We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit and is free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site

Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site
450 Auburn Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30312 (Old Fourth Ward)
404 331 5190
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #9 of 194 attractions in Atlanta
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Start at the visitor center and then work your way around the three main sites in this historic park: the home in which the leader of the Civil Rights movement in America was born, the church where he preached and the memorial site where he is buried. A major Atlanta attraction, the park draws some 500,000 visitors each year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit and is free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great historic site with a small museum, church and burial site. Try to take the Marta to the site as we took a bus and had to walk through one of the main streets which are a but run down and not that nice to walk through. We didn't manage to see the house he grew up in but definitely worth the visit if in Atlanta!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    216
    70
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Atlanta MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are visiting ATL you really want to try to see this historic site! I was visiting for a work trip and only had a short window to fit in something on my personal time. All the information for visiting is on the national parks site. I parked at the national historic site and museum which has a huge visitor parking lot. You get the tickets (free but first come first serve) for the tour at the old fire house just accross the street. The home is amazing and the Rangers who give the tours share some truely wonderful stories. I enjoyed hearing some additional stories offered by ATL locals who were in my tour group as well. I am a younger female and generally cautious about going out alone when I'm traveling to new cities but this was incredibly easy for me to do on my own and I am so happy that I did! You can't take any pictures in the home but I certainly will never forget it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hephzibah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was mind boggling and so informative. There was nothing I did not like just know that you have pay to see the inside of the birth home and fire station. I would go again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Life is but a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was amazing to see how much Dr. Martin Luther King had accomplished in his 39 years of life. Sitting inside the Ebenizer Baptist church where he was co-pastor with his father and where he was groomed for public speaking gave us an honor that is hard to describe. Reading about the principles that governed his life's mission was amazing. It was very quiet and peaceful and well worth our visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, tn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a great learning opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The "Beloved Community" offers a wonderful opportunity to learn more about the life to Martin Luther King Jr. and the civil rights movement as a whole.
Take the time to visit the actual center and watch the opening video and take advantage of the interactive exhibits. Grab the tour of the home and fire station.
My new favorite part is visiting the original Ebeneezer Baptist Church that is now open to the public.I also make sure my schedule allows a visit to the current Ebeneezer Church for one of their two Sunday services.
Don't miss the mural, the eternal flame, and the reflecting pool that surrounds the tomb of MLK.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site to your Saves list