We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Georgia Aquarium Offer!
Ranked #134 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The majority of the staff were very nice (shout outto Stephen S., valet/bellman extraordinaire) but not very good at what they did. Checked in to an upgrade I had to turn down, as it was directly next to all the HVAC equipment. They had a hard time finding an acceptable room. That room had a broken curtain pull, tiny windows, blistered peeling paint in the bathroom, and the tub wouldn't drain. I booked 6 rooms and they walked my VP (who is a diamond elite plus). Took 30 minutes to get them to find him a room after all. I sent a pair of pants to be laundered and had to call down 3 times before they managed to find them and bring them to me. There was more but you get the idea.

They just really don't seem to know what hilton level customer service means.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to see your experience was not a positive one. If you would like to further discuss the details of your stay please feel free to contact me.
Thanks Again,
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    241
    234
    147
    65
See reviews for
180
137
41
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I had no problems with checking in and out and the room was in great condition. I went for a conference in the area and it was within walking distance and a better rate than the other hotels. My colleague and I liked this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return trip to Doubletree Downtown Atlanta!
Thank you,
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The staff is excellent - very friendly, helpful and pleasant. Modern decor. Valet parking only but too expensive. Rooms need to be cleaner. Need real eggs instead of powered eggs on buffet and food needs to be hotter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay and the kind words about the hotel staff. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our great downtown location to enjoy all that the local area has to offer. We understand that downtown parking can be tricky. Unfortunately we are a valet only property, but do have information on local lots if a guest is interested in self parking. I have passed your comments along to our F&B and Housekeeping depts. Thank you again for the feedback, and we look forward to having you back in downtown Atlanta!
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel looks nice on the surface, and it is also in a great location. However, if you look closer, furniture is pretty well-used. We had a suite room, expected better-kept furniture, but that wasn't the case. It's probably the fault of the previous guests, but still, I expected better. Other than that, the guest service was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you reviewing our hotel. We have recently renovated our restaurant, fitness center, and lobby. We are looking forward to working on our rooms next. We hope to see you back in downtown Atlanta soon!
Thank you,
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The staff was nice, and made every attempt to satisfy us as customers, but it could not make up for the poor upkeep of the hotel (elevator, room, lobby). The building is very old (which is not the issue), the floors, walls, and bathrooms were not well kept. The walls had dents, markings, and chipped paint. The floors were filthy in the elevator, and did not look to be very clean in the room. Booked for 3 nights, but couldn't stay 1. Staff was patient, and kind, even offered a suite. Would not recommend. Needs a major reno!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We have a new painter starting this week to maintain the new white walls. We also just completed the public space renovations and look forward to getting into the rooms later this year. We hope upon your next return to Atlanta, we will be able to show you an improved product!
Thank you,
April Mosley
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I needed but I did not know where the safe was until signing out day. The card containing room "key" was removed during the room cleaning. This card contains access code leaving my wife without internet access.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I do apologize that housekeeping removed the internet code. I hope that you did not keep you from being able to accomplish what you needed to. I had our Director of Housekeeping review this with the young lady that cleaned your room. We hope to see you back in Atlanta again soon.
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. The views were great! However, I had a negative experience with a fire emergency. There were several deaf guests the weekend I was there. During the fire emergency we all had to evacuate, obviously. Unfortunately, there were no flashing lights to alert the sleeping guests who were hard of hearing. If there had not been a hearing person with them, they would never have known to leave. Very recently this happened in a Chicago hotel and four of the seven deaf individuals in the hotel died.
Also, the breakfast is good, but at over $16 for a small buffet, I had to go elsewhere the next day.

Room Tip: Not safe for deaf guests. See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We do have flashing strobes in all our guest rooms and have the fire inspector coming out this week to review rather there were issues with the ones in the guestroom you were in. We look forward to your return to Atlanta.
April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Address: 160 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exciting downtown Atlanta at the stylish DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown. Walk to many downtown attractions such as Georgia Aquarium, Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Dome and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Wyndham Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.