We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site

Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site
450 Auburn Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30312 (Old Fourth Ward)
404 331 5190
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Atlanta Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #5 of 326 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Start at the visitor center and then work your way around the three main sites in this historic park: the home in which the leader of the Civil Rights movement in America was born, the church where he preached and the memorial site where he is buried. A major Atlanta attraction, the park draws some 500,000 visitors each year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This entire park is very interesting: His boyhood home, Ebenzier Baptist Church, the museum & the grave. My only surprise was how dirty the reflecting pool was. There was someone cleaning it but it was a bit surprising to see it was not pristine. That seemed a bit disrespectful to the memory of the man.
But, overall, it is worth the time to visit this park and it should not be missed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    291
    85
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quiet Reflection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A positive, educational and interesting experience. The museum is fairly small so the visit doesn't take long. The church, if open, is also worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Less than what I expected for this historic site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

With the impact the Dr. King had, I would have thought the historic site would have been more than what it is. It seemed like the site was less well maintained and didn't convey a connection between the past with the hopes for the future like other sites like the John F. Kennedy Library in Boston, for example. The reflecting pool area where Dr. and Mrs King are buried looked like it is poorly maintained.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
331 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Centre across the road from the house has a wealth of information on MLK and the Civil Rights movement. It's definitely worth a look. It held much more than I could possibly expect. we didn't go into the house he was born in as we were there late in the day but we saw it, which was nice. It was also nice to see the eternal flame burning for him and his tomb.

I wish we'd had more time to check out this area but it was getting dark and I didn't feel particularly safe in the general area. If you're planning on checking this out, make sure you do, but go earlier in the day!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mlk Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The history and the memories it brought back. Picturing what it must have been like to have been there in those days. Trying to picture on the people on the street the day of the funeral. I remember seeing Martin Luther King not to long before he was killed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.