We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for a weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Georgian Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book and Save 15%
Ranked #53 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Ball Ground, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice for a weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were very impressed with the staff, the restaurant, the layout, and the amenities of the hotel. The place has lots of history but isn’t old and stuffy. We plan to go again and see a show at the Fox Theater across the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    254
    122
    100
    91
See reviews for
173
228
60
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Contemporary re-designed hotel in a classic architecture building. Very pleasant looking. Confortable and great atmosphere.

However, this hotel deserves much better that the actual manager.
1) Room amenities are minimal.
2) Some towels were missing some days.
3) A/C deck system just in front of the window is not "helping" for a quiete night.
4) After "a vomit accident" during saturday night in the elevator, odor was still present and really annoying all the day. (why to organise a noisy private party in the hotel bar when plenty of rooms are booked for a business conference ?)
5) some dirt in the corridor have been cleaned for couple of days.
6) cocktail menu in the bar (really nice looking bar, contemporary) is poor.
7) Incompetent frontdesk both day & night. Unfriendly valet service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We rely heavily on suggestions for improvement from our guests like you, in order to aggressively work at cultivating a more positive experience for our visitors. We apologize for your inconvenience and will use your comments to address each of the areas you mentioned. We hope that you'll be willing to visit for a return trip. If we do have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to our staff for anything you need, as we would be happy to serve you and make your next visit a positive experience.

Thank you again; we truly hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is well located, the staff at the front door are plentiful and friendly and the concierge is good, as is the WiFi.

On the negatives, the room service is poor and expensive. There was no cutlery in our 2 bedroom apartment (you pay 25 dollars extra to get the cutlery put in the room). The valet parking is 30 dollars and self parking is 25. The room we had was spacious but needs a serious makeover / facelift. The linen was also low quality / threadbare and some items had holes. Pool is outdoor and unheated so not useful in winter.

We had no issues with security but heeded the advice not to walk south of North Ave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and suggestions with our team here at the Georgian Terrace. Because we are a historic property, we rely heavily on guests like you to help us determine the improvements we'll be making to the property during renovation periods. We have undergone a few so far, and will continue with improvements in various spaces in the future. That said, we are definitely always working to better the amenities and cultivate a more positive experience for our visitors. The suggested adjustments have been noted and added to our renovations.
We hope that you'll be willing to come back for another visit, and see that your recommendations have been applied! Thank you again; we would love to see you for a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Generally a good experience, an historic hotel at a nice location and staff that provides a friendly professional service.

The concierge Brent was exceptional and provided us with world class assistance, guidance and insight. He went out of his way to make our stay pleasant, and contributed much to my positive view of the hotel. I will definitely be back

I liked the;
location of the hotel close to many nice restaurants, The Fox Theatre, Marta.
size of the room - a suite with separate lounge and kitchen
friendliness of the staff and valet
very elegant bar ( music can be too loud )
restaurant ( Livingstone) great dinner time menu

I did not like;
very very slow lifts I ended up taking the stairs
room although big and airy very outdated
no crockery / cutlery in kitchen
the street noise but it did not disturb my sleep ( my room faced Peachtree street)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank so much for the kind words about our Concierge. We are very proud of Brent and can confidently say that he is one of the best concierges the city has to offer. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we wanted to be directly across the street from the Fox Theater, attending the Chris Tucker Show. I must say that this hotel is beautiful, the staff was great and the food was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Frankly, I booked with trepidation. We typically stay at the wonderful Ritz Carlton in Buckhead and hdave no complaints except for its distance from Mid-Town. However, we were attending a performance at the Shakespeare Tavern 2 blocks away and had business at Georgia Tech, and well...the proximity over-rode my concerns. But judging by the tips from the various negative reviews, we had everything going against us: late check-in, booked through expedia, had "standard" rooms etc AND were arriving with a huge van that needs special parkin arrangements that often daunt even the finest big city hotels we have frequented. So, based on all this combined with the aforementioned spotty reviews, we very nearly cancelled- not once but twice.

I'm so glad we didn't! We had an absolutely lovely stay. No problem with anything. Valet-parking was fast and took care of our monster van-even bringing it up twicw-no charge-for us to get stuff out of it late at night. The staff was gracious beyond measure. Check-in was seamless. For a very small fee, we upgraded to a larger 3 bedroom suite and kept one stamdard room-and they were both very, very nice! Elevators-no problem. Bellmen, pleasant and accommodating. Maybe they felt sorry for us arriving so late with a bunch of children, but theybwere all great.Room service-twice- fast, efficient, delicious-a particularly excellent supper at a reasonable price (sauteed oyster mushrooms were fabulous). Even the coffee-often the downfall of the best hotels where it usually teeters somewhere between Horrible and Barely Palatable- was decent.

The hotel has class and personality. It is not opulent. The bedrooms we had were clean and nicely appointed-not Mario Buatta-fied with decor covering every inch-some might even call it "spare"-but classic and dignified. Definitely not trendy, maybe even a little frayed at the edges as would befit a Grand Old Lady-but very nice, very comfortable. Excedingly spacious living space, high ceilings (compared to many hotels) and cheery. bathrooms not huge, not loaded with marble, but great water pressure and lots of hot water- and yes, adequate towels and shampoo/conditioner. Beds were very comfortable, pillows just right. Some city noise but-surprise-you are, afterall in a city- and it wasnt any more intrusuve than I've experienced in many 5star hotels elsewhere. heating was perfect. Everything worked great.

...And all this at a fraction of the expense of the Ritz! We love you, Ritz Carlton, but there's a NOT so "New Kid in (Mid-) Town" for us from here on out...The Georgian Terrace will be getting our comeback business when we are in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked this notel for a week-long stay then read some of the reviews here and wondered if I would regret it. In the event we didn't. We had an eleventh-floor suite with two bedrooms. It was quiet and everything worked in the room. The elevator replacement is now complete and we had no trouble getting up and down. Despite a wedding in the hotel and a Thanksgiving party, our sleep was not disturbed. We would stay here again - but I could understand that some rooms have not been upgraded so we may have been lucky. Really good location but if you arrive when the Fox Theatre is busy you could have trouble finding a parking space. There's a few nearby parking lots that are a deal cheaper. The cafe is not the best with no indoor seating, though the coffee and pastries are fine.

Room Tip: Wings are better than the central block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#14 of 189 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#34 of 189 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Mid-range, Char...
Show More
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 189 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Luxury, Charmin...
Show More
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
Crowne Plaza Atlanta - Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Address: 659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#52 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Preferred Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.