We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at a JW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lenox Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $149
Ranked #35 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First time at a JW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was my first stay at a JW Marriott property, and I didn't regret it! If you find yourself in Buckhead, JW is a nice choice given the price point and value. For a little under $200 a night, you have a top notch property with excellent service.

You don't have to valet park, save yourself some bucks. There is a parking garage next to the hotel that charges $22 a night. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby, so that's always a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We enjoy welcoming our first-time guests to the JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead. Thank you for taking the time to post your nice comments following your visit. We are so glad to know you felt we have a top notch property and provided excellent service. Our goal is to make you want to visit again and I do hope you will return for your second visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    188
    67
    17
    17
See reviews for
105
111
43
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location. Marta station across the street so easy access from ATL airport. Next door to Lenox Mall which has awesome shopping. Hotel employees were very helpful and VERY positive attitudes. Everyone was smiling and attentive. Beds were very comfortable too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you loved the hotel. We have a great team that really enjoys providing personalized service to each guest. I hope you will return for another restful nights sleep in our comfortable beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just got back from the Marriott at bunk head. Wow what a wedding. The hotel was top notch, everything was perfect. The Marriott arrange everything perfectly. My wife and myself had a king size bed, which was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed the wedding and your accommodations! Perhaps you will visit us again whether to attend a wedding or whenever your travels bring you to Atlanta. Our hotel is a very popular venue for weddings or any other social occasion. We also have one of the best catering teams to assist with all the planning details. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a two-night stay at the JW Marriott Buckhead while in town for a friend's wedding. First off, full disclosure -- I'm a self-professed Marriott snob and look for its brands whenever I travel, in large part to load up my Marriott Rewards account. I'd never stayed in a Marriott brand above its namesake (usually at Courtyard or SpringHill Suites locations), so I didn't quite know what the difference would be. Here's what I found:

Unmatched sleeping experience: The bedding was the best I'd ever encountered for a Marriott brand. You had foam and feather pillows to choose from, and the mattress was soft yet supportive. You could draw the drapes completely closed to create pitch-black darkness, even at 11 a.m. in a room with huge windows facing the sun. And even on the seventh floor, with the soundproof windows, the normal hum of Lenox Road and Lenox Square Mall didn't register a decibel.

Amazing shower: The water was instant-hot and plentiful and the tub was elongated so my wife could stretch out for a bath after a long day of travel from the West Coast. The fixtures and appointments were high-quality as well, exactly what you'd expect from a luxury hotel.

Beautiful, happening public spaces: The lobby bar was well-appointed and lots of fun the Saturday night we were there, with a diverse mix of groups (from LSU and Georgia football fans to fishing groups, family reunions, etc.) and a nice menu of bar bites available into the later hours. It was nice to be able to have fun and just take the elevator up to our room (vs. fighting for a parking spot to check out a Midtown or Highlands hotspot).

Helpful staff: Even though we checked in at 1:30 a.m. the night we arrived, the front-desk staff checked us in swiftly and delivered our bags promptly to our room. They even delivered wedding clothes to our room that friends had dropped off hours before.

Great location: If shopping's your thing, it's hard to beat Lenox Square Mall (Phipps Plaza may be nice, but you might actually be able to afford something at Lenox). This hotel has a connection directly into the mall. No navigating the crazy parking lots and parking decks (and while we were there, rampant construction). I believe there's a MARTA train stop adjacent to the hotel, too (we didn't take advantage of that). And you're near Buckhead, which has amazing restaurants and a great breakfast/brunch spot I found on Yelp (Joy Cafe on Pharr Road).

Price: Without a doubt, this is a business-oriented hotel. It caters to travelers with expense accounts, but we scored a AAA weekend rate of $220/night. Still a lot relatively speaking, but for a special occasion (a wedding and the tail end of our own honeymoon) it was well worth the cost.

