We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY / GREAT CONCIERGE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 189 Hotels in Atlanta
Helsinki
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY / GREAT CONCIERGE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Generally a good experience, an historic hotel at a nice location and staff that provides a friendly professional service.

The concierge Brent was exceptional and provided us with world class assistance, guidance and insight. He went out of his way to make our stay pleasant, and contributed much to my positive view of the hotel. I will definitely be back

I liked the;
location of the hotel close to many nice restaurants, The Fox Theatre, Marta.
size of the room - a suite with separate lounge and kitchen
friendliness of the staff and valet
very elegant bar ( music can be too loud )
restaurant ( Livingstone) great dinner time menu

I did not like;
very very slow lifts I ended up taking the stairs
room although big and airy very outdated
no crockery / cutlery in kitchen
the street noise but it did not disturb my sleep ( my room faced Peachtree street)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank so much for the kind words about our Concierge. We are very proud of Brent and can confidently say that he is one of the best concierges the city has to offer. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    289
    132
    105
    97
See reviews for
199
272
63
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we wanted to be directly across the street from the Fox Theater, attending the Chris Tucker Show. I must say that this hotel is beautiful, the staff was great and the food was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Frankly, I booked with trepidation. We typically stay at the wonderful Ritz Carlton in Buckhead and hdave no complaints except for its distance from Mid-Town. However, we were attending a performance at the Shakespeare Tavern 2 blocks away and had business at Georgia Tech, and well...the proximity over-rode my concerns. But judging by the tips from the various negative reviews, we had everything going against us: late check-in, booked through expedia, had "standard" rooms etc AND were arriving with a huge van that needs special parkin arrangements that often daunt even the finest big city hotels we have frequented. So, based on all this combined with the aforementioned spotty reviews, we very nearly cancelled- not once but twice.

I'm so glad we didn't! We had an absolutely lovely stay. No problem with anything. Valet-parking was fast and took care of our monster van-even bringing it up twicw-no charge-for us to get stuff out of it late at night. The staff was gracious beyond measure. Check-in was seamless. For a very small fee, we upgraded to a larger 3 bedroom suite and kept one stamdard room-and they were both very, very nice! Elevators-no problem. Bellmen, pleasant and accommodating. Maybe they felt sorry for us arriving so late with a bunch of children, but theybwere all great.Room service-twice- fast, efficient, delicious-a particularly excellent supper at a reasonable price (sauteed oyster mushrooms were fabulous). Even the coffee-often the downfall of the best hotels where it usually teeters somewhere between Horrible and Barely Palatable- was decent.

The hotel has class and personality. It is not opulent. The bedrooms we had were clean and nicely appointed-not Mario Buatta-fied with decor covering every inch-some might even call it "spare"-but classic and dignified. Definitely not trendy, maybe even a little frayed at the edges as would befit a Grand Old Lady-but very nice, very comfortable. Excedingly spacious living space, high ceilings (compared to many hotels) and cheery. bathrooms not huge, not loaded with marble, but great water pressure and lots of hot water- and yes, adequate towels and shampoo/conditioner. Beds were very comfortable, pillows just right. Some city noise but-surprise-you are, afterall in a city- and it wasnt any more intrusuve than I've experienced in many 5star hotels elsewhere. heating was perfect. Everything worked great.

...And all this at a fraction of the expense of the Ritz! We love you, Ritz Carlton, but there's a NOT so "New Kid in (Mid-) Town" for us from here on out...The Georgian Terrace will be getting our comeback business when we are in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked this notel for a week-long stay then read some of the reviews here and wondered if I would regret it. In the event we didn't. We had an eleventh-floor suite with two bedrooms. It was quiet and everything worked in the room. The elevator replacement is now complete and we had no trouble getting up and down. Despite a wedding in the hotel and a Thanksgiving party, our sleep was not disturbed. We would stay here again - but I could understand that some rooms have not been upgraded so we may have been lucky. Really good location but if you arrive when the Fox Theatre is busy you could have trouble finding a parking space. There's a few nearby parking lots that are a deal cheaper. The cafe is not the best with no indoor seating, though the coffee and pastries are fine.

Room Tip: Wings are better than the central block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a lovely property - clearly a converted apartment building and the conversion has been first-rate. Large, large rooms, lovely amenities, inviting common areas and excellent on-site restaurants. The location is terrific for accessing lots of inviting restaurants as well as the rest of the city (MARTA is only about a block away).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at The Georgian Terrace. Bellman Anthony, in addition to all staff members went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect. Will certainly encourage friends & family to stay here when they are in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I were in town on business but were planning to stay over for a couple of extra days. My husband's business contact had prepaid for a room for two nights, and then we were planning to pay for the remainder of our trip. We arrived after midnight for a late checkin, but we had informed the staff of our late arrival. As we arrived, the parking situation was tough as several people were exiting the hotel (maybe after a party had ended). The valets were swamped, so we did not wait. We found a place to park our car, out of the way, then entered the hotel to check in. We found our way to the room with only one working elevator and plenty of unsavory types loitering around the lobby. As we walked down the corridor to our room, several people loitered in the hallways, with open doorways, showing large parties occurring in several of the rooms we passed. We made it to our room, which had not been updated since the 1980s. The room had a full kitchen, living room, dining area and two bedrooms. Space was the ONLY thing this room had in its favor. The bathroom was so dark, I really couldn't tell if it was diry or really, really dirty. The larger of the bedrooms had one small lamp, so again I could not determine if it was dirty or really, really dirty. We asked to be moved, which was frowned upon, I suppose. We were offered a smaller room which had been updated, so we readily took it. After traipsing through this hotel, viewing more unsavory characters in the hallways, leaning out of open suites, etc., we made it to the smaller room. Nice enough room but the sound of the air conditioners outside were so loud we knew we wouldn't be able to sleep. Finally, we asked for the original room back because at least it was quiet. We went outside to valet our car, and the head valet yelled at my husband and me for leaving our car. We apologized profusely, explaining no one was available at the time. He continued to yell at us, some in a foreign language, and claimed the tow truck was less than five minutes away. He followed us to our car, continuing to yell at us. By this time, I'd had enough of the irate and rude staff members, old rundown hotel, and scary looking people loitering everywhere. I went inside, turned in our keys, retrieved our personal belongings and told the front desk we would not be back. They tritely informed us that our rooms were prepaid and a refund would not be given. I told them I could have cared less. We happily left that horrible hotel and will not return. It is a historic hotel, with a beautiful lobby, but the rooms are run down, and the hotel appears to be party central. On the bright side, we found the Ellis Hotel in downtown Atlanta, which was a very pleasant experience. I do not understand any positive reviews of this rundown property. Please do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Address: 659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#37 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.