We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and rooms, Great shopping location !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Lenox Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $149
Ranked #29 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great service and rooms, Great shopping location !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

We travelled from London and booked a shopping package which included breakfast, parking ( which we didn't need ) and a discount voucher for Macy's.

The service from all staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The room was spacious with a great view over the area. It was really good to be right next to the Lenox Mall and only a few minutes walk from Phipps Plaza. There was a great selection at breakfast.

The hotel is located right next to a Marta station which made it very easy for us to get around wihtout a car. Would definitely come back again.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    177
    62
    16
    16
See reviews for
93
104
43
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

This hotel is certainly adequate but really doesn't impress for the price.

Rooms are somewhat small and I was stunned to find an old, conventional television rather than the new high-definition flat screens that most of the higher-level Marriotts have made standard.

There were also some other minor annoyances. For example, at check-in I was told to pick a chocolate out of a bowl and unwrap it to win something (due to being an Marriott Rewards Gold member). I "won" free access to the Concierge but was immediately told, "Oh, sorry, the Concierge is closed." Huh? Okay, then how about an alternate "prize"? I realize this is a very minor thing but it didn't come across very well. Otherwise, hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

I also ask specifically each time to be away from elevators, yet I was placed right next to them and had to put up with the accompanying noise (which does travel at this hotel).

Finally, a minor issue was that the pool area was in need of a bit more regular housekeeping attention. There were soggy tissues and some other trash around the pool area. Could someone come by periodically to keep it cleaned up? I would expect that at a J.W. Marriott. Otherwise, the pool itself is fairly large and pleasant -- until a large number of kids showed up and it turned into an aquatic Romper Room.

In terms of other details, the lobby area is okay but not especially noteworthy as in some of the more impressive J.W. properties.

The fact that this hotel is connected by a long corridor to Lenox Mall is very advantageous if you want to shop, and there are some restaurant choices in and around the mall within walking distance. I did not park a vehicle here (fortunately, as I believe that valet parking is about $24 a day and the self-parking is also very high). If you do have a vehicle while staying here, you of course are near numerous restaurants, shopping, and everything else in Buckhead, with Midtown not too far, either.

The $12.95 a day wired internet access is a bit much given the average room price at this place (couldn't they throw that in as a freebie?) But this seems to be standard for the J.W. and Renaissance properties (though some are recently offering a lower price for "standard" internet and a higher price for "high speed.")

This hotel has the typical, very comfortable Marriott beds with pillowtop mattress and so on. Room temperature control was also good. Nice view from the higher floor where I stayed, but the window in my room was very small -- maybe 4 feet across at much. So unless you actually stepped over to the window, you weren't exactly struck by any panoramic views.

Overall, if this hotel was simply a Marriott, I would probably rate it higher. But as a J.W., I expect something a bit more impressive. Most other J.W.'s where I've stayed are better. I would recommend this hotel if you get a special rate, but I would be disappointed if I paid full rack rate to stay here.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We spent one night at this hotel (March 21) as we stopped on our way to Orlando for a week. We drove from Indiana to Orlando and thought a stop in Atlanta would not only be a good breaking point but also a nice opportunity for the kids to see the World of Coca Cola. We stayed on the club level and were very impressed with the quality of the room and the service and presentations in the club level. The room was very clean, well appointed, and had plenty of space for us. Parking was convenient and the hotel was very easy to find -- and also very strategically located. We'd definitely stay there again and highly recommend it. Originally we were to stay at the Omni but the tornado that went through the city damaged quite a few rooms there - and cancelled our reservation, so it had not been our plan to stay at the Marriott but we're certainly glad we did. We would do it again.

  • Liked — Well appointed room, very clean and excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing - we were very pleased.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

My wife and I just stayed at the J W Marriott Buckhead this past weekend and were pleasantly surprised to find it such a nice and convenient hotel. For starters we had room 2118, which must be the best in the place. I sat on the marble topped desk and gazed out the windowed wall at the most spectacular view framing downtown Atlanta in the distance. At night, the room's wall of windows was like a postcard or a painting. The service from car drop off through checkout was exactly what I'm looking for, solicitous, friendly and helpful. Even the room service was a surprise, with the breakfast fruit plate being assorted berries and crème fresh. Our room was spacious and the bed was superior and well pillowed with fine linens. Marble bathroom, of course. The best thing about this hotel was its convenient location in relation to the Lenox Square mall. You simply walk to the mall through a carpeted corridor and you are there to do all your shopping without using your car or taxi or being exposed to the weather. Between eating at the mall's Prime steakhouse, filling up on Godiva chocalate, bringing back to the room Panera rolls and tea from Tevana and enjoying fabulous appletinis at the Marriott's bar we really didn't need to leave the hotel (or mall) if we didn't want to.

  • Liked — great room, great service, convenient location
  • Disliked — had to pay daily fee for parking
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

Stayed one night on the 25th floor (concierge level). Room was wonderful. Nice big bathtub, great views. But valet parking is expensive ($24) plus tipping seemed expected when you leave with car and come back. Called Guest Services to request car be brought to front. Message never relayed to Bell Captain. No apology given, just instruction on what number to call in the future. Also seemed that for $400 a night, you should get free wireless internet in your room or at least in the concierge lounge. Breakfast in the lounge was wonderful. Great view of downtown Atlanta. Staff were overall nice and helpful. Good southern hospitality.

  • Liked — room and view
  • Disliked — price and no internet access in room
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed at this wonderful Hotel by chance. We first stayed at another Marriott Hotel located in Buckhead that was terrible and decided to get another hotel and almost didn't stay here because of that one, but we were glad we did when we entered the Hotel.
The decor was beautifully done and you felt welcomed as you walked in.
They greeted us first thing and were very helpful from the start of reservations to check out and in between. The weather turned bad while we were there and we needed to rebook a flight and reserve a room again and they even helped us get into another room quickly and with no difficulties. Which eased the stressful situation we found ourselves in as our flight was cancelled. Thank you very much for looking after our needs to Carolyn Fahey at the front desk and your team we appreciate your efforts very much, you were fantastic! Everyone one we spoke with was friendly and professional. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfy. Linens were beautiful and clean. Plenty of room to move around and the bathroom was roomy as well. The extras made you feel pampered. The decor was lovely. Whenever we come again to Atlanta Buckhead we will most definitely want to stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfortable, location, staffing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed at the Mariott Buckhead-Atlanta this summer for a couple of days while my son was attending camp. Let me first say that all aspects of this hotel was wonderful. During that week it was also my son's birthday. Let me first say that our room was very nice, even though it was the standard room. We had beautiful, very fluffy down comforters and nice pillows on the bed. My two boys were very impressed with the room and the robes, and the toiletries were very nice. The staff was the nicest I have ever experienced. The staff went to the trouble of having a birthday cake baked for my son, decorated it beautifully, brought us bottled water, plates, forks, etc. My son was thrilled. We also enjoyed the spa and the indoor pool. The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. What a great staff and wonderful hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to downtown Atlanta!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta

Address: 3300 Lenox Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#12 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#32 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#42 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Atlanta
Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.