We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but "basic" upscale hotel property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lenox Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #32 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice, but "basic" upscale hotel property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

In a good location. Easy access. Clean. Easy to park. Floorplan of lobby is awkward and breakfast buffet on site is above average.. other on site restaurants are ok but not exceptional
Very well run and efficient but nothing "special" in any way
Room was nice and clean.. not new, but not old enough to say that it needs a refreshing. Again, good, but not great

Room Tip: Upper floor esp on South side allows you a view of downtown Atlanta
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    203
    70
    17
    18
See reviews for
108
114
44
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location, next to Lenox Square Mall. Lenox Square Mall is always interesting to walk around, with a mix of people from Atlanta's super wealthy using the valet parking, to young people showing off the latest fashions to foreign tourists.
Very helpful staff and a nice room. Ours had a glass shower and separate bath tub. I could take a bath while my husband showered. The only thing that prevents me from giving the hotel 5 stars is that the room had a musty odor all the time, especially noticeable when first entering.
We enjoyed the excellent breakfast buffet with custom made omlettes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good morning and thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the mall during your visit and found our staff helpful. We have a great team of associates who enjoy providing outstanding service. I apologize for the room having a musty odor but appreciate you letting us know us know about it so that we can investigate and determine what is causing it. We want your to stay to be perfect the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here three nights this week. Very clean and comfortable, but the carpets in the hallways and common areas need to be replaced. Didn't get the king bed that was guaranteed or the promised refigerator. Room service delivered a meal at 11:45pm. Unfortuantely, I did not order it and it woke me up. Once of th best hotel gyms I have been to. Great size, plenty of equipment and everything worked.

Staff is forever friendly and helpful. Given the location and the rate I can get, I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights the middle of March while attending a conference at the Atlanta World Congress Center. This hotel was recommended by a friend who had stayed here. We loved it and were very comfortable during our stay and happy to pay a reasonable price. Nice seating in the lobby, apples and ice water available. We were on the 7th floor overlooking downtown Atlanta. Our room had two Queens, we thought we were getting a King . Comfortable side chair and spacious desk. I wish they included a small refrigerator. Why do high class hotels charge for internet access? We used the free wireless in the lobby and otherwise did without. Bathroom was good size and adequate counter space around sink plus shelf under sink. Towels were very nice. It was nice to have a large full length mirror in the room. Overall our room was very quiet. I could hear people in the hall talking a few times but I never heard doors closing or other TV's. During the afternoon once I heard the train approach and pass but never heard it during the night. Facilities were very clean. I did use the closet safe, it is big enough to hold a small laptop, jewelry, camera and more. We loved that the hotel was right across the street from a MARTA stop. We could be downtown in 15 min. and at the convention center in another 5 min. We enjoyed the easy access to the Mall and walking around. Several good fast food or better restaurants to choose from. The hotel staff were very friendly. We ate in the lobby bar one night. I thought the food was OK. My salmon on flat bread seemed bland, my husband enjoyed his hamburger.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was wonderful!! It's even better than that. The service from the front desk to housekeeping, was spot on!! The car service was so helpful. I didn't need to rent a car. The car service took me and picked me up very quickly, or I was ale to walk because everything was so close. The location is grat.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner rooms. They were hugh and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about our staff and were able to take advantage of our car service. We look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband stays here so regularly the hotel is practically his second home but it was great for me to come and experience it too. We have Executive club access so that always makes a stay very enjoyable and the staff in the lounge were particularly helpful. The hotel has recently been refurbished and while still very Marriott in style is has more personal touchs that I have seen in other properties. Big plus points are the location, loads of great restaurants in easy walking distance, wonderful friendly helpful staff at all levels and a new thing was the little market shop by reception which was fantastic, not only the sweets etc that you would expect but drawers of everything from new shirts and ties to aspirin etc plus although pricey not unreasonable - my 4 headache pills were $3 but a necessity at the time. The only reason I am not giving the hotel and excellent is the very long wait for room service on Sunday night, Our pizza took forever to arrive and we had 2 or 3 phone calls to see if it was there or not which didn't inspire confidence that it was ever coming!

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor facing Atlanta as the views are really stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed three nights at JW Marriott in Buckhead on a leisure trip to Atlanta. I agree with most other Tripadvisors that the hotel is a class act, with great sleeping accommodations (fantastic beds!), wonderful room appointments, and a good fitness room, loaded with equipment. However, for the following reasons, it doesn’t get to the “Excellent” rating from me (as an experienced Marriott Platinum traveler):
Upon arrival, a small package was waiting for me, but I was not notified of it upon check-in (as is normally the case). When a co-worker asked me if I had received the package, I inquired at the front desk (more than one day into my stay). There were no notes on my record of a package waiting for me, but indeed there was. The storage room security person confirmed it had arrived days in advance of my arrival, but no one bothered to put notes in my reservation record for the arrival. The package was promptly delivered once it was discovered;
Structurally, the Concierge Lounge isn’t large enough to accommodate the number of guests that have access to it during most week days. Breakfast is good, service in Concierge is excellent, but it just isn’t large enough. Also, the chair for using the Concierge Lounge computer is much, much, much too low. It needs to b e replaced with a higher chair. Also structurally, in a standard room, there’s very little room on the bathroom counter to accommodate dop kits for two persons. The sink area is simply too small. All other aspects of the bathroom are good.
There are some rooms facing south (towards downtown Atlanta) which overlook railroad tracks. In the middle of the night, light sleepers can definitely hear freight trains running besides the hotel. You might want to bring ear plugs just in case.
But the biggest problem of all is evening housekeeping. Turn down service (a standard procedure for Marriott Platinum members) was badly inconsistent. It happened on night # 1, but not on nights # 2 and # 3. When I called Guest Services at 10:45 pm on the second night to get refreshed towels, it took 55 minutes (and two phone calls) for the towels to finally be delivered. Because of the housekeeping failures on night # 2, I went to the front desk prior to the evening and made a special request to insure that there would be a turndown service (again, as is standard --- or supposed to be standard – for Platinum members). I was assured that it would happen. At 10:15 pm, upon going back to our hotel room, lo and behold NO turndown service had been performed. They tried to come up with some kind of excuse that I had my “Do Not Disturb” sign deployed outside the room, but that was not the case (the next door to me did, but not mine). Housekeeping simply messed up. This is an easy problem to fix.
Notwithstanding the above, if the price is right, I would return to the JW Marriott, but wary of making sure that the above issues (except for the structural ones) are taken care of.

Room Tip: Trains can be heard on the South side of the property (facing downtown Atlanta). If you want that v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Good evening and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I am glad to know that you think the hotel is a class act but was disappointed to hear that you did not receive your package or turndown service in a timely manner. This is not the level of service we strive to deliver. I have personally reviewed your comments with key staff members so that we can insure this does not happen again. I do hope you will give us another chance to earn that excellent rating and thank you for being a loyal platinum member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta

Address: 3300 Lenox Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#30 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#51 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Atlanta
Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.