We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead to your Saves list
JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lenox Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #40 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Topeka, KS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

SWIFT Check in - they had my keys ready when I walked in the hotel - showed me to the elevator and that was it,
Breakfast was perfect - the beds are SUPER comfy - they have thick mattress pads and very clean.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Downside - room servise: Hot food is not available after 10pm only salads and sandwiches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    232
    76
    21
    22
See reviews for
123
134
46
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas, usa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in May for conference. Good hotel. Excellent customer service from check in to everyone I encountered during the stay. Happy people !!
Nice location adjacent to mall, and across from the train station ( very convenient ). Can catch a train to/from airport - about 40 minutes commute time for $ 5 ( round trip).
Food at hotel not great. Not even good. Some of the room fixtures seems old, and had to pay for Wi Fi in the room.
Otherwise location is good and very convenient overall.

Room Tip: I think higher floors gives a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great location. Very clean. Great ambience. Only complaint is the water pressure in the rooms. The water in the shower and the hand sink would repeatedly slow down to a trickle for about 45 seconds and then just squirt out with extreme force. This happened in several rooms on the floor. I would suggest that this issue needs to receive attention as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconsistent water pressure you experienced during your recent stay. Our Engineering team has identified the problem and I am happy to report that it has been repaired. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is not my normal review. Fellow business travelers and myself arrived at the JW Marriott in Buckhead late in the evening after a busy of day of traveling to discover the hotel did not have any available rooms, even though we had guaranteed reservations.

What could have been a disaster and a very disappointing customer experience was turned into such a positive experience that I had to write this review. Upon arriving at the front desk at the JWM we were given a personal letter from the manager explaining the situation and told we would be accommodated at the nearby Ritz Carlton at no charge. In addition, the hotel provided us free transportation to the Ritz and asked us to have a complimentary cocktail in their bar while we waited. Afterwards I was contacted by the hotel to see if everything was ok and to my satisfaction.

I could not have asked for anything more. I've stayed at the JW Marriott in Buckhead before and it is a beautiful hotel. This experience only reinforces my opinion of the hotel and assures my next stay will definitely be at the JW Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Please allow me to personally apologize to you and your fellow travelers for not being able to honor your reservations during your recent visit to our hotel. We go to great length each day to manage our room inventory in a manner that insures that each guaranteed reservation is honored. I truly regret that circumstances prevented this from happening and insure you that we have reviewed the situation with key members of our staff to guard against this in the future. I am delighted to hear that the staff was able to orchestrate a solution that met your expectations and also demonstrated how much we value your business. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I see my fair share of hotels, and when you've seen one... well you haven't seen the JW Marriott in Atlanta!! Truly exceptional service sets it apart in everything from room service (can you whip up x that wasn't on the menu) to an amazing chef (seriously, the BEST room service I've ever tasted and others in my group said the same) to absolutely stunning decor, to a "business center" that feels elegant, to the single most comfortable hotel bed on which I've ever slept. I loved my stay here and will definitely look to JW for my next trip to Atlanta!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Admittedly, I stay @ the JW Marriott Buckhead a lot (75 nights annually @ this property) so the service is great. Everyone on the staff goes out of their way to know your name and greet you by your name. The rooms are for the most part large, and there is a good hotel gym on the property. The lobby bar is lively and the staff very friendly. Nice being attached to Lenox Mall if you want / need something during your trip. Can't say enough good things about the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good afternoon. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know how we are doing in providing great service to our guests. Most importantly, Thank You for the 75 nights you spend with us. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a very fine facility, but MINOR factors have affected every stay I've had here. Fine-tuning needs to be done to create a 'mindset' to assure every staff member is in alignment with providing full excellent customer service and quality. The majority of the troops are on board and the few stragglers need to get in step! This hotel is WORLD CLASS in every sense! Why short circuit full excellence with failing on minor basic services and amenities? I'm sure Mr. Giamundo's philosophy relects my opinion as well. Firstly, on the bright side... Cassandra at the front desk presented me a highly personalized, excellent arrival experience; the conceierge level staff was superior in every aspect of hospitality; the door greeters, bell staff, and maid staff were fully on their jobs and engaged toward full comfort and accomodation. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. This tastefully decorated hotel is conveniently located to shopping, public transportation, and fine dining in a lovely section of Atlanta. The $22.00/nt. for self parking is a little exorbitent, but few other alternatives exist in the area. I've stayed at this facility with other business colleagues on multiple visits, with each subsequent stay excelling the previous one. This last stay at the J. W. Marriott assailed all previous stays overall, but unfortunately fell slightly short once again of full excellence because of a MAJOR SNAFU with internal package handling for important materials I was anticipating arrival of, for my use at a conference I was attending downtown. After checking several times for the arrival of my package, the front desk mentioned having not received it. Upon my arrival downtown at the conference I checked one last time (as my presentation was lacking its visuals); only to find out that my package had been there ALL ALONG, but had not been properly "logged" for my notification. In a maddening dash I had to leave downtown Atlanta (with only one hour to spare), to retrieve the package and then get back downtown. Thank God for the proximity of MARTA to the hotel! The lack of apology and divorcement from full responsibility by the desk staff was incomprehensible and unexcusable!

Room Tip: Choose a room at level 12 or above with a downtown Atlanta view. Corner rooms are 'the bomb'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I certainly agree with you that we strive to deliver excellent service to each guest that stays with us. I appreciate you recognizing Cassandra and other associates that met your expectations and it is just as important that you share your comments on opportunities that we can improve upon. I will personally follow up with our shipping and receiving team to determine what we can do to insure that guests are notified of their packages more timely moving forward.
We look forward to insuring your next visit goes flawlessly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead

Address: 3300 Lenox Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30326
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#44 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#57 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Atlanta
Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.