We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book this hotel through Hotwire” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't book this hotel through Hotwire”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

The lobby of the hotel is, as others have mentioned, beautiful. The front desk staff is pleasant enough. The problem was our room. It was extremely small! The website says that "many" rooms have kitchens along with walk-in closets and balconies with sliding glass doors. Well, they must keep those rooms for people who do not book through Hotwire/Priceline/etc - we had NONE of those things. We did have a room that was big enough for the DOUBLE bed and not much else. The tv was a 19-incher! I haven't seen one of those in a long time. The bed was one of those memory foam jobies and boy was it REALLY uncomfortable! Also, the tub dripped loudly and constantly.

If you're going to a show at the Fox, the location of this hotel is fine. If you're doing anything else, well, you'll have a long walk. Also, parking is HORRIBLE! They charge $25 per night for valet and $22 if you self-park. Use the parking lot across the street (Ponce). It charges a max $7.

I won't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    284
    126
    103
    96
See reviews for
190
259
63
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

Lobby was updated and nice but that's where it ended. Room was musky and very outdated. Bathroom was very small, toilet ran all night, and tub was chipped. Bed was uncomfortable and the TV was about the size of my laptop screen. Was hasseled by pan-handelers right infront of the hotel. Looked interesting on the website but never agian at any price.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2006

We stayed at the Georgian Terrace when visiting Atlanta for a trade show in October of 2005 and we were impressed by the location and the value. Right in the midtown section of Atlanta, across from the Fox Theater, it sits on a lively stretch of Peachtree Street which is great for people watching while having drinks or a meal at the outdoor terrace restaurant that extends out in front of the hotel.

For under $300/night (I believe in the mid $200's), we got a 2 bedroom suite complete with full kitchen, living room area with dining area, and a large bathroom that included a washer and dryer.

Pros: Lots of space for the money, centrally located, awesome memory foam beds, great outdoor terrace restaurant, roof top pool.

Overall a great experience, and if and when I return to Atlanta, I will definitely stay at the Georgian Terrace.
Cons: We were missing a tv in one of the bedrooms, the kitchen is fairly small, and the roof top pool area was a little disappointing (but the view was great)

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Georgian Terrace this past weekend, and I honestly am surprised at some of the negative reviews I've read on this site. Our experience was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and our room was gorgeous! We had a one bedroom suite and it was very large - separate living/dining area, separate full kitchen, and separate bedroom and bath. We were on the 17th floor facing Peachtree Street, which afforded a great view of the hustle and bustle on Peachtree. There was also a small balcony that you could actually go out on (not big enough for furniture, but large enough to stand on).

There is an old part of the hotel and a new part of the hotel, so maybe some of the negative comments about quality of rooms and furnishings were from people who stayed in the old part - we stayed in the new and were very impressed. We felt $119 a night was cheap for such high-quality accommodations.

Our only disappointment was that a wedding party had booked the entire restaurant and bar, so we weren't able to sit in the bar and listen to live jazz that evening. But there is still plenty to do within walking distance - many restaurants and bars.

Although we live in the Atlanta area, we decided to stay at the Georgian Terrace because we were attending a show at the Fox Theatre. We will definitely do so again - convenient location and great accommodations and service. We took MARTA (Atlanta's public transit) from the suburbs to the North Avenue station, which was only 2 blocks from the Georgian Terrace (and much, much cheaper than the $25 per day parking at the hotel). All in all, we were very pleased and our expectations were exceeded.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2005

Upon arrival you will be taken by the beauty of the hotel- marble, light, old classic charm and more. As soon as you reach the front desk though, you will feel as if you arrived at a freeway motel. The service and professionalism of the front desk staff is horrible- I had the privilage of having eyes rolled at me, no eye contact, being told to walk downstairs and wait in line if nobody answers the phone when calling from my room, having a honeymoon delivery sent to the wrong room, billing issues and more. If you ask for help, you are directed to someone else, who directs you to someone else. No accountability.

Bottom line is that if you expect empowered service oriented people, you are at the wrong place. If you want a big room in a beautiful building with a great location, you might be able to overlook being treated as if you are an inconvenience.

Another note: the restaurant and bar are understaffed and close as early as 11:00pm. Parking is steep-$25 a night. Good dining nearby and the Fox Theatre is right across the street.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontardawe, Wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

If you want a modern minimalist room, then the GT isn't for you! However, if you want a large comfy room, great food and a courteous and helpful staff, then you con't go wrong at this hotel. The beds were the most comfortable, I've ever slept in. The rooms are more akin to suites than traditional hotel rooms. Ideal for a family!
My two children loved the pool on the roof, and were treated like royalty by the staff.
The person on the concierge was particularly helpful in guiding us round the sights of Atlanta. Great value!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

This is a very attractive building with pleasant public areas and a nice bar. However, the apartment style rooms feel a little odd, the kitchen is almost open plan with the bedroom, we had to unplug the fridge because of the noise, I suppose for longer stays this might have been more useful. The ensuite laundry room meant that I returned home from my holiday with clean clothes however the dryer only seemed to do "cold" but the detergent was free. We had problems with a blocked toilet but this was fixed quite quickly - not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Address: 659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#44 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.