We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but nothing amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
W Atlanta Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Ivan Allen Jr. Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #39 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this W to celebrate an early valentines day. We were on the 7th floor and had a view overlooking 75 and the North part of the city. We live in the 'burbs and like to treat ourselves to a night in ATL every now and again.

The hotel was very clean and we found the staff that we had interactions with to be very friendly. The room was nice with the open shower that overlooked the room and the huge windows looking down on the city. The toiletries were Bliss brand (which I love!) since they feature a Bliss Spa in the hotel. The location of the hotel is great for the aquarium, world of coke, etc. The decor is very nice and modern (without being cold). The bedding was great too.

I do have several complaints however. First... We checked in late and didn't discover until later in the night that the toilet in our room had a continuous leak that would cause it to sound off every 10-20 min. I'm sure we could have called someone but since it was late at night and we were tired we didn't want to hassle with it. Also for some very strange reason, in the middle of the night I awoke to the smell of extremely unpleasant sewage like stink? My husband was asleep next to me in the bed so I know it wasn't him :) the smell lasted for a long time and I can wonky assume it somehow came in through either the pipes or a nearby room. Very weird and very gross. Second... The valet parking is a RIP. From what we saw there was no self parking and I'm pretty sure we paid 20 something dollars a day for parking. Ridiculous. The parking valets were very friendly though so that helped! Lastly...the wifi. As others have stated it is ridiculous that wifi is still an 15 dollar up charge a day. Come on W the freaking Hampton Inn has free wifi. I just see this as unacceptable. For such a "modern/hip/classy" place get with the program. One more thing. Check your bill when you get back and make sure they don't charge you for anything out of their extensive mini bar. They charged us for a Muncie box we didn't eat (we didn't use anything in the bar) but they quickly refunded the money when we complained so kudos for that. I would just check to be sure (we did because I had read other people mention this very same problem!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and our staff. I’m glad you enjoyed the shower and our fabulous bliss amenities – both are very popular features. Like other downtown hotels, parking is limited and the hotel only offers valet parking. There are other nearby self-parking lots but they are not affiliated with the hotel and they don’t offer the comfort or convenience of valet parking. We offer different internet connection packages in the guestrooms to accommodate different needs and we also offer free wireless internet access in the Living Room. I’m sorry to hear about the Munchie Box charge but I’m glad we were able to correct your bill promptly. Be sure to check our website for the latest Special Offers and packages that include valet parking. Thank you for choosing W Atlanta Downtown and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    137
    70
    39
    26
See reviews for
48
157
52
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When you go to a W - people generally have an idea of what you are getting. Self admittledly they target 20-30 year olds. Dark - uber swank - endless nnn tzz nn tzzz nn tzzz music in the elevators. The W in ATL lives up to that. Good location within walking distance to good restaurants, the aquarium, CNN, Coke museum, etc. Most staff great. Besides TV not working really well, light bulbs out in the room - the unbelievably strong fragrance is overbearing. To preview what you are in store for -go to any bath and body works and spill five bottles of fragrance on yourself - WOW - I can take smokey bars, etc - but the burning of your nose and eyes in my room was a first. We had a 50 person conference and about half the rooms were that way - the hallways were pretty bad as well. I would love to talk to marketing and see how they determined the level of fragrance - "hotel smell" as they state - lets start with 30 bottles in a small hallway.

A lot of AV problems in our conf room which were attended to quickly - but gets a bit old.

Overall - you know what you are getting at a W -most staff very good - some I think are paid to "look" pretty but be absolutely clueless and apathetic. Decor trendy modern. Perfect place to people looking to have a good time. For business - not bad but this early 40 year old is at a point where I want to know where the light switch in my room is in less than 45 seconds. Be able to turn on the tv and have it work and not smell like a bottle of AXE cologne from Walmart just by walking down the hall to the elevator.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We obviously love our W scent and our specially curated music selection but also realize a little goes a long way. It is intended to subtly enhance your experience. Thanks for the gentle reminder. I’m glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the service provided by most of our staff. I like to think they look good and provide great service. We will continue to work on our service standards and quality to ensure each guest enjoys their stay and the amenities we offer. Thank you for choosing W Atlanta Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel really impressed me! During check-in there was a mix-up with my reservation and I ended up waiting a little while until everything was worked out. Since I had to wait, the friendly front desk employee gave me two vouchers for drinks and a room upgrade! The room was wonderful - it was clean, well decorated and the bathroom was amazing! The valet staff was friendly and very prompt in retrieving our car. Plus, everything that is fun in Atlanta is within 5 miles of this hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: The Cool Corner Room has the best view of Downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the décor in the guestrooms and the service provided by our talent. We love our central downtown Atlanta location. On your next visit you might enjoy our complimentary Acura car service that will transport you to many of the amazing shops, restaurants and galleries within a 2 mile radius of the hotel. Until next time…cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very disappointing. The room decor is dated and tacky -- heavy turquoise, blacks and browns. Maintenance was poor -- burned out light bulb in the toilet (not a nice experience) and a shower drain so slow the shower was ankle deep in water and risked over flowing. The black, very low coffee table on a black carpet was difficult to see and both my wife and I both managed to injure our shins by running into it.

