We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed at better hotels” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Georgia Aquarium Offer!
Ranked #126 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Danville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Have stayed at better hotels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location was great but the hotel was very dated. The beds were very uncomfortable and had a very annoying overlay that kept moving and unsetting the sheets. This caused most of our 5 nights to be uncomfortable because of having to get up and reset the sheets. The shower did not work properly,the water was lukewarm at its hottest, the room smelled musty and there were stains on the carpet. The room tempature was also sporadic and hard to keep regulated. I didn't bother to complain because the hotel was so busy with Clemson football fans and convention guests. Didn't want to have to lug my families belongings to another room either. Stayed in room 327 so avoid it if you choose to stay here.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms but 327 could use a facelift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You will be happy to hear our hotel will be undergoing renovations over the next couple of months, giving the hotel a fresh new look. Over the next year I hope our staff will have the pleasure to welcome you again, and you will have the opportunity to see the updates.

Best Regards,

Mark Gallagher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    179
    162
    87
    39
See reviews for
127
89
33
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is in dire need of renovation. It is very tired and public area poor, even the business lounge! My first room on the 'Executive floor' was very small by US standards, no possibility to open a window and then I discovered the window had what looked like a bullet hole and was cracked! I asked to be moved to another room, I was given one with a balcony but it opened up over the the back where there was the generators which made too much noise! To compensate for all this I must say all staff from check in to room service were very good!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our hotel was built in the early 60’s to explain the room sizes though you will be happy to hear our hotel will be undergoing renovations over the next couple of months. To put your mind at ease about the hole in your window it was caused by a recent storm that came through. Over the next year I hope our staff will have the pleasure to welcome you again, and you will have the opportunity to see the updates.

Best Regards,


Mark Gallagher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Typically Marriott rooms and strandrad decor...very nice as usually. Location Great but you must valet park since there is no in and out and that can get pretty expensive per night. If you are not familar with the area it's a little dificult to navigation to the front door entrance from the street. other than that very nice. I also stay at the Georgia Tech Marriott which was a lot cheaper and I happend to like that location better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at the Atlanta Marriott Downtown Hotel. I was very pleased to read that your stay was positive and you enjoyed our rooms and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Atlanta.

Best Regards,


Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently attended a conference in Atlanta and decided to stay at the downtown Marriott. What a great choice. The hotel was perfect in every way and close to everything. While not cheap the rates were very god when compared to other similar properties. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great room and convenient location. Thanks Marriott!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for the 5-star review of your recent stay at the Atlanta Marriott Downtown Hotel. I appreciate you rating us 5 stars in every category; I look forward to sharing this review with my team.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company on your next visit to Atlanta.

Best Regards,


Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Central hotel with good service, if you can overlook some of the "unusual" features. I would give it 3.5 stars

The best thing about the hotel was its location: it was 3 long blocks (8 minutes) walk from the convention center, across from the Westin Peachtree Plaza, and a very short distance away from restaurants and bars on Peachtree, from MARTA, and a few malls.

The service was very friendly and helpful, in stark contrast to what I had experienced on a previous business trip to Atlanta....

The accomodations were comfortable but not luxurious. The shampoo and conditioners did the job and I didn't lose hunks of my hair trying to untangle my hair while washing it in the morning. The desk was ample, with lots of space and access to plugs and the DSL/cable hook up to the internet allowed reasonably fast internet access. (The daily internet access charge was insane--it may be more cost-effective to buy a week's worth of access.)

The oddity consists of: a missing closet--clothes are to be stowed in a dresser, and the safe is in a drawer next to the desk and beneath the coffee maker. The missing closet and the safe are no big deal unless you had a lot of suits to hang up and had tall valuables you want to stow in a safe...The street noise was audible from the 4th floor--I can hear the clop-clop of the horses' hooves from carriages going by--single-glazed windows???

Overall, reasonable accomodations!

Room Tip: Something above the 4th floor would be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write regarding your recent experience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that you will try us again on your next visit to Atlanta.


Best Regards,

Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Large hotel in downtown area. They have a well-run operation as they are used to handling large volume of guests. Rooms are clean, hotel smells good. You will spend lots on ancillary things during you're stay (parking, tipping everyone, snacks, etc) but its what I would expect. Good customer service, just don't be afraid to ASK for what you want. If you are not there for a convention I would be sure to ask if they will have large groups there during your stay. Sometimes it can make for an inconvenience if you are not part of a large group. Little tips like asking for a low floor (so you can take the stairs), etc can help you get along.

Good hotel....... I would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Your review is much appreciated, as you are correct we are a hotel that has many groups coming in and out of our hotel, just like the rest of the surrounding hotels. Our staff are very accommodating something we pride ourselves in, and we are glad to hear you were happy with our service. If you find yourself in Atlanta again, I hope we are your hotel of choice.

Merry Christmas to you and your family!


Mark Gallagher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for a week for work and found the hotel to be comfortable, but a little dated. The first room we were given had a broken faucet and a noisy A/C unit, but they moved us easily into a new room right beside the first that was nice. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. We were on the 8th floor which I would recommend.

The location is good as its close to all major tourist attractions and the MARTA. Downtown Atlanta is dead during the week but it certainly picked up when the sports teams were playing. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Your stay with us over this past week sounds like it was successful though I apologize for the initial room move. As announced in a recent posting we will be seeing improvements coming in 2013 to fix some concerns and update the look of the rooms. We are excited to see the change in our hotel and our staff are eager to showcase it to all of our future guest. We hope you will have to opportunity to see the changes this next year and that you are greeted by familiar faces.

Happy Holidays!

Mark Gallagher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Address: 160 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exciting downtown Atlanta at the stylish DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown. Walk to many downtown attractions such as Georgia Aquarium, Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Dome and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Wyndham Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.