We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shellmont Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shellmont Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Shellmont Inn Bed and Breakfast
821 Piedmont Ave NE,, Atlanta, GA 30308-1410 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Gourmet Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tallahassee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing, memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Warm and inviting are the best words with which to describe the innkeepers, Ed and Debbie. Ed wouldn't let us carry our own bags when we checked out. Debbie joined us every day at breakfast and brought us up to speed on local events and things to do. Restaurant recommendations were right on target. The bed was comfy and we enjoyed our seclusion. Location was perfect---near a main street, but off the beaten path. Secure off-street parking in a locked garage. Can't wait to return to enjoy the luxury and the warm reception. Great b&b!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
65
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
gainesville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Wonderful hosts! Beautiful Inn. Great service. Delicious food. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed here for a conference. The Inn is less than five minutes from the Peachtree Center complex of hotels. The house is charming with superior amenities and the inn keepers welcoming, relaxed and attentive. The breakfast was delicious and the thoughtful little extras really added to the experience. We will definitely be back & I have alreeady recommended the Inn to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

My daughter and I stayed for three nights in this charmingly beautiful Victorian inn. The room was very quiet, comfortable and the bathroom spacious and modern for a bed and breakfast. The tiny but functional garage was a real plus to help us feel secure about purchases left in the car at night. They truly had paid attention to every detail and it was a most pleasing experience.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Debbie and Ed are gracious hosts. They were more than friendly. We really enjoyed the conversations and the breakfast was delicious! The inn is beautifully restored and close to downtown and all the attractions. We would recommend this inn for families as well as business travelers. The hospitality, recommendations for food and entertainment as well as the atmosphere cannot be matched.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

I would recommend the Shellmont to fellow travelers. The Shellmont felt like a home away from home. The outdoor gardens, water features and sitting areas made mornings a pleasure to wake up and enjoy.
Ed and Debbie were terrific hosts.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Debbie is a perfect host and offers lots of advice for restaurants, places to visit etc. She is an excellent "listener" and seems genuinely interested in her guests. Ask her for advice and it will be good!
Ed is the "strong silent type" and simply gets on with the daily chores but that ensures that guests are fully accommodated.
I definitely would recommend the Shellmont to any trravellers visiting Atlanta - perfect hosts and location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shellmont Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shellmont Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 821 Piedmont Ave NE,, Atlanta, GA 30308-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shellmont Inn Bed and Breakfast is a City of Atlanta Landmark Building offering all the luxurious amenities and personal service found in a boutique hotel. Pleasure travelers find our inn an Urban Oasis to return to after a day of sightseeing. Business travelers enjoy our convenient location and business amentities. Indulge in a breakfast of Fresh Fruit and one of Shellmont's Specialty Dishes and of course Homemade Bread or Coffee Cake. Afternoon Treats. Our convenient Midtown location is near wonderful restaurants, Fox Theatre, High Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Design, Margaret Mitchell House, Atlanta Botanical Garden and Piedmont Park and Georgia Tech. City of Atlanta Landmark Building. Presented the Mayors Award for Adaptive Re-Use and Historic Preservation, Member of Select Registry, Member of Bed & Breakast Diamond Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Shellmont Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shellmont Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.