We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice downtown, central located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Georgia Aquarium Offer!
Ranked #129 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice downtown, central located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This Doubletree is located about .75 miles (1.3km) from the Georgia Dome and close to Olympic Park. Our double bed room was clean. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Air conditioning worked great!

Some things to watch out for:
$30 valet parking per night, which is your only option. There is no self serve parking.
$20 for breakfast buffet. Note, there is a Waffle House about 1 block from the hotel and looked very nice, new and clean.
Wifi is not cheap. I was a Hilton Honors member and got free Wifi which worked great!
You cannot enter hotel from Spring Street NW. You must enter off of Carnegie Way which is off of Andrew Young International Blvd. GPS had some issues getting us to the right entrance. Be sure to get a print out of google maps first.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. Downtown can be tricky for driving and does have limited parking. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return to Atlanta.
Thank you,
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    221
    206
    126
    53
See reviews for
154
117
40
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this DoubleTree because of it's proximity to the downtown area and from very good past experiences with this chain of hotels. Unfortunately, this Atlanta Doubletree hotel had several problems most of which could be remedied. Among the issues: 1) With 4 people staying in the room with a King and pull out couch, the hotel staff should have had sheets ready to go for the pull out couch 2) instead, it took an hour and a half to bring up the sheets late at night with young children, 3) there were only 3 towels supplied in the room, 4) one of the thermostats couldn't heat or cool the room, 5) of the 2 business center computers, one was broken and the other operated with software from the mid-1980s without the ability to print, 6) elevators were either too slow or never arrived and finding the stairs was problematic. On the flip side, the staff were friendly and the in-house restaurant was good. I would suggest finding accommodations elsewhere given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize your stay was a less than desirable one. Please feel free to reach out to me to discuss further.
Thank you,
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The room was very small. The bathroom was not very clean. The bed was comfortable. The pool area was not very nice either. The person on staff at check in was extremely nice and helpful, but after that it was hit or miss. The breakfast buffet which was $17.00 per person was not very good. Also told that it had Belgian waffles but when asked the wait staff said no. Felt like way over charged for a muffin and a coffee. Really disappointed because I have stayed at Doubletree establishments before and been really happy with them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize it was a less than pleasant one. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to reach out to me.
Thank you,
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for my conference in Atlanta. The good things about the hotel are that it is close to fun places like Olympic Park, the World of Coca Cola, and the large ferris wheel; it has an outdoor pool and the size is pretty good; it has a fitness center that is open 24 hours and it is always clean; the front desk staff is always friendly and accommodating. The other points that I think are annoying is the location of the entrance and a lack of exhaust fan in the bathroom. The drive-thru entrance is at the corner of the intersection so it is awkward for drivers to enter the entrance. I am not sure why there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. But the room is very nice and I appreciate the wifi access for free, even with the low speed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was such a pleasure to have you and your family here. We look forward to your next visit to Atlanta!! Our building is 50+ years old and just completed its public space renovation, we are looking forward to starting on our rooms soon!
Thank you,
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I felt forced into $30 valet parking because there wasn't anywhere to park. There was no free wifi, furniture was dirty, bathtub was outdated, ice machine was on another floor. Over-priced hotel. Comfort Suites was so much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to see your experience was not a positive one. If you would like to further discuss the details of your stay please feel free to contact me. Thanks Again, April Mosley Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 days, 3 nights here as a half-anniversary celebration. Hotel facilities were very nice, very clean. The staff were all very helpful - especially the valets! Worth every penny of the $30 per night valet services. The room itself would have been prohibitively expensive if not for a coupon we had. Our room was very nice, a bit small with the king size bed. Only complaint would be the incredibly loud air conditioner (think small aircraft) - being Atlanta in July, we had to have the A/C on all night. The breakfast buffet was the most disappointing aspect of our stay: $18.95 per person for runny eggs and stale biscuits. However, the downtown location gave us plenty of other options for meals. This hotel is also extremely convenient for doing "tourist" things in ATL, i.e. the Aquarium and Centennial Park, Underground Atlanta, shopping, and is only 15 minutes driving time to Six Flags. Summary: over priced, but very nice place to spend a weekend in downtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our great downtown location to enjoy all that the local area has to offer. I do apologize for issues you encountered during your stay. I have sent your comments to our executive chef to address. I hope you will join us again on your next stay to Atlanta!
April Mosley
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had a peaceful time in it, because I had a bad experience living in other place in Atlanta. I booked by phone, it was so nice and friendly but when I got to the front desk to check in, I wasn't in the system and the person in charge wasn't friendly as the person in the phone was. I never felt welcome to Atlanta in any place, but a least I could sleep well in Double Tree as soon as I got to the system. Also the guys who help with the bags are great they are nice person.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are not accustom to receiving comments of our staff not being engaging. I apologize for your experience and would be following up with the team.
Thank you,
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Address: 160 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exciting downtown Atlanta at the stylish DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown. Walk to many downtown attractions such as Georgia Aquarium, Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Dome and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Wyndham Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.