We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I gave it two tries; will not give three” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Georgian Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book and Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I gave it two tries; will not give three”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was my second visit to The Georgian Terrace Hotel. lt will be my last. Being from Atlanta, I so want this place to measure up to its heritage. Sitting directly across the street from the Fox Theatre with its beautiful facade, it should be a warm and inviting trip back to the old South. It is not. The front desk employees are rude and insensitive and only one of the gentlemen out front seemed to understand that a hotel's primary job is service. Otherwise, no one here seems to understand that.

If you want a large room, the renovated 2 bedroom units are quite large - even include a washer and dryer. That would be great if I was looking for an apartment, but when I visit a hotel I want service and more service. I want to be made to feel special. This place just doesn't offer that.The unfriendliness of the employees still amazes me one week later.

The restaurant is equally as uninviting. We were running 10 minutes late for our reservations. When I called to tell them that, they told me they would make no promises that my table would be available unless I arrived on time. Have they ever driven down Peachtree Street? We were doing our best and I had the respect to call and let them know we were running a few minutes late; they didn't have the respect to honor my reservation.

The price is good for the size of the room. But unfortunately, size is not always the most important factor in choosing a hotel room.

Room Tip: ALWAYS ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address the areas where we fell short and prevent such service failures reoccurring in the future. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you were caused. Again we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    262
    121
    100
    93
See reviews for
184
241
61
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ball Ground, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were very impressed with the staff, the restaurant, the layout, and the amenities of the hotel. The place has lots of history but isn’t old and stuffy. We plan to go again and see a show at the Fox Theater across the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Contemporary re-designed hotel in a classic architecture building. Very pleasant looking. Confortable and great atmosphere.

However, this hotel deserves much better that the actual manager.
1) Room amenities are minimal.
2) Some towels were missing some days.
3) A/C deck system just in front of the window is not "helping" for a quiete night.
4) After "a vomit accident" during saturday night in the elevator, odor was still present and really annoying all the day. (why to organise a noisy private party in the hotel bar when plenty of rooms are booked for a business conference ?)
5) some dirt in the corridor have been cleaned for couple of days.
6) cocktail menu in the bar (really nice looking bar, contemporary) is poor.
7) Incompetent frontdesk both day & night. Unfriendly valet service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We rely heavily on suggestions for improvement from our guests like you, in order to aggressively work at cultivating a more positive experience for our visitors. We apologize for your inconvenience and will use your comments to address each of the areas you mentioned. We hope that you'll be willing to visit for a return trip. If we do have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to our staff for anything you need, as we would be happy to serve you and make your next visit a positive experience.

Thank you again; we truly hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is well located, the staff at the front door are plentiful and friendly and the concierge is good, as is the WiFi.

On the negatives, the room service is poor and expensive. There was no cutlery in our 2 bedroom apartment (you pay 25 dollars extra to get the cutlery put in the room). The valet parking is 30 dollars and self parking is 25. The room we had was spacious but needs a serious makeover / facelift. The linen was also low quality / threadbare and some items had holes. Pool is outdoor and unheated so not useful in winter.

We had no issues with security but heeded the advice not to walk south of North Ave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and suggestions with our team here at the Georgian Terrace. Because we are a historic property, we rely heavily on guests like you to help us determine the improvements we'll be making to the property during renovation periods. We have undergone a few so far, and will continue with improvements in various spaces in the future. That said, we are definitely always working to better the amenities and cultivate a more positive experience for our visitors. The suggested adjustments have been noted and added to our renovations.
We hope that you'll be willing to come back for another visit, and see that your recommendations have been applied! Thank you again; we would love to see you for a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Generally a good experience, an historic hotel at a nice location and staff that provides a friendly professional service.

The concierge Brent was exceptional and provided us with world class assistance, guidance and insight. He went out of his way to make our stay pleasant, and contributed much to my positive view of the hotel. I will definitely be back

I liked the;
location of the hotel close to many nice restaurants, The Fox Theatre, Marta.
size of the room - a suite with separate lounge and kitchen
friendliness of the staff and valet
very elegant bar ( music can be too loud )
restaurant ( Livingstone) great dinner time menu

I did not like;
very very slow lifts I ended up taking the stairs
room although big and airy very outdated
no crockery / cutlery in kitchen
the street noise but it did not disturb my sleep ( my room faced Peachtree street)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank so much for the kind words about our Concierge. We are very proud of Brent and can confidently say that he is one of the best concierges the city has to offer. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we wanted to be directly across the street from the Fox Theater, attending the Chris Tucker Show. I must say that this hotel is beautiful, the staff was great and the food was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Frankly, I booked with trepidation. We typically stay at the wonderful Ritz Carlton in Buckhead and hdave no complaints except for its distance from Mid-Town. However, we were attending a performance at the Shakespeare Tavern 2 blocks away and had business at Georgia Tech, and well...the proximity over-rode my concerns. But judging by the tips from the various negative reviews, we had everything going against us: late check-in, booked through expedia, had "standard" rooms etc AND were arriving with a huge van that needs special parkin arrangements that often daunt even the finest big city hotels we have frequented. So, based on all this combined with the aforementioned spotty reviews, we very nearly cancelled- not once but twice.

I'm so glad we didn't! We had an absolutely lovely stay. No problem with anything. Valet-parking was fast and took care of our monster van-even bringing it up twicw-no charge-for us to get stuff out of it late at night. The staff was gracious beyond measure. Check-in was seamless. For a very small fee, we upgraded to a larger 3 bedroom suite and kept one stamdard room-and they were both very, very nice! Elevators-no problem. Bellmen, pleasant and accommodating. Maybe they felt sorry for us arriving so late with a bunch of children, but theybwere all great.Room service-twice- fast, efficient, delicious-a particularly excellent supper at a reasonable price (sauteed oyster mushrooms were fabulous). Even the coffee-often the downfall of the best hotels where it usually teeters somewhere between Horrible and Barely Palatable- was decent.

The hotel has class and personality. It is not opulent. The bedrooms we had were clean and nicely appointed-not Mario Buatta-fied with decor covering every inch-some might even call it "spare"-but classic and dignified. Definitely not trendy, maybe even a little frayed at the edges as would befit a Grand Old Lady-but very nice, very comfortable. Excedingly spacious living space, high ceilings (compared to many hotels) and cheery. bathrooms not huge, not loaded with marble, but great water pressure and lots of hot water- and yes, adequate towels and shampoo/conditioner. Beds were very comfortable, pillows just right. Some city noise but-surprise-you are, afterall in a city- and it wasnt any more intrusuve than I've experienced in many 5star hotels elsewhere. heating was perfect. Everything worked great.

...And all this at a fraction of the expense of the Ritz! We love you, Ritz Carlton, but there's a NOT so "New Kid in (Mid-) Town" for us from here on out...The Georgian Terrace will be getting our comeback business when we are in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Address: 659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#21 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#52 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.