We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site

Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site
450 Auburn Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30312 (Old Fourth Ward)
404 331 5190
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #9 of 194 attractions in Atlanta
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Start at the visitor center and then work your way around the three main sites in this historic park: the home in which the leader of the Civil Rights movement in America was born, the church where he preached and the memorial site where he is buried. A major Atlanta attraction, the park draws some 500,000 visitors each year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Other than the site itself, there isn't all that much to see/do, but what displays that are there are special. It was inspirational just hear/see video, photos etc. of Dr. King. Couple this with the nearby Carter Museum and it makes for an interesting/informative half day of historical site seeing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    216
    70
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tear Jerking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited the MLK Historic Site on my very recent visit to Atlanta. I took the MARTA to the King Memorial Station and walked to the Site. The walk was not long at all. I was touched by the artifacts such as his clothing, shoes, bible, etc. I felt like I was actually placed in that time/era. I could envision his struggle and feel his pain and that felt by so many African Americans during that time. It was overwhelming and brought tears to my eyes. My 8yr old son enjoyed the visit and was fascinated by the carriage that carried MLK's casket. We were both touched by the letters from so many children to the family after his death. It's hard to believe that entry to the King Ctre, Ebenzer Baptist Church as well as the tour of his Birth Home are all free. This is a MUST on your visit to Atlana. A trip here is a History lesson that no textbook in the classroom can ever thoroughly cover.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It didn't take a great deal of time. I hadn't been back since Dr. King, Sr. was alive. Took an international visitor and she loved it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“touchy speech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

a must to see when in Atlanta not to missed..the history..the info about his life..the park did an excellent job renovating the place

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A must visit when you travel to Atlanta. Easy to locate, parking is all around the site. Lots of information, pictures and actual items that belonged to Dr. King. I suggest everyone visits at least once, but you'll want to go back repeatedly. You can walk to his Birth home and the old Ebenezar Baptist Church where he preached.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site to your Saves list