We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Fourteenth St, Atlanta, GA 30309 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was in and out of Atlanta several times over a months period and each time stayed at the Four Seasons. Rather than write a review for each time, I am including all comments in one review.

The bottom line is that the hotel is good but not great.

The biggest plus was the staff. The doormen were always very friendly, with a warm "Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening". The front desk staff were also quite friendly - especially as they got to know me and were also quite genuine.

The room itself was pretty "neutral". It was nice but nothing spectacular. the bed was very soft and comfortable. In the first room I stayed in, it seemed there was a problem with the thermostat as the room did not get warmer than maybe 66 even though I ended up with the thermostat reading 78. The other rooms I stayed in did not have this same problem.

The bathroom was adequate. It was nice to have a separate bath and shower, but the shower seemed to be a bit of an add-on afterthought. It wasn't very big and the showerhead seemed too large for the space - it was almost impossible to get out of the stream of water in order to lather up. Additionally, although the shower head looked like an adjustable head, you could not change the water pressure (which wasn't very strong). In the first room I stayed in, I noted some mold on the rubber seal of the shower and in the second room I was in it looked like one of the walls did not quite match up to the door and water was getting out of the shower. As a note, I particularly liked the lotion and the shower gel; they did their job and had a nice but not overpowering smell.

One of my pet peeves at higher-end hotels is nickel and diming. I can't honestly understand why four and five star hotels charge for wifi access, but three star hotels don't, particularly taking into account the higher room charge at the higher-end hotels. This was the case here too.

I did not have a chance to utilize the spa or gym so cannot comment on either of those.

I did not eat in the restaurant, although did have room service. Again, the food wasn't bad, but it wasn't at the standard I expected from the Four Seasons (and for the price). The pizza was a bit soggy, an entre salad seemed more like an appetizer.

I did go to the bar and the service was okay but not great. It was quite busy, which may have been a factor, but our group was pretty much left alone and it took some time to even be asked what drinks we wanted. Someone came over only once to see if we needed or wanted anything else. (But when we all stood up to leave, the bill was there extremely fast.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHA-GM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review TpaFlGril. We appreciate your frequent visits over the last month.
We're glad to hear that you found our staff to be warm, genuine and welcoming. They all truly feel their job is to make sure you feel at home while you're with us.
We apologize for the thermostat issue during your first stay and will make sure we check into that further. We appreciate your comments on the bathroom and will keep your experience in mind as we continue to renovate our rooms.

We understand your frustration with the internet charge. The charge is to ensure technology support 24/7. If you were to have a problem we certainly want to have the right expert there to make sure the issue is resolved quickly.

We're sorry to hear that you found room service to be underwhelming. We will continue to strive to for improvement. We want you to enjoy every meal you have with us and we hope you'll visit the restaurant next time you're in town.

Again we truly appreciate your thoughtful comments and will discuss the issues referenced with our team. We hope the next time you visit us you'll find your stay to be not great, but fantastic!!

Thank you,
Dan Normandin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    104
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
74
158
30
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Four Seasons due to its location in Midtown and proximity to many attractions (Woodruff Arts Center, Botanical Gardens, Fox Theater, restaurants etc) . At check in we were offered the opportunity to upgrade to a suite at a reasonable cost. The room was lovely, large,clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the Atlanta skyline. The bedding, toiletries and towels were what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The customer service from the front desk to bellman,valet,restaurant and bar staff was outstanding. The overall experience was most enjoyable and we would definitely stay at the Four Seasons the next time we are in Midtown Atlanta

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHA-GM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us Pollybelle! Thank you for your comments.

We're so pleased to hear that you found both your room and our staff to be welcoming. We strive to not only meet, but exceed, your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you again,
Dan Normandin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My Visit to Atlanta and stay at Four Seasons were a memorable stay. The 50 something storey hotel is best viewed from observation desk at 50th storey, The Check in was pleasant and swift. Food was excellent. Service was warm and courteous. Infact the bell boy was courteous enough to call a taxi everytime we wanted to go around in a short time.

Room Tip: Try staying on the higher floors to get a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I have not stayed with our kids in a four star hotel - ever. I have lovely memories of wonderful hotels before children. I did not expect this to be such a great family experience- boys had a blast- service was exceedingly good- sweet little extra for the boys- comfortable and accommodating room- could not have had a better four day weekend at any hotel. Food was wonderful as well. Def will be back here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHA-GM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for letting us be a part of the family Shellysemrad!

