We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Location, Very Good Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   866 W Peachtree St, Atlanta, GA 30308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ATL Summer Rates from $99
Ranked #20 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Good Location, Very Good Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was the second time I've stayed in this hotel. I was there 3 years ago when it was the Hotel Palomar, back then it was one of my favorite hotels.
While very little has changed, rooms are still very clean, and the staff is still very friendly, yet there is something here which keeps it from getting 5 stars.

This time the only room they had available was a handicap ready room. I found the shower difficult, it was a handle type, and it tended to spray wildly.

I also don't like paying extra for Wi-fi, or parking, at those prices it should be included with the room.
None of these things are deal breakers, but it would be nice if they were included.

It seems since the change to Renaissance, many of the little things that were packaged in the room, are now added on as extras.

But overall still a very nice Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Good morning and thanks for returning to stay with us since our conversion to the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown hotel. I was delighted to see that you found our staff to still be friendly and that the hotel is still clean. We, of course, work very hard on both of these items. I was interested to see read that many of the "extras' since conversion were now add ons. I believe that we kept everything the same, but of course do understand your thoughts about internet and parking. We price according to the market and find that this is the norm in Midtown, Buckhead and Downtown. We look forward to your return visit and earning that 5th Star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    145
    38
    12
    14
See reviews for
62
99
19
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Because this hotel is near my daughter's condo in midtown Atlanta, I have stayed here several times even before it became a Renaissance. There have been some changes from our last stay but we adjusted.

We spent five nights of our Thanksgiving trip here and the staff was kind. They kept us supplied with coffee so we could make it in our room in the am. Coffee in the lobby has been discontinued. They are continuing to offer the ice water with lemon in the lobby. We also were able to attend the wine tastings and appetizers served each afternoon at 5 pm. My husband really enjoyed the wine and visiting with the bartender as the happy hour was offered in the main floor restaurant/bar area.

We were also able to make room in the locked minibar to store some of favorite foods so we never without. Having Publix and CVS a block away was great.

The parking seemed kind of expensive at $30 but we were able to park at our daughter's condo ramp nearby in her friend's vacant spot.

Our 15th floor window had a view of the north Atlanta skyline plus the parking lot of the strip club. It was nice to see that there were closed for Thanksgiving but otherwise did a thriving business.

The room was clean, quiet and modern. There was free wifi in the lobby but accessing it in the room would incur a charge.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I was delighted to read your review and I appreciate that you took time to let us know all about your stay! We do indeed enjoy having a tremendous staff and a great location. Thank you for your comment about parking, we do set the price based on the market and parking is at a premium in Midtown, if you choose or decide not to utilize valet parking here at the hotel there are a number of self park lots nearby, unfortunately they do not allow for in and out privileges. We will look forward to your return visit--until then enjoy the Holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I will preface this review by saying I'm not your 'typical' traveler who would stay at a property such as this. Usually my bottom line for a hotel is cleanliness and service, which shouldn't matter if you are paying 99.00 or 599.00 for an overnight stay, there's never an excuse for a dirty room or bad service.

Luckily, this hotel sets a new benchmark for service. Please pardon that I did not write down the names of the employees, but everyone I encountered were friendly and always seemed as if they were truly interested in my comfort.

Check-in on 11/21 was a breeze thanks to the gentleman at the front desk. It was late, I traveled all day, and he smiled, welcomed me, and made me feel he was giving me the same level of attention if I were a business man in a 20K suite (keep in mind I'm wearing jeans and a t-shirt for driving comfort).

The room was stunning, modern but not overbearing. Colors were mute but very artistic, perfect lighting. The halls even smelt fresh... do you know how rare it is to have the hallways feeling clean?

Check-out the next morning 11/22 was also very easy, a very kind, all smiles young lady assisted and couldn't have been more helpful.

Due to unforseen circumstances, I ended up coming back on 11/22 with a new reservation (let's just say the evening would not be pleasant laying on a friends sofa post Thanksgiving dinner with five bottles of wine having been consumed by the group of us).

Check-in, once again easy. However this time I did come across what could be a pretty horrific housekeeping issue. I'll refrain from the details because the hotel offered everything to compensate for in the grand scheme of things wasn't an over-the-top deal, but if I had been a high-profile business person, this one issue could have been a disaster. But, as I mentioned, both the overnight clerk and the morning clerk did everything possible including offering another room, compesation, etc for the issue I experianced. I turned it all down because in my mindsight it wasn't the end of the world but the genuine apologies were enough for me.

Bottom line, I have reservations on 12/30 and I'm counting the days to cgo back to the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown! Thank you Marriott for bringing this gem into the Rewards program!

