We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Atlanta Midtown to your Saves list
W Atlanta Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #125 of 191 Hotels in Atlanta
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just stayed at the W in Atlanta and booked a Heavenly Suite. There was a Bose surround sound system set up that was incredible! I love the W hotels, but this one is top-notch. Tamara is the front desk manager and she is just awesome. Ask her for anything, and she tries her best to make it happen. Room service was great. Of course, the heavenly beds are perfect for just melting right into them. The location is great, just a short two block walk to Piedmont Park. Will stay here every time possible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "Crystal23,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you loved our hotel, the beds, room service, and location. And we'll pass along your lovely compliments to Tamara.

We hope to see you again soon!

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    320
    195
    125
    73
See reviews for
73
181
87
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my preferred hotel in Atlanta. Good location, nice bar and restaurant. Newly designed rooms, great staff and location.
The rooms were very spacious and well appointed with a comfortable bed.

Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear "TravelGrl727,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled to be your hotel of choice in Atlanta and glad you love our location, bar and restaurant.

I'm sure we'll see you again soon -- thank you again for your kind words and loyalty.

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

All of the staff at this hotel are very friendly and accomodating, from the bar to the front desk and insiders. Even though they were very busy with a wedding, and a big volleyball conference, they really took the time to make our stay incredible. Special thanks to Tamera Lang, Jessica Howell, David Jarrod, and Byron Barkley. It was my first time to Atlanta, and W Midtown could not have been a better way to be introduced to the city. I hope to go back very soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear "Hayley M,"

Thank you for your review and lovely compliments. We're so glad you had a fantastic time here at the hotel and for your visit to Atlanta. I'll pass along your kind words to the team -- they'll appreciate it very much.

Hope you'll come see us again soon!

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the W -midtown it was incredible!From the moment we drove up to valet til they brought the car round for the return trip such attention was paid to every aspect of our stay- definitely will recommend - cant say enough about the room ,the service,the amenities - will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear "Gerard J,"

Thank you so much for your review and compliments. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will pass along your kind words to the full team here .

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can't disagree with what the other reviews say about the way this hotel wants to do luxury but fails in so many ways. It's inexcusable for a Starwood hotel, especially one in Atlanta's Midtown. That said, it's a convenient and relatively affordable place to stay if you want or need to be in midtown and to have relatively easy access to I-85.

What you see as you pull up is a large driveway for valet parking. The public, self-parking lot is to the left, and it isn't much cheaper, unfortunately. When you enter the hotel, there are 3 desks where you can check-in. Two were in operation when I was there, and the line was slow moving. This hotel needs more staff at the front desks. The bar and lounge area is not inviting and nobody was hanging out there except for some school kids (but I wasn't there during the evening).

The room I had on the 12th floor resembled the size and style that you would find in an Aloft room, except there is no complimentary bottled water, no coffee maker and the room is filled with snacks and alcoholic drinks at outrageous prices. Yes, the shower stall is half-open, and I liked that a lot actually. Yes, the hall was a bit noisy and the walls did seem a bit thin. They serve free coffee in the lobby in the morning.

I would say that if you can afford to stay somewhere else, or really want a good night's sleep, find a different hotel. But if you are looking to stay at this hotel because of the location, it's fine.

Room Tip: FYI - the 17th floor is where they try to put guests with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear "Ilya W,"

Thank you for your review -- we're sorry for the ways in which we disappointed you. We will use your comments to improve, and hope that you'll give us another try the next time you're in Atlanta.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This must be one of the very few properties which confused me. It's a spunky hotel with a different interior design. However that doesn't matter much, because as a business traveller, one looks for service & other amenities. So I will describe few things which didn't gave me a wow experience:
Check in: When I & my colleague checked in, the front desk staff was cold & straight away gave me the room key & a declaration form to sign (it says u can't do party etc in the hotel room, along with few more points). It felt little bizarre to me because instead of asking for any bed preference or floor choice or even telling more about the property, the guys's priority was to complete the formality.
Rooms: they are nice & comfortable, perhaps newly made. But you will need to spend at least 5-7 mins to figure out the lamps etc. & how to switch them on or off..
Front desk: They remained so busy, tha even for smaller thing, like my room key was not working & I had to get it resolved, I stood almost 10-15 mins in the que.. This I think is irritating, especially when you are already staying in the property. (Mind you, the elevators only work, if you use your room key. So imagine coming back to hotel after a hectic day & than the key doesn't work & you get into a que to resolve it..) Aarrrgghhh...
Spice Market: This is one of there restaurants. We had our breakfast here. The food choice was limited, service okaish & even the taste was average.

All in all, I don't recommend this property for business travellers. While people who wanna have fun, may give it a try!

Room Tip: You can always opt for high floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear "Ankit1911,"

Thank you for your review -- we are extremely sorry to hear that we didn't "wow" you. Our business travelers are highly valued and we strive to make your experience and stay here perfect. If you are traveling to Atlanta again, please email me so we can discuss ways to make your next stay here better: GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com.

We do hope you'll give us another try.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not suitable for guests wishing to rest or sleep. Continuous noise from groups that party in rooms , doors continuously slamming, shouting in corridors, loud music from rooms throughout the night. If that's not enough first thing in the morning the housekeepers start their noise, totally inconsiderate to guests trying to sleep, yelling down corridor, slamming doors. This hotel seems to cater for people who wish to party and not sleep. Rooms shabby tired and full of clutter, difficult to find the basics like an electrical socket.
Front desk staff very sympathetic to complaints but unable to control the mass partying.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear "torero5,"

Thank you for your review -- we are sincerely sorry that you didn't enjoy a restful stay with us. It's disappointing to us that you didn't have a great experience and hope that you'll give us another chance the next time you're in Atlanta.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.