We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Fantastic and nice facilities but the staff !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lenox Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $149
Ranked #30 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Room Fantastic and nice facilities but the staff !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Room was great, clean and everything you'd expect – Hotel facilities in bar , restaurant , shop all great ... Valet team outside very friendly but that’s where it stops - I have never stayed in a hotel where no one smiles or is friendly . Not one person from reception, to the bar, to the housekeeping smiled – it felt like intruding in someones house ! I have no idea if something had happened in the hotel as it was quite a surprise for a JW Marriott team to be so sullen. It got to the point I dreaded speaking to reception and did it over the phone as over my 5 day stay it was starting to grate. Had I not paid upfront through BA.com - I would have checked out. A perfect example that summed up the staff attitude was with something as dull as dry cleaning - I put some items in Day one - for next day return - Day 3 still not arrived - i chanced reception ( sadly in person ! ) to be told to see if concierge had it . Asked concierge , no response - she walked off returned with some hangers , Asked my name - went to hand it to me and said they hadn’t had chance to deliver it – although a day late .... I kindly asked them to send it to the room as I was off out. Hugely disappointing. Bad enough for one night - but 5 was draining.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as they are bigger .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    176
    62
    16
    16
See reviews for
92
104
43
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Normally JW Marriott properties are very well-appointed, service is great, rooms are spacious and clean, and all the elements of the property are well-designed. However, I found this hotel to be very poorly run, poorly maintained, and awkwardly designed. My department held a weeklong meeting there in mid-January, 2013. The staff was absolutely top-notch in terms of friendliness and accommodation. Shortly after checking in, I used the lobby bathroom and it wasn't clean. At all. The room was nice, clean, and large. The bed was comfortable. Above the bed, though is a smoke alarm with a bright green LED. Bright and annoying. Multiple people taped things over the light from the second night on.

On several of the days i finished with meetings around 430-500 pm only to find that housekeeping had not been to my room. One day, they didn't come at all. The restroom by the conference areas is just a mess. Fixtures pulling out of the wall, screws missing, stalls unclean.

I will say that the food was good (though i never tried the actual restaurant) and they had a lot of healthy options. There are several shuttles that will drive you within a certain radius for free. Getting one is a little bit of a CF as there didn't appear to be much of a system.

This isn't a bad hotel. It is, however, a terrible JW Marriott.

Room Tip: This may seem ridiculous, but specify that there is not a smoke alarm DIRECTLY over your bed. In so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Overall, it was a good experience. But for the price, I would expect an outstanding experience. I'd say it would be a good value if booked at a discount.

Love that it's literally across the street from a MARTA station, making it very convenient for downtown activities.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights while visiting Atlanta & attending the NFC Championship. We love the JWs & have stayed at ones in Hawaii, Indianapolis, Chicago, Orlando & Grand Rapids, but this one just doesn't have the awe factor as the previous ones I mentioned. I do have to say that the staff is very friendly & professional.

We had a corner room that was nice, but for $30 more a night, not worth it. The bed was very comfortable & bathroom nice, but walk in shower was small compared to the other JWs.

Overall, this was my least favorite JW of the others that we stayed in, but nice otherwise.

I would recommend if staying in the Atlanta area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Everyone was very kind and helpful. The hotel was clean, modern, convenient to MARTA, shopping and restaurants. Quiet sleeping although I could hear street noise in a.m. Someone even loaned me an adaptor to charge my cell phone. All in all worked well for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A two-night stay at this prime hotel in Atlanta proves the old adage, "luxury breeds luxury". Impeccable service, dynamic decor, facile reservation-making. No courtesy missing. Excellent dining and shopping facilities within walking distance. One slight inconvenience: no in-room conveniences such as coffee machine or refrigerator. No complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really does have it all: gym, indoor lap pool, and jacuzzi. Across the street from Marta and in the adjoining building of the Lennox mall. Food at the hotel is expensive, as expected, but there are plenty of options at the food court in Lennox mall or across the street at Houston's or Truffle Grill, the latter being the most preferable for me-delicious!! I stayed on the 20th floor with a beautiful view if downtown Atlanta-breathtaking!! Would definitely return-worth every penny!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta

Address: 3300 Lenox Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#12 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#32 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#42 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Atlanta
Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.