WIFI is extortionately priced and, even worse, you have to pay separately for each device. Why do hotels do this? It is a great way to assuredly upset clients.

The one saving grace was helpful, caring staff. The doorman actually ran up and down the street and around corners to hail a taxi when none were in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel in downtown Atlanta. There are plenty to chose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you found our talent to be helpful and friendly. I was however disappointed that your room was not prepared properly for your arrival. While this does not happen often, I shared your comments with our team to ensure each room is inspected carefully prior to arrival. I appreciate your comments regarding the pricing for Wi-Fi. The prices are based on the internet connection package you choose – we have several options available to serve different needs. We also offer free wireless internet access in the Living Room. Design can be a matter of opinion. Interestingly, we receive overwhelmingly positive feedback regarding the hotels contemporary design. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Siye and other valet staff at this location are kind, attentive and ready and willing to assist patrons at this location! I stayed at this downtown W back in November of 2012 for a conference, and the rooms are luxurious and modern, and the BLT Steak Bistro adjacent to the main building is also phenomenal! Well worth the money for a great, modern and clean establishment for your travel needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed the service at the hotel and our talent made you feel welcome. I look forward to sharing your comments with Siye and the rest of our team. Thank you for choosing W Atlanta Downtown. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

When traveling through an urban city with plenty of lodging options, price often dictates selection. During a recent trip to Atlanta, decided to take a chance on the W even though it was a little higher in price than the recommended hotels.

Unbeknownst to me, there was close to a city wide sellout on the night I arrived. During my flight into Atlanta the property left a message to confirm that I was indeed arriving that evening. By the time I finally arrived to the hotel, it was close to midnight and I had a sneaking suspicion that they may have given away my room since they could recoup a larger rack rate from it. Not true.

The front desk person (Loretta) was extremely kind and sympathetic to my plight. Not only did she hold the very last room for me, she even managed to immediately upgrade me when another room became available. Though my Starwood status may have had something to do with them holding the room, I got the distinct impression that serving the customer is part of the DNA of this property (and W's in general).

In this instance, it was so refreshing that a property put customer service over profit. They now have a customer for life (or whenever in Atlanta).

Room Tip: Take a higher room. Floor four is where meeting space is so it can be noisy. Also, given its c,one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recognizing Loretta. I will be sure to share your kind words. You are always welcome at W Atlanta Downtown. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel staff went above and beyond to be helpful in several situations during my stay. Very friendly and capable. Every staff member made me feel like a VIP. Due to the modern decor, the rooms and hallways are a little dark, but the rooms were very comfortable. Had the best massage ever at the Bliss Spa - highly recommend taking advantage of the spa. Work out room provided a great view while on the treadmill. BLT Restaurant on premises and had excellent food and wait staff. The gentlemen at the bell stand and the Acura Experience driver were extremely friendly and appeared to be sincerely concerned with your comfort and conveniences. I wish I had stayed an additional night after business was completed just to enjoy the facilities without having to rush to meetings.

Room Tip: The shower in the king size room is very nice. Wish I had this set up at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I know travelling for work can be exhausting and I'm grateful our staff made such an effort to make you feel comfortable. A massage at Bliss and dinner at BLT Steak sounds about as close to a perfect day as I can imagine. Hopefully during your next stay, you will have more time to get the full W Atlanta Downtown experience. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Downtown

Address: 45 Ivan Allen Jr. Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Downtown energizes and inspires, a wonderland of sensual style amid major corporations and specialty shopping. Close to Georgia Aquarium, Centennial Olympic Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.