We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour

CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour
1 CNN Center, 190 Marietta Street, NW, Atlanta, GA 30348
404 827 2300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$74*
and up
Atlanta CityPass
Ranked #25 of 127 Activities in Atlanta
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Journey into the heart of CNN Worldwide and get an up-close look at global news in the making! Inside CNN is a 55 minute guided walking tour with exclusive views of Atlanta’s CNN studios and an exciting glimpse of news and broadcasting in action from the world headquarters of the Worldwide Leader in News. Take the Inside CNN VIP Tour for expanded access to CNN’s working studios! The Inside CNN VIP Tour runs daily (except Sunday) and includes a visit to the CNN newsrooms! And on Thursday mornings we’ll take you behind the scenes of HLN's morning show, Morning Express with Robin Meade, on our exclusive Morning Express with Robin Meade Tour. You’ll see the HLN Control Room and go inside HLN’s Studio H to watch a portion of the live broadcast in action!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fascinating inside view as to what it takes to get the news on the air. Fun lobby for some celeb sightings as well!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    375
    226
    74
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not much to see and too short”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was really looking forward to this but found to pretty boring. Firstly it only lasted 50 mins and about half this time was walking about down corridors between information spots of which there was about 5. You got to look in through a window for a few minutes in on the CNN studio and we did see 2 male presenters one preparing for his part and the other reading from the auto cue for the news show. We looked in on the main office and the CNN international office through glass but that was just a lot of people sitting around staring at screens. A mock up small studio was used to demonstrate the auto cue and the green screen and 2 participants of the group got to have a go but it was a big group so the rest of us just watched. I guess if you are American and hope to catch a glimpse of a celebrity you recognise it might be exciting (though we didn't). One tip if you are going to another attraction in atlanta there is a couple of combo ticket options you can try to cut down the cost. I got the ABC pass for the World of Coke and CNN tour saving $5 or $6 dollars in total. The guide was very friendly and did his best with the material but I found it pretty boring and not worth the money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice tour ... we just picked a bad time to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I had Atlanta City Passes and we planned to spend the day touring the three attractions around Centennial Olympic Park ... park at one place and walk everywhere.

We scheduled our tour for mid-morning. I cannot recall if it is required if you book your tour slot in advance or if it is just suggested. On high-volume days it might be a good idea to book in advance, though when we went in mid December it probably wasn't necessary ... especially since we went on a Sunday morning.

The tour itself wasn't too bad. The guide was very nice and polite and seemed quite informed. I imagine if we had gone on a busier news day we might have seen something happen. Sundays are their slow day ... everything you see televised on CNN on Sunday is previously recorded. The only person we saw working was some guy doing a crossword puzzle ... and this was the weekend after the Connecticut school shooting.

The tour consists of a lot of walking, no seated stops and a lot of stairs. If you have bad knees (like I do) be prepared and either bring a cane, a knee brace or wrap.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell Air Force Base, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Its definitely a good tour for adults to see what goes on behind the scenes. The tour guide was very friendly on my tour we got to see Don Lemon and he was not friendly at all very stuck up but overall it was a fun experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No Anderson, no Piers, no Blitzer, but Definitely an Hour Well Spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This one-hour tour gives you an overview of how CNN works. The tour begins at the top of what is the highest escalator in the world--eight floors, I think--to the outer limits of the workings of the station. We learned about how cameras are focused, how the news is brought in through the cameras and how they're focused, the sister stations, everything, all in apparent real time. We heard conversation going on from the inner rooms ("Gee, that guy's got a good head!" when talking about an interview subject), and there was a small interactive part when they invited someone from the group (a 12- or 13-year-old girl) to read the prompt off the camera (she did quite nicely). Great gift shop as well. The one lost star from this review: They warned you not to chew gum or eat candy--this was largely ignored, and there was no enforcement. Also, folks brought in very young children who got bored and cried, drowning out the guide once or twice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour also viewed

 

Been to CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CNN Center / Inside CNN Studio Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.