We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start your Atlanta vacation here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta History Center

Atlanta History Center
130 W Paces Ferry Rd NW, 10 St Nw, Atlanta, GA 30305
+1 404-814-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$74*
and up
Atlanta CityPass
Ranked #6 of 143 Attractions in Atlanta
Type: History Museums, Gardens, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over the next year, we will be expanding and improving the main museum entrance and admissions area, including the addition of a new cafe and gift shop, all set to open Summer 2015. In the meantime, history is still happening here! During construction: The West Paces Ferry Road entrance will be closed to vehicular traffic. Guests should enter the History Center from Andrews Drive (3299 Andrews Drive NW). The admissions desk and museum gift shop will be temporarily located inside McElreath Hall. The AHC's exhibits, historic houses, and gardens will remain open 7 days a week, and our monthly programming will continue as usual during construction. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we work to improve the Atlanta History Center. The Atlanta History Museum is located at the Atlanta History Center. The Atlanta History Center also features the Swan House mansion, Smith Family Farm, the Margaret Mitchell House, the Centennial Olympic Games Museum, and five permanent exhibitions.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Start your Atlanta vacation here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This museum was great. The Civil War exhibit was amazing. My daughter loved the Swan House the best. The grounds are gorgeous at this whole museum. As an added bonus, you receive free tickets to the Margaret Mitchell House Museum. After many trips to Atlanta, this was my first trip to the Atlanta History Museum and I think it's the best way to start off a vacation in Atlanta.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Front Office Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
WOW! Thanks for your great review. We hope you will continue to visit us for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    176
    37
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Visited on a Monday morning on July. Overall this is an excellent, well interpreted museum. The Centennial Olympic gallery was colorful and provided an excellent overview of the 1996 games. I would've liked to have seen a little more on the iconic events of that game such as Kerri Strug and the bombing. The Civil War gallery was outstanding with a nice mix of artifacts and realistic displays. If you take the time to read and watch the videos you may learn something you didn't know about the war.
Two complaints. First, many of the technology components didn't work. The computer screens weren't even on for most of the interactive displays. Several of the audio wands were also out of service. This is totally in your control and needs to be addressed. The second is not completely in the control of the center. A large group of young teens descended on us from the Y. They were loud, rude and had absolutely no interest in the museum. They basically came through, disturbed everyone in their path and mercifully quickly moved on. As a teacher I found their behavior to be offensive and uncalled for. I think when groups like that come through they need to be escorted by a docent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to visit the Atlanta History Center. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the majority of your visit. We appreciate your review. I've taken your feedback and have sent it to the appropriate staff members here. Thank you for helping to make the Atlanta History Center a better place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I really enjoyed this part of our trip to Atlanta! There is so much to see...the museum is excellent, although I was disappointed that the Civil War wing was closed because PBS was filming, but there were still plenty of things to see. The houses are GREAT...authentic and beautifully kept, and the trails and gardens beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit the Atlanta History Center. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed spending time with us. I'm sorry you didn't get to see our Civil War gallery. Hopefully you will be able to come back again another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is really fantastic place to visit --great for families or adults. We have brought a variety of visiting relatives here --and they always enjoy our visit. Lots of interesting information --not at all boring. You will see the civil war in a new light. Great experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your continued support! We appreciate the kind review. Please come back to visit (with guests) again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have come to Atlanta for years and recently went to this museum. We loved it! The outdoors areas are well kept and informative.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We hope you are able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlanta History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.