We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W Atlanta Midtown to your Saves list
W Atlanta Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #122 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

It has taking me far to long to write this review but better late than never.....07/10 I planned an amazing surprise birthday for one of my best friends at this wonderful hotel. The W brand is my favorite and it fits our style and personalities perfectly; chic, hip, trendy and modern. Robert (concierge) helped me with everything from selecting a bakery for our cupcakes (Piece of cake bakery-excellent) to choosing a club to party at that evening. I enjoyed the service and accommodations so much that I've selected this hotel for my guest to stay for my wedding in a few months. Great job W midtown!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    308
    180
    116
    65
See reviews for
70
171
85
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed a few nights at the W Midtown and it was very nice. Felt totally safe and there's lots of places you can walk to for food and shopping. The hotel itself was very stylish and comfortable. It had quite a few guests in their twenties and thirties. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Dark and Dismal. Tries too hard to be different and fails. Clueless staff, tatty decor and public areas that are so dark you need a torch when checking in or out. Rooms are also lacking adequate lighting. "whatever,whenever what is your wish? "(their guest services) Mine was only to get what I wanted when I requested it not 2 hours later after having to call again.Walls must have been paper thin as I could hear everything going on in the room next to me.
Good point - the gym was ok by hotel standards.
Most certainly wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Pet friendly? They didn't bother to tell us when we checked in that there would be a $100 charge for "cleaning" and a $25 per day charge for pets.
Instead they called us 3 hours later to tell us

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Had an excellent stay at the W Midtown. This was my second W experience, the first being at W Perimeter. If I had the choice, I would choose the W Midtown. The property is large with a nice spa and a restaurant that I wish I had the opportunity to try. Unfortunately, the upstairs bar was closed during my stay, but the option in the lobby was nice.

One downside was it said the pool was open, but when we went outside, it was very dark and it looked closed.

Overall, I would definitely stay again and use more of the hotel amenities.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Good size room, clean and mostly quite, except for the loud music one night from the room next door. Good service overall with the exception of the concierge service. They really didn't seem to know the area and could not recommend any good restaurants except for the food court that's connected to the hotel. The Spice Market restaurant at this hotel does not have the same menu as the one in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have had a reservation at the W Midtown for months. I bought it on Priceline and they have just advised me they will not honor the reservation and will only accomodate me miles away at a perimeter Atlanta hotel. Obviously they do not like the great deal I got and now want to refund my room since I don't want the horrible location. I'm there on business and need to be in Midtown / Downtown. They won't put me at the downtown W. I'm going to be out over $800 for the 5 nights I was booked by going to another hotel near downtown/midtown. This hotel and Priceline have been absolutely ridiculous about keeping me as a customer. I am a Starwood member and have the Priceline credit card. Be ware of either of these scheisters.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.