We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night with a friend in November 2009. I have nothing for wonderful things to say about this lovely historic hotel. Walk about the lobby and you will just ooh and ahh at its history and glitz. I'm a huge Gone with the Wind fan, so this hotel was a goldmine!

I booked 1 month in advance for a total of $160 + valet. My room was HUGE! It included a full kitchen (but no pots and pans, silverware, or glasses), a 'dressing room' with large closet, and a spacious bathroom. Apparently this hotel was an apartment are in the 70s so it appears my room was one of those 'apartment' rooms. The beds were wonderfully comfy with duvets and plush pillows.

The lobby was spotless and checkin and checkout was very quick and smooth. I also asked for recs for dinner and was provided many options. Though in the end we just walked down the street and found a fun restaurant. We were accosted by a homeless man asking for money but we apologized (we weren't carrying cash or food) and walked away.

The ONLY complaint I have is YES the hotel rooms need a little TLC. Specifically the wallpaper, kitchen, and baths. Maybe even the rug. All those appeared tired but then again, you get what you pay for. To me, the history of this hotel overrules and I thorougly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2010
Thank you for the positive feedback. Every effort is made to ensure that all guests get a wonderful and memorable experience at the georgian terrace. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    282
    126
    103
    96
See reviews for
190
258
63
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winder, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I booked this hotel as an Anniversary/Christmas gift for my boyfriend because of the band playing at the Fox Theatre. The location of this hotel is perfect and when you walk in the doors it looks beautiful and elegant. This is where most of the positive ended.

We waited in line for an hour just to check in. The front desk staff's customer service is okay, not rude but not helpful. When we got to the room, we were shocked, the lobby is georgous but the rooms look like you're staying in a different hotel. The room smelled of smoke, even worse when the shower was turned on. Upon calling the front desk about the smoke smell, the only option was to have someone come spray the room, suggesting moving rooms was never offered. I had requested a city view since this was a special night and the view was a stone wall. Huge disappointment. Room Service also ends at 11pm. And lastly, when checking out the valet would not allow guests to wait for their cars to warm up for a minute before getting in (it was below 30 degrees).

Some positive things was there there was a very friendly housekeeping staff and the head bellman was very friendly and funny. Overall, I will not book this hotel again despite the location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Diector of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
Thank you for your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during check in. The delay for check in on that day was a result of the late check out by the guests who had stayed over to celebrate New Years. Be assured that under normal circumstances, an average check in is about 3 minutes. Also due to our capacity at that time we were unable to relocate you to a diffrent room and honour your request for a city view. Should you grant our request for a second stay with us, I am confident that you will not be disappointed as we will meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

You can't beat this hotel for price and location. It was great walking out of the restaurant straight across the street into the Fox Theatre. The restaurant was fabulous, besides typical food, they also had game on the menu. We had rabbit and pheasant and both were delicious. The rooms are huge. A one bedroom has a kitchen (although no utensils are provided), living room, office, and laundry . The property is dated. The furniture was stained, the appliances old. However, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
Thank you. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

The experience from our stay at the Georgian Terrace can be summed up in one word. "Perfect". From the second we pulled up to the hotel, the valet opened our doors and the bellhop began unloading our luggage once we made it clear we were checking in. The hotel was beautiful, the staff overly willing to help and lend a hand or answer any questions. We were in the standard room, which is the smallest room they offer. I believe it is around 200 sq ft. I was a little concerned until we walked in the room. It was quaint and cozy. The bed was amazing even for being a double bed. The view fantastic. The open Terrace to the outside made it awesome. The room was spotless. I could not have spent a better $60 (thank you priceline)! While we were walking out of the hotel, we did make small talk with one of the housekeepers who allowed us to walk in one of the two bedroom suites she was cleaning...another wow! The suites are huge! Literally, I would live at this hotel if I ever moved back to Atlanta. The pool on the roof offers outstanding views of midtown and downtown, even though the weather was too cold for a swim. All in all I must say....well done Georgian Terrace.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
Thank you. We highly appreciate your feedback.As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed here one night (11-28-09), chose a two bedroom deluxe via Expedia and paid ~$138 inclusive. There were four of us two adults, and two kids (8, 10). We stayed the night of a GT football game so it was busy. They upgraded us to a two bedroom suite (didn't ask why, just said Ok!) and it was in the back corner on the 11th floor (#1106)...nice room...had a kitchen, small dining table, living room, large bathroom with bath/shower and two separate bedrooms. We loved it. The staff was nice and the hotel is a class act in a great location. We decided to park on the street behind the hotel because valet is ~ $23...it worked out well for us but take your own risks in the city...
We will be back here, we liked it alot.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director Of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Very beautiful hotel and the hotel restaurant was superb!

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director Of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2009
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Had a terrible experience here!!! NIce architecture, beautiful building. ... NO HOT WATER!!! Got 10 minutes of hot water and that was it. Even the Motel 6 has hot water. Called the front desk and was told that they have small water heaters and we would have to wait for it to reheat or transfer to another room. THEY DOWNGRADED US to a smaller room which had hot water for the same price. Later was told by a racist staff member "Curtis" to get my white [--] in my room!!! Was just outside my room looking out over the balcony after getting home from the bar. The staff member seemed to be trying to round up some high schoolers that were having a graduation party, but his comments and attitude were COMPLETELY UNCALLED FOR!! While these are my only two complaints in the 3 nights I stayed here, they are more than enough reason for me to NEVER COME BACK!! And discourage anyone from coming here in the future. Hot water is to be expected at any hotel, and racism has no place anywhere!!!!!!!! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director Of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2009
The hotel aims to consistently deliver professional service to our customers and I would like to state that on this occasion the level you received was unacceptable and your feedback will be invaluable towards improving our level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Address: 659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.