Along that same vein, I wasn't thrilled having to pay a la carte for in-room Wi-Fi, and the $22/night self-parking option is excessive, but for the most part that's reality when staying with a luxury brand. Marriott periodically promotes weekend rates that include Internet and parking, and they're worth seeking out.

The JW is a luxury address within Atlanta's luxury destination. You get what you pay for, and it's worth every penny (just look for those weekend specials if you're not traveling for business).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. The JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead actually has a motto professing that we are the “approachable luxury experience finely crafted in today’s genuine Buckhead style”. It sounds as though you described everything we strive to live up to each day. During the weekdays we do cater to a large volume of business travelers but we also have some amazing weekend packages and shopping packages for those coming to Atlanta to experience the city sites so be sure to watch for them. Business or pleasure -- we want you to have a luxury experience and leave with pleasant memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was my first time staying at this property and will probably stay again. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room spacious and clean. Its connected to the mall which is great if you need to pop in for something or to stroll around and window shop. Plenty of places nearby to eat, meet, etc.

I stayed on the concierge floor and stopped in quickly for a bottled water at the concierge lounge at breakfast and it seemed fully stocked and comfortable, too. Didn't get a chance to hit the gym and didn't eat or visit the lounge (was Family Weekend at Georgia Tech) but the lobby bar seemed very comfortable and a nice place to relax with a cocktail and watch a game. There is also a mini-Starbucks in the lobby.

Room Tip: My Marriott profile requests a room away from the elevator and a high room, this room was particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and sharing your comments. I am happy you found our staff friendly and accommodating and your guest room spacious and clean. We are very fortunate to be in a premier location with access to Lenox Square Mall and many of the Atlanta restaurants and entertainment venues. I am sorry you did not get a chance for a workout or time to relax in Nox Creek Lounge. We have received many compliments on our state-of-the-art fitness equipment and have just re-invented our locker room and in-door pool facilities. Perhaps you can plan a nice weekend visit just to unwind and pamper yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I cannot think of how we could be treated any better! Upon check-in, all our requested items for our infant daughter (crib, microwave and mini-fridge) are all ready in the room. The 23rd floor room has a nice view of Atlanta downtown skyline.

Valet and bellman always addressed us by Mr. / Mrs. + our last name --- I wonder how they did it with so many guests in the hotel. Staff in Concierge Lounge were very helpful; and their food and wine were excellent.

I wish we could try their pool as well -- it was closed during our stay there. We stayed in the hotel for four nights, and really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments. We strive to anticipate our guest’s needs so they can truly be free to enjoy themselves while visiting. We have a wonderful bell staff that I am truly proud of and I too am amazed at how they so often remember our guest’s names. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and left with some wonderful memories. I do hope you will come back soon to experience our re-invented pool and locker rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I got out of my cab from ATL. The bell hop simultaneously opened the door, grabbed my luggage and radioed my name to the front desk. 45 seconds later I walked in the front lobby and a front desk person was standing there with my room key. Another employee gave me a glass of peach iced tea and I was in the elevator heading up to my room 1 minute later. That level of service is something I haven't experienced even in 5 star hotels- it was great! I had dinner plans at a restaurant that evening and the great service continued as I took the free hotel shuttle (actually a nice SUV...not a cheesy bus). The driver was very pleasant and gave me his mobile # to pick me up later in the evening.
Other than that, the hotel is beautiful, clean, and the rooms are great. The bathroom was huge with both stall shower and tub. View of the mall...nothing exciting there. But wait- THE MALL! You can enter Lenox mall through a door in the hotel lobby and great shopping awaits just up the escalator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am thrilled to learn of your wonderful check in experience. It is comforting to know that we have exceeded your expectations with our service levels. Thank you for letting us know. We do have quite a few rooms with a spectacular view of the Atlanta Skyline so the next time you visit, please check to see if these rooms might be available. Pleasae come back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta

Address: 3300 Lenox Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#51 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Atlanta
Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.