We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Georgian Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book and Save 15%
Ranked #50 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Different Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have never stayed in a hotel that had 3 closets and an empty washer dryer room with the hookups still exposed. The hotel felt a bit creepy and did not feel well attended. Will not be staying in this hotel again. Hotel Indigo down the street is a much better choice and value.

Room Tip: Stay at Hotel Indigo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    253
    120
    100
    91
See reviews for
178
233
60
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife, nephews and myself stayed at the Georgian Terrace because our previous stays have been excellent. However, this time when my wife went to open the window (fascinated with construction down below) to take a better picture without glare, the window fell out and hit her on her left cheek under her eye. We got her to sit down and looked at the window. Someone had taken the screws out of the frame which would not allow the window to open higher than 12". We put a cold rag on her cheek and called the front desk.
An engineer and another person came and asked, "Do we need to call an ambulance or take you to the hospital? We replied no because she was not bleeding. He has us write down our statement and asked if we needed anything else. We replied we only wanted the window fixed so this would not happen again.
Since that day, the charge on my credit card was removed and I thought that was a very nice jester from the hotel (seeing I did not rack up a huge medical bill for them). However, two days later the bill reappears on my card and we have not received communication from the motel on how my wife is doing or if we needed anything.
The motel prides itself on customer satisfaction, but this time they have clearly missed the mark on the expectations of customer service. I do not really care about the bill because we did have a great stay, but the common curiosity of how your customer is doing and a thank you for not pursuing medical and legal issues would warrant a phone call.
Would I stay here again, yes, but will check the windows before my wife goes near them. Lol

Room Tip: Breakfast at Starbucks was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Georgian Terrace. We take your comments very seriously and have shared your remarks with the entire management team. I sincerely apologize about the unfortunate incident with the window. We strive to provide every guest with a premier, safe and comfortable experience. Your feedback regarding the incident has been shared with our General Manager and I assure you measures will be taken to rectify. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we hope you will choose the Georgian Terrace for your future trips to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was a very nice suite , big bathroom and i really liked the ergonomically friendly soap. Pool was nice on the roof weather was a little to cool for swimming tho it was a great place to relax and take in the views. Restaurant and lounge area was relaxing and wait staff was knowledgeable . People at front desk were a little stand offish, but the door men and concierge were very friendly. Would recommend any one to stay there and i myself would stay again if a show i wanted to see was at the fox theater.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind Trip Advisor review. Our team here at the Georgian Terrace works hard to keep guests like you happy. I'll definitely pass along your compliments and we look forward to your next stay with us when you return to Atlanta. Thank you again very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The hotel staff were incredibly helpful & l accommodating. The food was good & the room was quite clean. Other than the elevator wait time, in which they allowed us to use the service elevator since there were three large groups having meetings, etc on the same weekend, the hotel stay was great! I'd definitely stay at the Georgian Terrace on my next stay in Atlanta.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a last minute reservation.,the hotel was nearly sold out for that night but somehow the reservationist found us a room. We were attending an event at the fox which is directly across the street from this midtown hotel,originally we were going to stay in the suburbs of Atlanta. Upon arrival we were greeted by very helpful valet who was extremely busy with what seemed like a 5 o'clock traffic jam in the hotel driveway,but he was very kind and courteous.
Upon walking in we marveled at how well appointed and charming the hotel was. Check in was fast even with the lobby and registration desk being crowded. Upon entry into our two double bed room we were amazed but the size of the room over 500 sq ft. With very high ceiling. My wife commented on the space being wasteful because there was so much extra rm not being utilized.

The beds were comfy and the bathroom very large with a walkin shower. The room had a very nice aroma and the carpet looked week maintained. The rm had a large 42 in flat panel and the pillows were soft & feathered. The windows were large,tall and wide just like you would find in a new york city apartment in manhattan. staff brought up a complimentary basket of fruit and water.
The convenience of being able to walk across the street to our event at the fox was a Homerun. It was a very cold Friday nite in the city. after the event we walked back to the hotel to try out their restaurant Livingstons very nice vibe,nice seating area. We only tried the appetizers but were impressed with the presentation and the food. The staff was still smiling even with us arriving 20 minutes before closing time and others arriving afterwards.
Overall the stay was fantastic for the one night we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Our team here at the Georgian Terrace works hard to keep guests like you happy. I'll definitely pass along your compliments and we look forward to your next stay with us when you return to Atlanta. Thank you again very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ok, so we stayed here this week for a little Staycation in Atlanta.. i found a great deal on the Hotel Tonight app, and we ended up paying $140 for the night (minus $35 in credits the app gave equaling 105!) Considering this is a classic in Atlanta, it was a steal. Here's what you need to know: the king rooms have been remodeled and are fabulous.. we had a peak into the penthouse suite for brides, and it was beautiful. the rooms with doubles have NOT been remodeled yet, and we stayed in one of those because we had our kids with us.. even though it wasnt remodeled, it was still beautiful. obviously in need of some upgrades, but still a HUGE suite with 2 bedrooms, and my girls were thrilled! if i would have paid the rack room rate i would have been pickier, but for $105 i was completely content. Parking is $25 for the night if you self park, and valet is $30. They have a nice workout facility, and a pool on the roof which is NOT HEATED (although before we booked we called to ask and they said it was heated) :(
the front desk was friendly, and easy to work with. no complaints! if you get a great deal, dont hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: get a remodeled king if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We really appreciate your nice review of the Georgian Terrace! Your thorough compliments and detailed comments on the condition of the property give other readers a great visual for imagining what a stay would be like here. I apologize for the pool temperature. It is heated to room temperature but on very cold days, being outside on the roof, it is very difficult to feel the warmth. Our engineering team is looking into how they can improve the conditions on very cold days.It would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time you travel to Atlanta, and thank you again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a lot of charm. My husband and I decided to spent valentines night at the Georgian and I was very impressed. Not only are the staff friendly and attentive but they were very knowledgeable about the restaurants and sites in the area. The concierge is fantastic. We had reserved a standard room but Ivy at the Front Desk kindly gave us a complimentary upgrade because she thought the standard room would be too small for us. We dined at the Livingston and it was one of the best meals we have had in a while. Too bad we didn't get to see the pool area as it as too cold up on the roof.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Address: 659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.