We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Atlanta Midtown to your Saves list
W Atlanta Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #109 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice, clean decent size room (especially compared to the NYC W hotels). Staff were very helpful and attentive. Great location in midtown. I had breakfast at spice market which was good.
The only surprise for me was how dead the bar scene was for Friday night happy hour and even later that night. I am used to the NYC w hotels which are always quite lively and fun.
Overall the hotel was quite a good value but just a bit quieter than expected.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    282
    163
    94
    56
See reviews for
61
153
84
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent four days here hold up in my room to do research writing.
Hotel is European Chic...techno music in lobby and hotel...modern furniture and decore.
Everyone goes out of their way to be of assistance --even offering cold bottles of water and apples to incoming guests.
Rooms were Chic and large with every amenity imaginable...free in-room wi-fi, i-pod stand, DVD player, large flat screen t.v. A remarkably "cute" in-room candy store, and a better than average in room bar. Daily free bottled water is left in your room (along with the expensive for sale bottle)
Nice size exercise room. Wonderful Spa with yummy smelling "Bliss" products.
Spice restaurant is very comfortable lots of pillows type seating with an asian healthful-friendly
menu. Their lunch menu doesn't have many options, but breakfast and dinner are wonderful.

Within minutes of requesting an additional bar of soap--a bag full of products were sent to my room (the in-room products are the same ones sold at "Bliss"...worth taking with you when you leave!)
Lots of extremely comfortable and inviting "nooks" to sit and work if necessary.

No regrets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice, but oddly set up. Staff was hesitant about helping, as if a request for towels and toilet paper were suspicious. Location is not easily found if you aren't familiar with the area. Good luck finding parking (unless you want to give up your firstborn and use the garage).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Crystal C,
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel. We will share your feedback with the appropriate in the hopes to grow from it. Should you chose to return please let us know at GM@watlantamidtown.com
Best,
W Midtown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We met three other couples here for a visit and to see sites in Atlanta. the Lobby or "Living Room" was a great place to meet with plenty of room to sit and talk, plus a excellent cocktails. the reception desk staff were extremely helpful as well as all the other staff. everyone went out of their way to make our stay convenient and enjoyable. the hotel is a short walk to the MARTA stop, the High art museum and a number of good restaruants, including South City Kitchen. the restaurant in the Hotel served tasty food that was well presented. the restaurant service was a little slow, but we ate at odd times. the rooms are very comfortable with a contemporary decor. I could imagine a large wedding party using this hotel. It would also be fun for a rehersal dinner. plus it is a short walk to the botantical garden , which would also be a wonderful place for a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed two nights for the Dogwood Festival. We walked to the festival and to restaurants. It was colder than we anticipated so we asked the front desk where we could buy sweaters or sweatshirts. She was most helpful in directing us. The ice machine on our floor did not work so a call for service brought an immediate delivery of ice to our room. On checkout, the valet gave us several bottles of water for our trip. Oh, did I say the bed was FANTASTIC! We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I´ve stayed in this hotel twice now and felt a review was in order.
Initial impressions count and there is a ¨wow¨factor when you walk in. Projections on the walls, video graphics and funky music add to the feeling of being somewhere trendy.
The staff are really friendly and approachable and happy to chat away.
It´s a lovely area, very green and leafy and there are plenty of eateries within easy walking distance and with a food court through some double door on the first or mezzanine floor across from the Spice Market restaurant.
Which brings me to the downside of this hotel. The Spice Market restaurant is pricy for what you get and the service is slow and not very attentive. After one bad experience in there and having talked to colleagues staying with me there who had similar experiences, we decided to head out for some food instead of paying inflated prices for food that was, on reflection, not that great.
The other thing I´d like to mention which got a heads up from others I talked to is ¨Why no coffee making facilities in the Rooms?¨Why on earth you have to call up and request one is beyond me, and although free coffee is available in the hotel lobby, you don´t always want to get yourself ready and head downstairs first thing in the morning just to get a coffee!
If they can manage to out jelly beans chocolate and bottles of alcohol within reach in your room, then why not a coffee brewer?
Apart from these gripes it´s a great place to stay and very comfortable too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I only ask three things of a hotel...comfortable bed, clean bathroom...and a functioning internet. The internet not only was dysfunctional, but kept bringing up an entry screen that made it look like it was working! After a half-hour of frustrating time-wasting effort, I called the IT support. They did not understand what was happening either. Then, spontaneously the internet started to work...for a day...and then the next day the same @#$ thing happened. Only this time, IT said it was because of a scheduled maintenance that shut down the entire system. Thanks very much for letting users know not to waste their time trying to troubleshoot the issue! No information was given. I threw up my hands in disgust. This problem dwarfed the smaller problem that the concierge did not know what he was talking about when referring to local restaurants. In short, never again the W!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.