We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Customer Service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
W Atlanta Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Ivan Allen Jr. Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #38 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Customer Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

My friends and I stayed here for my friend's bachelorette celebration. From the time we pulled up to valet park our car, the entire staff was courtesy and thankful that we decided to stay at the W. It was four ladies in a two queen size bed room, and the room was the right size. This was my first time staying at the W and I must say that it was a great experience. The ambiance was so chic!!! I would definitely stay at a W Hotel again. I just hope the customer service parallels the W Hotel Downtown Atlanta!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    137
    71
    39
    26
See reviews for
50
157
52
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed here for a volleyball tournament with my family. My wife & I are in our mid-40s and came with our teenage daughter. We all had a hard time seeing with the minimal lighting and dark walls in the lobby and room. The lobby is very cramped, so I'm glad we didn't come in with a lot of people. I like the security aspect of it, but they need to make it more obvious you need to swipe your room key to use elevator. Walls were very thin so not the most quiet hotel. Just like a lot of hotels in this category, they charge for EVERYTHING. For example, $10 for 2 small Oreo packs. Also, $11 for an intimacy packet (2 condoms & lube). I know that people have sex in hotel rooms, but you don't have to encourage it! It drives me crazy that you get free internet, in-room coffee & fridge paying $120 and $200/night hotels charge.

The room wasn't very clean. They never cleaned a sticky soft drink ring on the desk that was there when we arrived and there were skid marks in the toilet.

All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We used the MDX, which was fine but they only had one for the entire hotel.

Anyway, OK stay overall but I felt like I was in a nightclub more than a hotel most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Overall good experience. It's a little bit different in terms of style and decor..sort of a modern/contempary feel. Top notch customer service from EVERYONE. Good on site restaurant in BLT Steakhouse. Excellent sleeping situation..dark rooms. Small, but nice enough spa and fitness center.

Only drawback was location...just slightly isolated...couple of blocks in immediate vicinity a litte rundown.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I had really expected the W to be a nice hotel but was shortly disappointed. The room was quite small and cramped. You could hear people talking and coughing in the adjacent rooms. There was no free internet access. If you want internet, expect to pay $20/day for it. They offer the typical temptations in the room, but the prices were unreal. Unless you're drunk or something, who pays $10 for M&M's or $8 for bottled water. The decor was nice but that is about all I have positive to say about the place. Some of the staff was nice, some were not so nice. If you have money to burn or are impressed with names, stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

The wall are paper thin, even there employees agree with this. You can hear everything in the room next to you. Had to switch rooms , hotel made what should have easy mid week room change, a hassle. Don't usually complain about hotels, but had very poor experience! Would not go back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The W is a very contemporary hotel. The rooms are very nice but do not have enough light. Everything is so stylish that I found it annoying. The shower is in the middle of the room with half the panel clear so your companion can watch you in the shower to a degree.

Service was exceptional. All staff was very good at their jobs.

The W is a very good hotel if you like contemporary styling. It seems to cater to younger, more hip people than me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I recently stayed at the downtown W hotel and I just wanted to let you know that your staff was extremely helpful and nice and made our stay one to remember. I was particularly impressed with the Valet Services and how welcoming they made our family feel.

I plan on staying at your hotel again … and will also recommend for any business ventures/meetings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Downtown

Address: 45 Ivan Allen Jr. Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Downtown energizes and inspires, a wonderland of sensual style amid major corporations and specialty shopping. Close to Georgia Aquarium, Centennial Olympic Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.