We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get the hype” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sublime Doughnuts

Sublime Doughnuts
535 10th St, Atlanta, GA 30318
404-897-1801
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 3,465 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Bakery, Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Dessert
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't get the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I wanted to like these doughnuts so badly, after forcing my husband to drive out of his way to go. He hated them, and I thought they were "okay." Edible, but certainly nothing I would go out of my way to return to. The workers were friendly, and my cousin, who was with us, loved hers. I doubt I would return, but mostly just because it is not near anything I go to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    16
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not Krispy Kreme but still really tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I grew up in Atlanta, so Krispy Kreme doughnuts flow thru my veins and then down onto my hips That hot now sign makes me want to grab an ice cold glass of milk and cram one of those sweet circles into my mouth (if you are unfamiliar with a hot now, it just collapses with that first bite). I tell you this so you will understand that while I love Krispy kreme, sublime is delicious in its own right. It needs to be judged on its own and not compared to kk.

When we went in to sublime we ordered one of everything. That day they had 18 different flavors. It should be noted that you cannot buy more than two dozen at a time without advance notice. They also do this really cool thing where they spell out happy birthday in doughnuts that you can advance order.

We did a taste test to see which doughnuts we liked the best. Here are the results.
Everybody liked honey glazed cinnamon swirl, caramel apple fritter, fresh strawberries and cream, Reese's peanut butter cup, nutella, white chocolate peach fritter.
Most everybody liked dulce de leche, raspberry filled heart, s'mores, salt and vinegar (that one was sweet and salty/sour)
Kids liked butterfinger, Atown cream, orange dream star (if you like varsity fo's you will like this), yin yang twists, Choc berry fritter, Oreo, butter toffee
No one liked the Atown mocha.

We did not get to try the Choc banana fritter, deep dark Choc fudge, or red velvet.

On Saturdays they have a maple cheese bacon on that sounds interesting.

Sublime is right at the Georgia tech campus, so crowded with students. Also, these puppies ain't cheap. The cheapest is $1.00 and they run up to $2.00. Would I go back, you bet. This is one of those fun places to go for a treat or maybe for when you have guest over.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Yumm bits of badness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Even though I know donuts are not healthy I could not stop myself at just one. Loved the strawberry and cream and the deep dark choc!! Thank goodness I do not live close or these could become a problem. They are the freshest donuts I have ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique and Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I hit Sublime during our trip to Atlanta and were not disappointed. The flavor combinations were very unique and excellent. My favorite was the Salt and Vinegar - salted caramel and balsamic vinegar reduction on a chocolate yeast donut. The donuts themselves are very light and not greasy at all. Highly recommended. Be warned though, the strawberries and cream sells out fast!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Could not stop eating their doughnuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Okay, so we thought we would each get one doughnut but that didn't really work. Every one was better than the last so we got more. And then more. What we are most sad about is that we do not have a Sublime where we live!! Will definitely be back here whenever we are in Atlanta. Delish.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sublime Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Sublime Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sublime Doughnuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.