We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ole Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
804 Edgewood Ave, NE, Atlanta, GA 30307 (Inman Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off any room!
Ranked #4 of 31 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good ole Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My family had the pleasure of staying here for a wedding weekend. My mother felt like a true Southern Belle in the Royal Suite with an outdoor balcony complete with rocking chairs. Our garden room was equally lovely. Both roooms shared a fabulous deck where we entertained twenty of our relatives on a perfect autumn evening. Jim was so kind to allow us free roaming of the home. We entertained as if this were our own Victorian mansion. Opening the shutters which surround the Garden Room on a rainy night, hearing the steady pace of the rain and watching the lightening show was actually very tranquil. The next morning, the sunshine was also a welcome sight. Great place to stay in any kind of weather. Perfect weekend retreat. If you don't have a car, MARTA is about a ten minute walk.

Room Tip: The Royal Suite would be great for honeymoons or anniversaries. Large jacuzi and shower. Our Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
58
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Sugar Magnolia is in a classic Inman Park (Atlanta's 1st suburb) Victorian. The renovation is excellent, the accommodations very comfortable. I had the Aviary Room which has a bathroom in the hall, but this isn't a problem- the other rooms have private baths. Little 5 Points, the funky, punky, boho area of ATL is not far if that is your scene, nor is the Carter Center, Va Highland or other Intown neighborhoods. 10 minutes to downtown driving or take the Marta train from the Inman Park station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great place to stay and a great way to meet others. We were a little concerned driving into the area as it looked a little rough but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Miss Josie was absolutely delightful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the cottage at Sugar Magnolia. Great place to stay with small children. The home is beautiful and welcoming. The owners make you feel at home and are very gracious. There are many places to gather and beautiful garden space. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our tour. We didn't want to stay in Downtown and struggled to find reasonably priced hotels in a safe part of Atlanta, until we came across Sugar Magnolia on Trip advisor.
There is very little to add to all the other glowing reviews, but to echo them.The house is beautiful and has a real homely feel to it.
When you stay here you are treated as a member of the family, with access to the living room and piano, a fridge stocked with beer and soft drinks, and we were even allowed to use the computer so we could check in for our flight the next day.
We stayed in the Garden Room, which is tastefully decorated with an amazingly comfy bed and a lovely roof top terrace with plants, seating and fairy lights.
Jim and Debi were away when we were there, but were very well looked after by Josie and Sam. Both mornings at breakfast, we were greated with coffee and juice, cereals and fruit. Sam made fresh waffles with strawberries and blueberries, and the following day we had croissants with egg, cheese and bacon (optional).
The house is located in a residential area, a short walk from the MARTA. Downtown is only 3 stops away, although we were warned not to travel or walk around late at night. We believe this is one of the nicest and safer parts of Atlanta and is perfect for exploring the area.
If we are in ATL again, then Sugar Magnolia will be our place to stay.
Don't forget to purchase the Sugar Magnolia Christmas tree decoration !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I live in the suburbs just outside Atlanta and wanted a quick weekend "stay-cation". I found the Sugar Magnolia based on TA reviews and quickly booked a room. The house was well decorated and very quiet. We met a different couple at breakfast each morning but never saw another guest any other time.
The room was clean and comfortable, even though we were in the middle of a heat wave. My favorite part was the location. You are just blocks away from some great restaurants and just outside of Atlanta if you want to explore downtown.
We ate at Rathbun's, one of the best restaurants in Atlanta, one night. It is maybe 4 blocks away. For late night we went to Pizzeria Vesuvius, just down Edgewood Avenue for a late pizza and loved it. The hip, edgy vibe of that area is great. Although we were only a few
blocks from some of the more questionable areas of Atlanta, we felt completely safe and
would recommend Sugar Magnolia to anyone.
The only thing I would change would be to put locks on the bedroom doors, but all guests have an outside key and the front door stays locked, so it was not a big deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

we stayed here on the first night arriving in Atlanta for our road trip of the Southern States. It was a welcome retreat after the long flight and the lovely house, comfortable bed and great hosts were much appreceiated. Inman park is a great place to explore the historic buildings as well as being close to the Dr Martin Luther King Historic site.

Room Tip: they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 804 Edgewood Ave, NE, Atlanta, GA 30307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Inman Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1892 Queen Anne Victorian in historic Inman Park - fully restored to its original glory, with added amenities. Located 2 miles from central downtown and close to Atlanta's most popular sites. Full in-house business center and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Magnolia Hotel Atlanta
Sugar Magnolia Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list