far as I am concerned. I don't like raised donuts. I prefer cake donuts and most, if not all of their donuts were raised. We ate at the donut shop on a Sunday morning and they had only one serving of milk in the place although we there early in the morning (not very good planning). They have limited seating. There is a tall table looking out the window with five chairs and two small tables, but there were only 4 chairs total for these tables. There is also two sofas to sit on. Also, their donuts are a little pricey.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Costs, but tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

You'll certainly pay more than you would at a 'regular' donut place. But I think Sublime is probably closer to a bakery that specializes in donuts. If they sold cupcakes instead, I don't think I would have thought twice about the price.

I ordered coffee and two doughnuts. The doughnuts were incredibly fresh during my morning visit. The honey glazed was really good, and the chocolate caramel was...reeeeeeaaaalllly good. The coffee is individually ground and pressed on order. The roast was a little darker than I prefer, but after a bite of doughnut it mellowed out a little.

The shop is located in a plaza next to a tattoo parlor. The large sign outside just says "Doughnuts", so keep your eyes open if you want to stop here. The chef who started the business was in the seating area, so that was kind of neat. The decor is super cute, with all types of doughnut decor and even a few kid's books with doughnut themes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent donuts and great flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Picked up a dozen since it was my first time there I asked for a variety and each donut I ate I thought this is my favorite until I ate the next one well worth the drive downtown

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sublime Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Sublime Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sublime Doughnuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.