We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free science for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernbank Science Center

Fernbank Science Center
156 Heaton Park Drive NE, At Artwood Road off Ponce de Leon Avenue, Atlanta, GA GA 30307
404 378 4311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 143 Attractions in Atlanta
Type: Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highlights of this science museum include an exhibit on the development of life in Georgia over the past 500 million years, the original Apollo 6 space capsule and the world's largest telescope dedicated to public education.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Free science for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Your 3-9 year olds will have fun here and its free. The planetarium shows are good and cheap. An hour is enough to see it all, but you can spend another hour hiking through the forest in back of the center.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    5
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Flintstone, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Found the science center by mistake and glad we did. The kids loved the place and I loved the fact that it was free and you can leave a donation if you'd like. We spent around an hour here just walking around. The kids especially liked the different species of frogs and snakes. Its definitely worth the stop if you're in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“quick place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The place was small and easy to go through. The star gazing was awesome for the little ones too. I would only visit this place one time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun thing for a Friday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was my first visit here & I would love to go back. We went on a Friday night when they have music & dancing. It was fun watching everyone dance "old school". Food was delicious. Very limited drink choices. Food & drinks expensive. But overall, neat experience!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Planetarium - Need I Say More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The planetarium experience is an awesome experience. Well worth a visit for any avid stargazer or to introduce kids to science.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernbank Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernbank Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.