Room Tip: Request a corner room/high floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good afternoon and thank you for your comments. I was so glad to hear that not only did you find the hotel itself to be clean and nicely decorated, but that we were the Benchmark for service. Our team takes a lot of pride in delivering exceptional experiences and this is testament to that. Apologies are in order for the issue you had to deal with and I was also delighted to hear how well the staff responded and that you were indeed satisfied with their actions. We look forward to seeing you again later next month upon your return. Unitl then, "Live Life to Discover" as we say at Renaissance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We planned a trip to Atlanta for the Chic-Fil-A Kick Off Game in August. Knowing that his was a busy weekend in Atlanta, we booked our rooms and PREPAID 3 months in advance. At the time of booking, we requested 3 double rooms as we had 12 guests coming into town for the night. Knowing that rooms would be scarce, we did not mind paying over $200/room for the night.

While driving into Atlanta on the day of check-in, I personally called the hotel to let the hotel staff know that we would be a late check in because kick off was not until 7PM. The staff was made aware that our arrival would be between 11:00-Midngiht. I also had the front desk staff verify with me over the phone that our reservation was for 3 double rooms. The staff told me they would note the account of our late arrival.

We arrived to the hotel at 11:30 PM, but when we went to the desk to check in the staff informed us that they only had king size rooms left. This was a huge issue because we had 12 people in our party. We were told by the staff that they could give us blankets and we could sleep the remaining people on the floor!!! For over $200 a night and you want us to sleep on the floor for a mistake that your staff made! We were not only traveling with a small child, but also with 3 active duty military and one wounded vet from Iraq and you are asking these people to pay to sleep on the floor!

The night staff at the hotel was very nice in the situation and I understood that they were doing the best with what little authority they had. The problem I have with the hotel and with Marriot as a chain is that we were forced to drive home at 2am because there was no way that 12 people were sleeping in 3 beds and they REFUSED to refund our money since they offered "alternative" sleeping arragements....

We called and spoke with many people in Marriot's corporate office and I was hung up with several times. I also called and spoke with the VP of Operations at the specific hotel in Atlanta, and he informed me that he held the rooms until 4PM and then realeased them to others. These rooms were already paid for and the hotel knew at 10AM that we would not check in until close to midnight!

I warned Marriot Corporate of my intentions to drop my Marriot Rewards account and have since joined Hilton Honors. My family and I are extensive travelers with many military memebers who we visit quite often. We are also devoted followers of our college football team and travel to all the away games. My experiences with the Hilton group hotels have been nothing short of excellent and I will continue to do my best to make sure that every traveler I encounter knows of how horribly not only this hotel but Marriot as a company treats its paying customers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Good afternoon and thank you for your feedback regarding your reservation. I can certainly understand the frustration you experienced upon arrival to the hotel and would like to offer my sincere apologies on behalf of the entire staff. I will be brief as I know that we responded to this issue shortly afterwards, back in September through our internal Marriott customer care process. I know that you have many options and choices when choosing your lodging and do hope you will reconsider your decision.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALABASAS
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Renaissance recently on a business trip--until we checked out. Up to then, the staff had been pleasant, both at the entrance (great, charming and welcoming young men in uniform) front desk staff and an excellent concierge. Being a long time Marriott Rewards member, the front desk said they would waive the internet charges.
When we checked out, the young lady at the front desk questioned, almost argued with me over these small fees, asking me who had authorized them. After a flight from LA two days before, I hardly remembered his name. That encounter, and starchy sheets, needs to change at this very nice hotel. Otherwise, we can stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Good afternoon. Thanks for staying with us and thank you for the specific feedback regarding your stay. I have personally followed up with our team and I am confident that the experience you describe was a one time occurence. Nevertheless, I share the same high expectations of exceptional customer service as you! We will be delighted to welcome you upon your return to Atlanta and to the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown. Please accept my personal apologies on behalf of the staff, I do appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel and hosted a meeting here. My check-in experience was flawless! The staff pays attention to details and is customer-service oriented. I travel for work every week, and they made me feel like I was at home. The hotel itself is clean, is efficiently run, and is in a convenient part of town. I would absolutely stay here again and host future meetings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good afternoon and thanks for your comments. I was absolutely delighted to read this and in fact shared this with our team in our Daily Rehearsal (meeting) this morning. I will indeed look forward to seeing you the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The Staff was accommodating, we had children with us, and needed a playard. The room was clean, and parking wasn't an issue, because we used the meters. Very cute boutique spot, catered toward the grownup crowd, but it worked for our family. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review and post your comments about your stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We will look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel

Address: 866 W Peachtree St, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#44 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel centrally located in Atlanta’s Midtown neighborhood. This beautifully appointed Renaissance Hotel stylishly sets “Art in Motion” while surrounding you in comfort. Just blocks from the Georgia Tech campus, this sophisticated sanctuary is home to Briza Restaurant, and the Rooftop 866 lounge and easily accessible to popular destinations, like Centennial Olympic Park, Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.