We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Save Saved
You added W Atlanta Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #102 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Siler City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“first stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the W for a business meeting (Monday through Thursday). Greeted with a smile and promptly checked in by Mallory who was pleasant and professional. Upon arrival in my room the bedside light was burned out. I took the light bulb to the housekeeper in the hallway. Justin immediately brought a new bulb in the room and replaced it. He was professional, polite and efficient. Had a question or two for the concierge, Jessica. Again, I was pleasantly greeted, assisted with some great recommendations and treated with respect and professionalism. Met some colleagues at the Spice Market for snacks, food was really good, service was excellent. My only negative comment is that I found the price of drinks to be excessive.
Overall, the room was clean and comfortable. There are numerous restaurants at a variety of price ranges within easy walking distance. Some are located in the adjacent Colony Square mall. Piedmont Park is literally at the end of the block and even at 6 am (still dark outside) there is plenty of activity and I felt safe jogging alone - although there were numerous persons working out to the barked orders of personal trainers so I was not on the track by myself.

Room Tip: ear plugs if you are light sleeper. The doors are heavy and locks "click" shut very loudly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear "EZeringue,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and got a chance to explore the park and our Midtown neighborhood. Thank you for the kind words about our staff; I will pass them along!

We hope you'll come back and visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    261
    149
    85
    47
See reviews for
53
140
80
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
golfpro22
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The W midtown is not on par with the rest of the W's that I've been to. The service was all over the place! It ranged from rude and pompous to vapid and borderline stupid. The hotel itself is just ok. Like I said, I've stayed at far better and nicer W's that charged me less. This hotel is nothing special. The best word to describe it is underwhelming.

Room Tip: get a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear "golfpro22,"

We sincerely apologize for your underwhelming stay. We take pride in having an excellent staff that is kind and knowledgeable, and hate to hear that wasn't the case with your experience. When you have a moment, would you please email me with specifics: GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com.

Thank you for your review; we do hope you'll give us another try the next time you're in town.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Came to Atlanta for a family wedding. Bride set up this hotel for guests at a price at $130. This was a great value for the location! We had some concern after reading review, but the price was the closer.
VERY pleased with the hotel! Yes, it is euro hip. Very fun atmosphere and interesting public areas. Great service with smiles. Extras we did not expect: free hard wired internet in the rooms (should be free wi-fi, too!), complimentary coffee in the morning and bottled water in the afternoons.
The staff handled an unexpected emergency (city water main breaking) with a lot of style. They delivered bottled water to your door along with a letter explaining the emergency, made arrangements for bathing nearby, provided a complimentary buffet breakfast, and graciously made an adjustment on the bill. Inconvenient, but what emergency isn't?
Nice pool area, but no jacuzzi.
Very convenient to MARTA, Piedmont Park, easy walk to many good restaurants.
If staying in Midtown Atlanta again, we would look up this "W" first.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the service elevator at end of hall. Higher floor=less party noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear "SiggysPals,"

Thank you for your review -- first of all, congratulations and best wishes to your newlywed family members! Please thank them for recommending us to their guests. Also, we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences the water main break caused, and we sincerely appreciate your understanding and kind words about how we handled it. Our top priority is exceeding guests' expectations, even during an emergency. While we know your stay wasn't perfect and regret that, we are so glad you left happy.

Please do come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for an outdoor 2-day concert in Piedmont Park. On the second morning, around 5 am, the water was turned off due to a water main break. No shower, toilet or air conditioner, which is somehow cooled by the water supply, from the middle of the night to noon the next day. Forget resting up in your high-price room before day 2 of the concert. Guests were offered a complimentary breakfast with watery eggs. There was tea, but no coffee, but somehow, there was coffee downstairs, they just couldn't be bothered to bring their french presses upstairs to the dinning room. After throwing around a ton of attitude, like none of this was his problem, a concierge gave me a 100 bucks off my 600 dollar bill. Of course, they billed it to my friend's credit card instead of mine, even though I had prepaid the room. Stunningly bad service. Sorry to put you out, W, with my petty complaints about wanting to go to the bathroom, shower and have air conditioning in Hotlanta.

Room Tip: The beds are not 2 queen, rather they are double beds. Choose a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear "Laura S,"

Thank you for your review – we sincerely apologize that this happened to you. We were beyond disappointed when the water main broke and had a full team working double time to get the water turned back on. While we were able to identify the problem and fix it relatively quickly and before the concert began, we share your frustration over it happening. We took several measures to insure guests were as comfortable as possible: Partnered with the adjacent private gym to use their showers and bathrooms (and delivered our W towels and Bliss products for guests to use), served complimentary breakfast in Spice Market to 300+ guests, made coffee using ice from our ice machines, and delivered bottles of water to each guest room. We apologize for the issue you encountered with our concierge – would you please email me at GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com so we can resolve the $100 credit issue for you? It sounds like perhaps you booked the reservation with one credit card, but then swiped your friend’s card at the hotel, which is likely where the confusion occurred – but we can fix it.

Again, we apologize and hope you’ll give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel we checked in with no problems. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are small. We had the two double beds which left no space. The bathroom was nice with a deep tub and a great shower. The pool upstairs is fabulous and the bar was great. overall we had a great time and great sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear "AtlantaGaMichele13,"

Thank you for your review -- we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and got a chance to relax on our pool deck. We hope you'll come visit us again soon.

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the W Atlanta Midtown for a quick in-town anniversary celebration. We have stayed here several times in the past as well. Valet service and check-in were very fast and efficient. This is a very modern hotel with lots of picture opportunities. We actually took our engagement pictures at this hotel years ago due to the modern feel and look. The rooms are small but well designed. The rooms are in need of some refurbishing as the furniture is aging. The desk/wall unit in our room as peeling and didnt look good at all. Other than that my only complaints are the cost of the Valet ($30/night) and outside noise which in this case the hotel could have controlled. Around 4am, some rich guys with their Lamborghinis parked in valet out front decided they wanted to rev the engines up very loudly in the middle of the night. Valet did not stop this and it continued for about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear "LoveTraveler00,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay (despite the early morning Lamborghini interruption; we apologize for that). One tip for your next stay with us: visit the special offers page on watlantamidtown.com -- we have packages there that include valet parking, which may be beneficial to you.

We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah, GA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A fair distance from the Metro system exit, but convenient to the museum, theater, concert hall and many restaurants. Excellent staff, helpful and prompt. Concierge arranged for us to have a shuttle from the hotel take us to our restaurant. Would have liked coffee maker standard in room, but a call to the concierge, and one was delivered gratis. Restaurant gave wonderful service, and breakfast included succulent berries of all kinds, a modification of eggs benedict with avocado slices and broiled tomato, and prompt skillful service. Lots of young Atlanta singles in the bar in the evening, but the noise does not carry over to the guest rooms. Elevators quick, housekeeping finished in the mornings...so no postponing a nap due to unmade room. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: highest floors are quietest, and those at end of hall seem to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear "dgreenberg2,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your compliments to the entire team here. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon. We'll have berries and coffee waiting!

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#25 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.