We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour

CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour
1 CNN Center, 190 Marietta Street, NW, Atlanta, GA 30348
404 827 2300
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 69 Activities in Atlanta
Type: Tours
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Journey into the heart of CNN Worldwide and get an up-close look at global news in the making! Inside CNN is a 55 minute guided walking tour with exclusive views of Atlanta’s CNN studios and an exciting glimpse of news and broadcasting in action from the world headquarters of the Worldwide Leader in News. Take the Inside CNN VIP Tour for expanded access to CNN’s working studios! The Inside CNN VIP Tour runs daily (except Sunday) and includes a visit to the CNN newsrooms! And on Thursday mornings we’ll take you behind the scenes of HLN's morning show, Morning Express with Robin Meade, on our exclusive Morning Express with Robin Meade Tour. You’ll see the HLN Control Room and go inside HLN’s Studio H to watch a portion of the live broadcast in action!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We did the CNN tour only because we had the CityPass. It was actually pretty cool! The CNN center alone is pretty neat to see. They have a food court with probably 15 restaurants with a big screen showing the CNN broadcast. We enjoyed just exploring that area. The actual tour lasted 55 minutes and seemed to move pretty quickly. You did get to see a few live broadcasts (looking through a glass, not backstage). It was neat to see the "behind the scenes". It is cool to do the tour at least once. I probably would go back to the CNN center again even if it is just to eat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    354
    211
    69
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great overview of the building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved the tour, it was very informative and we had a lot of fun. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. And we met a few on air personalities and learned that Dr Sanjay does indeed eat healthy. Really fun activity.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice must do but poor content”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice to do if you weren't in a studio before. Undortunately not anything to see about the way news is made or what journlists must do to gather news.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm not a CNN fan in particular. We bought a combo attraction ticket for this at the World of Coca-cola. This was surprisingly by far the better attraction. Tour guides are knowledgeable and not hokey. The tour moves at a decent pace, and questions are encouraged. Older children can even enjoy this, though children under 8 would be bored.
The building itself is a great place to eat, shop, and relax.
This attraction is probably overpriced by itself, but well worth it when combined with another one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something to Do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Atlanta seems to be limited in activities, especially if you are in town without a car. You can walk to this attraction from the hotels. I bought a city pass and this was one of the options so I did it. I think if you think about the evolution of broadcasting and CNN's place in history, you might find it a lot more fascinating. The tour guide was outstanding and made it as interactive as possible. They make an effort to involve kids. Our tour might have had a bit more excitement and humor than others as we were all watching the monitors for Prince William and Kate to come out of the hospital with their new baby! There is a lot of security and rules about photography. Also, there are no restroom stops along the way once you are on the tour so plan ahead. I would say that this is something to do while you are there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour also viewed

 

Been to CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.