We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just tacos, it's the Bone Garden Cantina Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bone Garden Cantina

Bone Garden Cantina
1425 Ellsworth Industrial Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30318 (Blandtown)
404 418 9072
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 3,417 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Blandtown
Atlanta
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“More than just tacos, it's the Bone Garden Cantina Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The owner of the Vortex opened the BGC. Tucked away in the lumber yard with Mexican themed “Day of the Dead" art work, murals and statues that adds to the engrossing experience that is the Bone Garden Cantina. I love it. The menu offers a wide range of wonderful Mexican fare, so you can try them all. This is not the cheese cake factory where they bring your food in a wheel barrow. The food is served a la carte with very reasonable prices, so you can try everything. Go early, I repeat, go early, they run out of the specials all the time because the food is that good. A must have are the tamales. Also, you must order the banana empanada for dessert, sinful! Drinks are great; servers are fun, fully tatted up that adds to the charm of this place. You might want to keep the young kiddies away because of all the skeletons, coffins and skulls which may require therapy or prolong potty training.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If the hedonists of the world wanted Mexican food outside of Mexico...eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Tastes like eating at grandma's but better atmosphere...awesome tequelas and the food is out of this world!!! Real Mexican coca cola!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Well Worth Finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in the back of a renovated building off Marietta Boulevard, Bone Garden is one of those places someone has to tell you about or you'd never know it was there.

Thank goodness someone did!!!

The Day of the Dead decor is fun and colorful, the service is friendly and fast, and the food is outstanding. There is a nice outdoor patio, too.

You know when the bowl of nachoes is that fresh and lightly crisp that the rest of the meal is going to be special.

We sampled several of the tacos, including the goat, hibiscus flower, lemon chicken and beef. All were delicious. My son in law enjoyed the beef tongue dish. (Their full menu is not on this website. They have many other choices.)

Plus, they serve jamaica (seeet hibiscus tea) and horchata (rice milk) that are to die for, and their saffron hued rice is the color of a sunset-almost too pretty to eat.

A fun place to go, made us feel hip even though we aren't. ;-)

Definitely on our go-again list now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Bone Garden Cantina after reviewing the menu on-line.

We ate outside as the weather was perfect for a early afternoon meal. We first ordered the fresh margaritas - the Partida Margarita asnd Grand Platino Margarita, which were smooth and made with top shelf tequila. The waitress was friendly and helpful . She told us that she liked the Grand Platino Margarita the best and the Partida Margarita was her second choice. The waitress was right on the money and we both thought the margaritas were wonderful.

The menu, which is al la carte, (range of $3.25 - $6.50 for most items) offers tapis size portions of different types of tacos, quesadillas, enchiladas, tamles, empanadas, sopes (not soup), ans burritos. There are also salads, soups, and sides offered on the menu. We started with the Three Amigos which consisted of cheese dip, guacamole, and salsa fresca served with torilla chips. The salsa had an incredibly fresh taste of tomatoes with mild spices. You knew it was made from scratch. The guacamole was the best we had in the Atlanta area and as good as we had in Mexico. The guacamole was freshly diced and seasoned. Perfect! The cheese dip was creamy with just enough heat.

My wife ordered the betabel salad with roasted beets. She enjoyed the freshness of the arugula and beets. I had the red goat soap. It was definitely spicy but you could taste all of the ingredients of goat, chile de arbol and guajillo pepper broth, onion, garlic, rice, cilantro, and lime. My wife also ordered the ceviche which is made with mahi mahi. It is served in a small cup. The flavor was outstanding. eviche is usually made with tilapia in most Mexican restaurants. Not here. Mahi Mahi gives the ceviche a rich taste that you do not find with tilapia. I had the puerco azteca which is a tamale made with spicy pork, red chiles, onion, and garlic and steamed in a banana leaf. I was surprised when it was served with a banana leaf that covered the tamale. The taste of the tamale itself was mouth watering - soft and flavorful. The spicy pork was indeed spicy and not for everyone. Nonetheless it was quite enjoyable. The choriza enchiladas was filled with ground chorizo and topped with guajillo ranchero sauce. It had a robust flavor of chorizo with chihuahua cheese, queso fresco, and sour cream. Just the right size portion. My wife also loved her citrus shrimp empandas.

Our waitress continued to fill our water glasses throughout the meal. She was courteous and attentive but not too much so. She had a double shift on Saturday because a few other servers went out-of-town. One one hand, she did not look forward to working two shifts, but knew she would make more money in tips etc over the holiday weekend.

My wife and I finished the meal with an order of churros. The waitress brought out four long churros and a cup of hot Mexican chocolate. We had never eaten churros this way. After dunking the churros in the hot chocolate, we are definitely spoiled. The hot chocolate was tasty and not too sweet. Just right. The churros were sugar coated and warm. As you bit down on the churros it melted in your mouth. The best tasting churros ever.

We live in Lawrenceville and wish that Bone Garden Cantina was much closer. We will return on days that we do not have to wade through the Atlanta traffic to get there. Bone Garden Cantina is definitely on our list of favorites in the Atlanta area. We would highly recommend that you go out of your way to savor and taste the assortment of delightful Mexican food at this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins,GA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome One of a Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had seen this place on a tv show about top Southwest/Mexican food. When my wife and I heard Atlanta, we were a bit surprised. This past Monday we were in Atlanta and decided to have lunch there before going over to Ikea. It was great. The outside area has a great seating area with the tables and umbrellas. The inside interior is very unique but festive. The tequila selection was massive with some brands I've tried, but a lot of them I had not seen before. The Tamales were awesome. I would like to go back and see how it is in the evenings or on the weekend and sample a few of the tequlias I've not tried before.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bone Garden Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Bone Garden Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bone Garden Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.