We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airy, modern space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of High Museum of Art

High Museum of Art
1280 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30309
404 733 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$74*
and up
Atlanta CityPass
Ranked #14 of 143 Attractions in Atlanta
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stunning, porcelain-enameled building was designed by famed architect Richard Meier and is rivaled only by the art inside. Featuring American, European and African art, as well as decorative art and photography, the High Museum boasts a permanent collection of over 11,000 pieces, many of which can be viewed from different levels of the four-story, glass atrium.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Airy, modern space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The nuseum is enjoyable for its' new exhibits but has too many permanent exhibits to draw visitors back very often. There is a preponderance of Romantic European art and not much variance in their special exhibits. The locals still reminisce about the huge Chinese loom exhibited many years ago. It filled the atrium and took several men to operate it and was fascinating to see "in action".

Nothing since has equalled it, I'm sorry to say.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    293
    82
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As a Local I suggest...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

...that you do check the place out. They are always rotating shows through, however, for larger exhibitions they are usually there for a long time, so if I get the itch to see something new I have to wait. I think it's free for military and discounted for students with valid ID. Make sure you pay extra for the headphones, they are worth it because if people are in your view as you try to read whatever is next to what you are looking up, it really comes in handy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Certainly Atlanta's best museum of art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Dont miss the Lichtenstein out front. Kids will love it. I suggest you check the current exhibits before heading there to see if there is something especially of interest to you. While it is a very nice museum, it doesn't rival the worls'd leading museums of art.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good collection awful building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I well understand that Renzo Piano has become the art museum architect of the day and that Richard Meier has an extensive and esteemed record as an architect but this is simply an awful building. It has absolutely nothing to do with its site and neighbors. It looks as though it should have been placed on a slight rise with nothing around it rather than placed in a packed urban setting in the midst of some late nineteenth century and early twentieth century residential and commercial structures and a mish mash of varied an uninspired twentieth century office buildings. Moreover, and most importantly, the building does not work as a museum. (I note that my opinion is the minority view.) Inside the space is absurd, an enormous open entrance area that is without focus and is a remarkable waste of space. Visitors wander, dazed and disoriented looking for where the displays begin. The gallery areas are cramped and the wings of the museum are poorly integrated structurally. Nonetheless, the permanent collection and special exhibits are worth your efforts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“On our whirlwind tour of Atlanta, this was my favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This museum has it all--beautiful architecture, furniture exhibits, photography, folk art and traveling exhibits. It was a new discovery around every corner. It is fabulous and it's part of the city pass!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to High Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.