We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W Atlanta Midtown to your Saves list
W Atlanta Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #128 of 191 Hotels in Atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The W in Midtown is in a PERFECT location. It's walkable to a lot of the bars and restaurants in Midtown, and relatively easily accessible from I75-I85. There is a complimentary shuttle provided by Acura that gets you within a small radius of the hotel too. MARTA is a few block walk.

My last review is largely unchanged a few years later. The lobby is part nightclub, part business, which actually works quite well for the clientele typically attracted to a W. Checkin can be a hit or miss experience, and completely depends on the time of day. I didn't see a SPG Preferred line, which was a little odd. The SPG Gold upgrade to a high floor room is great, and the views from the property (Buckhead or Downtown/Piedmont Park) are great. I'd go ahead and ask for the even numbered room and look out over Piedmont Park/Downtown, personally.

The rooms are adequate. It can be hard to find light switches in the dark, and the plug situation away from the desk is a little weird. Weird too is the iPod dock that doesn't charge an iDevice. The room condition was good.

My big beef with the property is the valet. Either they are understaffed, or they don't properly train their staff. After a long flight, I had to wait 15 minutes to park my car - the manager was profusely apologetic and did what she could to make it right for me. Throughout the weekend, it was a mixed bag - sometimes super efficient, and sometimes painfully and annoyingly slow. There was no rhyme or reason - and watching the valet manager stand there and pose as opposed to do something to keep the line moving was frustrating. The valet line overtakes the entire driveway, so even coming back in a taxi could be a problem.

Overall, the property location is fantastic and the rooms are quite good. Little hiccups would be easily fixed with staffing and coaching.

Room Tip: Ask for the end of the hall on the even side of the hotel. Quiet and overlooking Piedmont Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear "PHXJeremy,"

Thank you for your review -- we're glad to see you again! We agree that our location can't be beat, and thrilled you took advantage of our Acura Experience. We apologize that you were disappointed in some ways, however. We will use your criticisms to improve.

We hope to see you again soon.

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    322
    199
    128
    79
See reviews for
78
182
89
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I understand the concept of the W being modern. It's not my style, but I get it. Unfortunately, at this hotel "modern" translates into dark rooms with no plugs and weird designs like a glass shower that is directly beside the bedroom. Since when does modern equal peepshow? I seriously don't get that. My room was clean, but not really functional. The walls are very thin and I could hear conversations on one side of my room and a full-on party on the other. The clientele was young and loud and reminded me of a Spring Break environment...in the middle of February. If you are going to Atlanta to blow off steam and don't care if you get any sleep, this is the hotel for you. Otherwise, it is probably not. I personally like to leave the bar and retire to my room, not feel like I'm going to a private room inside the bar to sleep. I would never, under any circumstances, consider bringing my children to this hotel. For that matter, I will likely never return myself.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear "Threegirlsonthego,"

Thank you for your review -- we are sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel. While many guests love our decor and design, we understand and appreciate that it is not everyone's ideal. We do hope you'll give us another try the next time you're in Atlanta.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
327 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently visited this hotel as part of a group looking for a conference site. As you enter the hotel you will get the sense that this is a hotel that wants to be considered a modern luxury hotel. It also attempts to look quite modern. The top floor provides a fantastic view of the city and outlying areas of Atlanta. I would not classify it as a luxury hotel though. The rooms are well appointed but there are signs of aging. Ultimately, I am not sure how this hotel wants to classify itself. This may explain the very competitive hotel rates at the hotel, much lower than expected for most W hotels in other locations. The location is an easy walk to the MARTA system, Piedmont park, the art gallery and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear "Don_K_Kingston,"

Thank you for your review -- we are deeply sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Thank you for your compliments of the views from our 27th floor ballroom, well-appointed rooms and location. We do hope you'll give us another try for your next overnight stay or conference.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Well appointed good size room, very good front desk staff, good restaurants with few good eating optins around.

The asian restaurant is quite good and it;s menu is available for in room dining as well so have a good choice though timing seems to be restrictive.

Room Tip: check with front desk staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear "sanjay s,"

Thank you for your review -- we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, our location and Spice Market restaurant.

We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in Atlanta.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They focus way too much on mood lighting and ultra-modern decor, and not enough on engineering. The pipes knocked all day and all night. Sure, they offered me another room, but who wants the hassle of moving once you've settled in after a long day of travel or business? If I closed the bathroom door, it wasn't so loud that I couldn't sleep, so I tolerated it. Some form of comp would have been nice, for my inconvenience. I'd expect noisy pipes at a Super 8, but not a luxury hotel.

The room was so dark that I couldn't see well enough to put makeup on. The room decor was cool and interesting, but an open shower with no door or curtain just feels weird to me.

Would not be a suitable hotel for a family trip. Feels like a trendy night club.

Room Tip: I was in room 905 and, apparently, no one else complained about noisy pipes. (sure) Avoid room 905.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear "tsterling,"

Thank you for your review -- I am deeply sorry for your negative experience here. While many people enjoy our decor and lighting, we understand and appreciate that it's not everyone's ideal. We've noted the noise you experienced in your room and will address it -- thank you for alerting us. If you would like to discuss any of your issues further, please feel free to email me at your convenience: GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com.

We do hope you'll give us another try the next time you're in Atlanta.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently on business because it was the official conference hotel. This was my first experience with a W Hotel.

I want to state upfront that there was nothing substantially wrong with this hotel or my stay. However, for a hotel that bills itself as a luxury hotel, I was definitely underwhelmed.

For me, it's all about the details. I noticed lots of little upkeep issues in my room- chipped paint, discolored sheets, etc. As far as design goes, they seemed to focus on form over function. One example would be the shower. Instead of doors, it has a glass wall enclosing 1/2 the shower leaving the other half open with no curtain or door. All the steam escaped from the shower leaving me cold and the mirror completely fogged over.

I spent most of my time in the hotel at the conference but the location seems to be convenient. It's a walkable distance from the Arts Center MARTA train station. There are plenty of dining options nearby. There appear to be a wide selection of mid priced to upscale restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is connected to Colony Square which hosts a variety of fast food restaurants: Chic-Fil-A, Starbucks, Moes, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear "JustMe985,"

Thank you for your review -- we're sorry that your experience was underwhelming and that we disappointed you with some details. While many people enjoy our design and things like the showers, we understand and appreciate that it's not everyone's ideal. That said, we're always disappointed to hear that someone had a negative experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our location in Midtown Atlanta.

We hope you'll give us another try the next time you're in Atlanta,

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Definitely not up to the standard that I've experienced at other W's. Customer service was ok, but not great. Food was ok, but not great. Rooms were ok, but not great. Nothing was GREAT. In fact as we left our room for meetings at 7:45am we noticed several room service trays outside in the hallway, never a pleasant site and when we returned at 1:00pm the trays were still there and beginning to smell. I've stayed in the area before at another chain and will probably go back to that one after this experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear "mlhover,"

Thank you for your review -- we sincerely apologize for disappointing you. We do hope you'll give us another try the next time you're in Atlanta.

If you would like to share any additional details about your experience here, please feel free to email me at your convenience: GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com.

Thank you,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 191 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 191 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#68 of 191 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
W Atlanta - Buckhead
#55 of 191 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.