We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Georgia Aquarium Offer!
Ranked #126 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Rogers, Arkansas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was placed in this hotel when the Marriott Marquis was over booked. Overall this is a nice hotel in a good location. It is much smaller than the Marquis and less modern, but that does not take away from the quiality. Rooms were big, nice and clean and the service was good as well. I would definitely recommend anyone looking to stay in downtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for writing regarding your recent stay at the Atlanta Marriott Downtown, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I was happy to read that your experience was positive and that you enjoyed our guestrooms, staff, and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    179
    163
    87
    39
See reviews for
127
89
33
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
westchester NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nice Marriott in a great location. Close to mart and walking distance to many attractions. But I have to say, the staff at this hotel is one of the best I have ever see. Everyone from the fron desk to the valets are fantastic!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your loyalty to the Atlanta Marriott Downtown and for taking the time to recognize our amazing front desk & valet staff. A warm welcome & attentive staff can go a long way in making our guests feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best Regards,

Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our accommodations were very, very nice, immaculately clean, the bed was fabulous, rather surprising, because I usually am very neutral on that type of thing. The only thing I am not happy about is the outrageous fee of twelve dollars per day to use the Internet. C'mon, people, I could go next door to Starbucks and use it for free (without the "lobby"use restricting me to one hour).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks for writing regarding your recent stay at the Atlanta Marriott Downtown; your feedback is welcomed. I was happy to read that your experience was positive and that you enjoyed our guestrooms. I appreciate the high ratings in cleanliness, location & sleep quality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards,

Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This older, heart of Atlanta Hotel really needs some updating. I stayed in a accessibility king room and this hotel provides no refrigerators in room. Room 311 The toilet seat is old, dirty and cracked, horrible view, and I can understand a hanging sink for accessibility, but there still needs to be some sort of vanity in the bathroom to put your things on besides the toilet tank. I am a Marriott Rewards member, I did not feel rewarded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
I appreciate your feedback and your review. I see that you part of the Census Bureau group, and I just wanted to take the time and thank you for your business. I do apologize you were placed in room 311, due to the hotel being sold out, but I am pleased to see we moved you to 366 the next day. We do have refrigerators available on request at the hotel, but due to the occupancy level we may have been unable to fulfill your request, so again I apologize for this. I have also had my engineering department address the concerns you noted in the bathroom of 311. Although you did not use your Marriott Rewards account while you stayed here, I looked it up and will be rewarding you 10,000 points for the inconveniences your suffered.

Enjoy the rest of the your Summer,

Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is good location,close to subway station and aquarium,museum.
The inside was clean, just not mess and We had enough amenities.
But our kids were really disappointed that the pool was closed 1 hour earlier than sign could swim just for 10 min... They should open long during summer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Atlanta Marriott Downtown. I am delighted that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed the hotel & it’s terrific location. I also appreciate the strong cleanliness rating. Normally the pool closes at 10 pm, so if it closed before this time, I do apologize. I will share your feedback with my security team, so we don’t inconvenience future guests. We hope to see you back in the near future.


Best Regards,

Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Detroit
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this Marriott with my teenage daughter in February during the big Cheersport cheerleading competition. This is an extremely big event, plus there is a huge hair show, and the circus was in town. Atlanta was hopping that weekend. So, I understand hotels and restaurants were booked to the max and probably struggling to meet the demands of the many people in town for the events. I have taken that into consideration but some of the problems I had at this hotel were still completely inexcusable.

The hotel itself isn't bad. It was fairly clean, most of the staff I dealt with were very polite, and many were super friendly. The location is excellent. It's very close to the park, Aquarium, CNN center, sports stadiums, Georgia World Congress Center (where the cheer competition was held), and many restaurants. We also got a very reasonable group rate. All positives. HOWEVER, I had numerous problems.

Very minor but worth noting, there is no breakfast included in the rate and the rooms do not have microwaves or refridgerators. Not a deal breaker but those things always make for a better stay.

Okay, now to the major problems... First of all, there was no maid service on the weekends and we were not told there would be no maid service. No clean sheets, no clean towels, no soap and shampoo replenishment, no toliet paper replenishment, and no garbage pick up. Not even when we called and asked for these items. Nothing. This would not be a problem for an overnighter but we were there 4 nights! I had garbage piled up like you wouldn't believe. Food garbage. It was so gross! We had to reuse old towels after showering and even resorted to drying off with washcloths by the last night. UNACCEPTABLE!

We had several other problems that were straight up ignored. Our room was too warm, and too humid. My daughter and I both have asthma and humidity is a huge trigger for me. We couldn't breathe in our room. Nothing was done to fix that. Room service sucked. We were charged an extra $5 for two slices of bacon with our breakfast and we didn't even get the bacon. Of course, this is after we waited more than an hour for the food. Too bad so sad for us. Nobody cared. One evening, we filled out the Express Breakfast order form and put it on our room door by the time stated, as instructed. The next morning we waited and waited for our food. No breakfast. When we opened our door we realized why. They never even took the order form! Grrr. It was all so frustrating.

But the one that really did it was the problems with our room toliet. We called twice because it wasn't flushing properly. They came up and "fixed" it. Yeah, right. On our last night it overflowed. So, we had feces and urine water all over the floor. I called again. They came up and "fixed" it again, but didn't bring a mop or anything to clean the mess. The guy said he couldn't get a mop because there was no maid service or housekeeping staff there. His advice to me was "put some towels on the floor." At this point I had enough. I was so angry. I called the desk for the millionth time that weekend and they said they'd send someone up with a mop. No one ever came. I wound up on my hands and knees, cleaning the mess myself. I used our old towels to mop up the overflow and washed the floor with the last of the clean washcloths and some shampoo. It was awful. Just awful.

I know it was a busy weekend and I know the staff must have been overwhelmed by the number of requests and problems from the guests but everybody in Atlanta knows what the Cheersport and Hair Show weekend is like. Both of these events are annual. They have plenty of time to prepare. The problems we had were outrageous and the fact that they were largely ignored is unaccpetable. I will opt for the Holiday Inn across the street or Omni that's nearby next time. I will not stay at this Marriott again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay, we really appreciate the positive feedback about the hotel, our wonderful location and the staff. I will have to say that I was very disappointed to read about your experience from February of this year. We failed in multiple areas and I am truly sorry. Guestroom cleanliness, quality food offerings & responsiveness to our guests needs is at the forefront of a great hotel stay and what you experienced is unacceptable. Please be assured that we have sat down as a team and discussed your stay in detail and we have taken action from the comments you made.
Again, thanks for the feedback and please feel to reach out to me personally if I can be of further service.

Sincerely,
Mark Gallagher
General Manager
678-686-3344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed during convention in June 2012. Easy walking distance to Georgia convention center, CNN Center etc. Hotel itself was disappointment for Marriott, as it is old and rooms dated. Booked Executive floor room and had clearly expected more than what I got- The room was not cheap neither, 270 USD!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write, we appreciate your review of our property. I am glad to see our location met your needs.
I am very sorry the appearance of the hotel was not to your liking. We have completed a number of renovation projects in the past six months, with our balconies; pool area & front drive all recently renovated, and have more big plans for 2012/2013. Again thanks for the feedback.

Best Regards,

Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Address: 160 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exciting downtown Atlanta at the stylish DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown. Walk to many downtown attractions such as Georgia Aquarium, Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Dome and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Wyndham Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.