We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Stay, Staff....Hmm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Andrew Young International Boulevard, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #115 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Stay, Staff....Hmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed one night only for the last night of our family's US vacation. (Party of 5 - 3 rooms)
On arrival, check-in went smoothly (or so we thought) we had reserved 2 doubles & a twin and this was shown on the booking but when we got to our rooms we had 3 doubles. (3 of us in one room....) After not believing me that there was only one bed in our room, the lady in reception eventually and reluctantly gave us another room, but not on the Priority Club floor (so what? I couldn't see a difference, other than a bed for our son in this room!)
Settled into our new room, I checked the invoice but the rate was higher than the confirmation email I had. I went back down to reception to query. She told me she had the correct rate and I must be mistaken! Back up to the room to get my laptop and back down to show her the email. Her (IHG) system had added an extra person charge for the 2 single occupancy rooms. This was apparently my fault for not booking correctly online, despite me having the correct details and total amount on my confirmation email! Eventually got it sorted out and a got a voucher for a free drink in the bar for my trouble.
The rest of the stay was uneventful, other than when I went for a late-night walk after the rest of the family had retired and when I returned to the Hotel, someone else was coming out as I was going in, I moved slightly to one side, just as the sliding door closed giving me quite a bang on the head! (I know, clumsy so & so! ) One of the desk staff came running over, "very kind" I thought, but he ran past me to check his sliding door!! Kinda sums up the stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Check your bill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    115
    92
    59
    34
See reviews for
84
59
22
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed there 4 nights in January 2012. OK, this hotel is not the Ritz Carlton but it is a good value hotel extremely well located. You can walk easily to the most famous attractions: Coca Cola World, Georgia Aquarium, Children Museum, CNN Tour, Philipps Arena, Georgia Dome, Georgia World Congress. If you need to go elsewhere you can use MARTA transportation system which is very easy of use for only 2,50$ each way. The room was very clean with comfy bed. Bathroom products were Bath and Body Works which I appreciated. The only 2 bad things I can note are that the phone was not working in my room for my entire stay and the free in room Wi-Fi has very poor connectivity. I would probably stay there again as this is a reasonable hotel, clean and very well located.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view on the Olympic Centennial Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in January 2012. Rates were pretty high, but room was clean and everything was in working order. Guests had to pay $20 additional for parking, and were then expected to tip the valets on top of that, which is always annoying. The location was good. There was a Seasons restaurant inside the hotel but we didn't eat there after seeing that breakfast buffet was $14 per person. Unless they had a weekend with really good rates, I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I made reservations in early november for new years eve. When we arrived, I was informed that my reservations had been canceled .... I showed them my confirmation and just stood there waiting. Finally the lady called the manager over and after complaining about already being in hot water up to her head, she gave us a room. It was very clean and a nice location but a bit of a hassle to check in.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Due to the location, I stayed at this Holiday Inn in December. Out of two elevators, only one of them worked. The rooms were very small with an outdated appearance. I had already booked three other nights for January and decided not to cancel that reservation.

For the January reservation, there was confusion with the check in process and it appears the front desk employees need much better training. On the first night, only one elevator worked! This was unacceptable for a hotel that was near capacity. A few days later, both elevators were broke down. Having an 11th floor room without convenient access does not work out very well. The hotel also ran out of the shampoo they leave in the rooms. The rooms are expensive and parking is $20 per night.

I stay at Holiday Inn hotels over 100 nights per year and this one does not meet the standard I am used to with Holiday Inns. I am actually surprised they are still a Holiday Inn.

Do yourself a favor and stay at one of the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Due to numerous elevator issues, choose a lower floor room. This will save climbing many stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've stayed at this Holiday Inn several times to visit the DragonCon convention that's in downtown Atlanta each Labor Day weekend. It's far more affordable than most of the other hotels in the Peachtree Center area, while still providing clean and comfortable rooms. It's also only a few blocks from most of the downtown sites and the Peachtree Center MARTA station, and I'd suggest taking that to reach the hotel, as the parking fees are large.

This past time, I shared a room with three other adults and their luggage, which made the room feel cramped, but when I've stayed with just one other person, there's been plenty of room.

There was a football game going on in Atlanta the same weekend, and you could hear street noise from the tailgaters and music playing from Centennial Olympic Park. The staff was professional and courteous, and the restaurant is a nice option for lunches or dinners without having to leave the hotel.

I plan to stay at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Our GPS could not find the exact address and the valet stated most cannot but if you follow International Boulevard toward Centennial Olympic Park you can not miss the hotel. The hotel it is across the street from the park and international boulevard turns into a brick drive through the park. Also within walking distance of the Georgia Aquarium and World of Coca Cola. Our room was very clean and spacious. We had a family in a non-smoking room that had to move because of cigarette smoke smell. The hotel was accommodating and move us up several floors. It turns out smokers would stand out on the outside stairway to smoke and talk on their cell phones and the smoke would blow into the room. We could also smell the tail-gate b-b-q in the public parking lot down below before the Falcons game so the rooms are not air tight. The valet staff was very helpful not only parking our car but helping with our luggage cart.
Of note although we did not leave anything of real value in our car we feel someone did look through the map pockets at least. Because the paper work normally stored in the pocket and has never fell out before was not in the pocket when we picked up the car but between the seat and the door. Someone pulled the maps etc. out but when they went to replace it they missed the pocket. We did not notice until we had arrived at the aquarium after checking out. Just food for thought when they say do not leave valuables in valet parked cars.

Room Tip: Nonsmoking room can pick up smoke from smokers on outside stairs. Choose a nonsmoking room away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown

Address: 101 Andrew Young International Boulevard, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown is adjacent to Centennial Olympic Park. Hotel is within walking distance to the Georgia Aquarium, World of Coca-Cola, CNN Center, Philips Arena, the Georgia World Congress Center and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.