We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchanalia

Bacchanalia
1198 Howell Mill Road, Atlanta, GA 30318 (Blandtown)
(404) 365-0410 x22
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchanalia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 3,432 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Blandtown
Cross street: between Huff Road & 14th Street
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Steamy. Interesting. Amazing selections of ecclectic and gourmet gift, food and kitchen related items. I had a difficult time getting the right service but bolstered ahead and picked the right desserts: a chocolate, salted caramel and shortbread "twix" bar plus the brown butter strawberry tart. Both delicious, both worth a 4.5 hour drive to Atlanta to taste again. Must return soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    122
    32
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, GA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Food is excellent..We actually ate at Quinones. Love the Chef's menu. Wine was just okay for the price.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The restaurant is tucked away inside what looks like a country store selling dishes and kitchenware. When you walk through you enter the restaurant which is sophisticated but low key.

The basic menu is a set price 5-course dinner with multiple options for each of the courses. You can also order a la carte if you wish. Service was attentive, friendly, quick, but never obtrusive.

But the best part was the food. Truly outstanding. It was one of the best meals I've had in the past decade and my companion said it was the best she'd had since she was in France several years ago.

Besides the dishes we ordered, they brought out three different "suprises" from the chef--a tiny puff pastry filled with melted cheese that was to die for, a beautiful little tray of golden beets with an unusual glaze, and a selection of delightful desserts in addition to the desserts we ordered. And when we left the ladies in the "country store" at the front urged us to take home free bread, muffins, whatever... Amazing experience, that was fun, satisfying, surprising, and delicious. I'd go back again tonight if I could. Well worth the visit.

And regarding price, for two of us the total came to $150. She had a glass of wine, I had a beer, and we ordered a la carte. Expensive, yes, but well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“The only fine dining left in Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Professional staff, great menu options, conversational atmosphere, deliciously complete wine menu and excellent house made cocktails. There are a lot of whiny comments on here, but really and truly, this is a must try if you are into great food and are staying in Atlanta. Yes, it is expensive, but this isn't McDonald's. You are paying for the experience, also. Excellent presentations. Friendly and attentive staff....a great romantic place or special occasion place to go. The menu IS confusing if you don't speak English. Otherwise, read and go...and if you have a question, ask. I'm honestly quite shocked it isn't number 1 on Trip Advisor, but that chain restaurants rank more highly should tell you a little something about the type of people who are rating Atlanta restaurants. I travel the world, and this is still one of my favorite spots....and when I bring people here, they invariably say it was one of the finest they have ever experienced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Maybe I'm just older and more jaded, but this is not the restaurant I remember from years ago. The menu is confusing and I had an oyster dish that was horrible. Yes, every plate look like a work of art, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's good. There were some courses that were good, but for three people at almost $400 I think we all could have agreed that we were not full when we left. When they first opened and the concept was new it was one thing, but now that so many restaurants are doing the same thing and doing it better and at less cost it has lost its edge. So many years a five star experience is now sadly a three star at best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchanalia also viewed

 

Been to Bacchanalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchanalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.