We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really weird...but in a cool/creepy way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Center for Puppetry Arts

Center for Puppetry Arts
1404 Spring St NW at 18th, Atlanta, GA 30309-2820 (Midtown)
404 873 3089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 143 Attractions in Atlanta
Type: Science Museums, Theaters, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A performing arts center as well as a museum.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really weird...but in a cool/creepy way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Took my sons during a special weekend of free entry for kids. They had an art class where he was able to make a paper monkey puppet which was cool. Afterwards, we went in to the exhibits. It was great to see some of my old favorites from Sesame Street and the Muppet Show. The older puppets freaked me out but my son was thoroughly amused so the trip was a success.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    21
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Plan carefully”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We read the trip advisor reviews before deciding to put this adventure on our itinerary. Mom, Grandma and a 5 year old and 6 year old went. It was hugely disappointing. We purchased a back stage tour -MAGIC OF THE CENTER. The woman who conducted the tour did not focus her comments to the age of the audience (we were the only particpants). She took us "back stage" but only to a few warehouses where we were not allowed to enter, we could only "peak in" and see some shelves and boxes and a few puppets hanging from end racks. For the set reviews everything was closed up - so again it looked more like a mechanics' garage. Nothing to see it took less than 30 minutes ( for $41) . We were not allowed to see the show that was in rehearsal. When we realized that the show was not for another 90 minutes we knew our crew would not be interesting in just hanging out in this dank dusty old school house so we went to the cashier and asked of we could have the baggies that had the puppet making materials in them as a "consolation prize" for our disappointing tour - he told us it would be another $4 and some change for each. Which Grandma paid. WHen we got home we found only a few pieces of construction paper to make a "bear" (the theme for the puppet show was Brer Rabbit). There weren't even any googlie eyes for our $8.00 and change. So for all it was cracked up to be we were hugely disappointed. Perhaps had we gotten to see a puppet show it would have been better. But the exhibits are few and not very entertaining for our crew. If you want to see a large replica of big bird - you might like the trip - but for $40 you would be better off buying a DVD and a package of construction paper and having a better time without the unpleasant smells and tedius tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Top Contributor
700 reviews 700 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Field Trip Anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I came to this place when I was little, and I still enjoyed this place even if I have gotten older. They entertain you with puppets for a little bit, and then you get to make your own. So bring your kids here, because they will have a great time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Personal Staff/Awesome Puppets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff here will help you out if you need it.. If you like puppets I strongly suggest this for anyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL, GA
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Brer Rabbit & Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I took my son to see this show today and we really enjoyed the songs/puppets. We live almost an hour away and often visit the Center 2-3 times each year. I love the promptness of each showing as well as the courteous staff on hand. At first I'd purchased tickets for a different show two months ago but had a schedule conflict. I called the ticket office and they allowed me to change the tickets to this show....very accommodating. We have the annual family membership and enjoy the extra added perks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Center for Puppetry Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center for Puppetry Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.