We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“world class orchestra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Woodruff Arts Center, 1280 Peachtree St., NE, Atlanta, GA 30309 (Midtown)
404-733-4900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 327 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Woodruff Arts Center, this is the famed symphony orchestra of Atlanta.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“world class orchestra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent performances, great venue--have been a fan for years and will continue to support and attend the ASO. Especially like the seasonal shows and collaborative performances with other musicians/artists

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    29
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great performance, wonderful music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

On a brief weekend visit, we were able to get second row seats at the last minute. While too close to see the whole orchestra, we felt like they were playing just for us -- the conductor seemed to be smiling at me as he turned to the cello section. We heard Mozart's Basoon Concerto and the Beethoven Pastorale Symphony -- both excellent. I had heard the Pastorale just a few weeks earlier in New Jersey, but enjoyed this time even more. Atlanta seems to love it's symphony, the audience was full, enthusiastic, and elegantly dressed -- fun to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Champions of New Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Atlanta Symphony, although many of its programs are the tried and true, also features lots of contemporary music by 21st Century composers. That's it's greatest strength, in my opinion. The musicians are excellent at whatever they do, but some of the contemporary works appear to me to be very difficult to perform, and not only because they are new and pretty much unheard before.

Also, the Chorus is one of the best in the world, and anytime they are performing, it's a special evening.

Go hear them. If you like classical music at all, you won't be disappointed

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always a good time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great way to spend some time in Atlanta ---- hanging out with the ASO!! The tickets are generally reasonable, the performers - excellent. I'm never disappointed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Innovative performances, something for every age.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been to classical, pops, movies with the symphony playing in the background, They really do a great job trying to engage the community. We ended up buying season tickets, we were enjoying it so much and you are able to exchange for another date if something comes up. They are so nice about it and make it easy. Lovely hall, comfortable seating, just can't go wrong supporting this great institution. Supporting the arts, when they are like this is such a pleasure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlanta Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.