We're so pleased that you, your husband and your boys enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Thanks again,
Dan Normandin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

After an unpleasant experience in Savannah, we cut our Savannah stay short and chose to end our vacation at the Four Seasons. Are we glad we did! The staff was so welcoming, and the facilities were true to Four Seasons standards - large room, comfy bed, well appointed bathroom. The hotel is well located in Mid-town, with a very good Thai restaurant nearby. All in all, a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHA-GM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for your review nubusniesstrvlr!

We're so glad we were able to end your trip on a good note and provide you with a pleasant and comfortable experience.

We hope you'll choose to stay with us again next time you are in Atlanta!

Thanks again!
Dan Normandin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ahhh The Four Seasons is...well...The Four Seasons...THIS ONE IS WORTH THE PRICE!
I had a conference in Atlanta and so we decided to make a "staycation" out of being in the city for two days. We booked at a reduced rate through hotwire and then tipped the front desk. We had a higher floor corner room.
The Atlanta location is hanging on like all high end luxury hotels. The rooms are classic, the decor is simple and elegant, the lounge is cozy and the fitness and spa facility is top notch. Looking with an experienced eye, I could see tiny blemishes that would not have been allowed in its glory days, but the reality of this economy is that even high end luxury hotels can't be perfect. Example: the workout room, pool and spa have a changing area with teak lockers, amenities and bottled water...all included with your stay but I noted that the steam room needed a little TLC in terms of paint and new tile. Make no mistake, I am being ridiculously picky. The indoor pool is a haven with greek statutes and is one of the largest and nicest pools in Atlanta. For you swimmers, the salt water pool is actually long enough to get a real swim workout in.
SERVICE!!! SERVICE!!! SERVICE!!! kudos to management because what really impressed me was the quality customer service. Not only excellent from the moment you arrive, through book in, to the bellman but just every single person was knowlegeable, educated, friendly and genuine. When we asked for a cab to go to a restaurant nearby they suddenly had the hotel's car for us. Water was offered when we got out or in our car at valet. The folks at the bar offerend several dining options and told us about other Four Seasons properties we might want to try. I just had the unending impression that they really get how important the art of good service is to people who have traveled a lot. It just made the stay wonderful.
This property has a higher price tag than most in Atlanta but it was worth it. I have stayed at the Ritz, the Intercontinental and the W. This one beat them all resoundingly due to mastery of customer service.

Room Tip: Book through a discount program and then tip the front desk staff at check in...This has resulted in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHA-GM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your detailed review travelsharkali!
We're so pleased your chose to stay with us and found your accommodations to be comfortable and satisfactory. We take such pride in our providing the highest level of service and are thrilled to know that you felt welcomed and had a wonderful stay.

We hope you'll stay with us again soon.
Thanks again for your kind words!

Sincerely,
Dan Normandin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Even though i live in the Atlanta suburbs, I stayed at this hotel for 1 night due to a company function in town. The tab was, thankfully, picked up by my company. Having never stayed at a Four Seasons Hotel before, having heard all of the great things, and of course, knowing the exceptional reputation, my expectations were definitely set almost as high as they could go. In the end, the hotel fell short. Don't get me wrong.......it certainly is a very nice hotel. Maybe even a great hotel. The entrance with it's marble columns and huge stately stairway straight ahead exhude grandieur from the start. The front desk employee who checked us in was extremely polite, efficient, friendly, informative, and walked us all the way to the elevators. The rooms certainly are nice; spacious, very comfortable bedding, great bathroom with a tub AND separate shower. And the chaise lounge chair with small side table was a nice, relaxing touch to sit back in and read a book or magazine. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent, but very pricey for what you get. Overall, i really don't have any complaints with the hotel at all, other than it is a Four Seasons property, so i was expecting to be "WOW"ed in some way, and never really was completely blown away by anything in particular. While the hotel is in a great location in midtown, walking distance to great restuarants and nightlife, i feel it fell short of my expectations. For the price, i would want more, and feel a customer should get more. I've stayed in hotels that seemed nearly on the same level, and yet they were considerably cheaper. Go there expecting a 'very nice' hotel, and you'll be satisfied. Go there expecting something amazing, and you might be a bit let down......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHA-GM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Jmag1519,

Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and found the staff to be polite and helpful.

We completely agree with your desire to have your expectations exceeded and are disappointed to hear that you weren't satisfied. We are constantly working to improve and we'll keep your review in mind moving forward.

We hope you'll allow another opportunity to WOW you in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Dan Normandin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta

Address: 75 Fourteenth St, Atlanta, GA 30309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#4 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Four Seasons Atlanta
Atlanta Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.