We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta History Center

Atlanta History Center
130 W Paces Ferry Rd NW, 10 St Nw, Atlanta, GA 30305
+1 404-814-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Atlanta History Center like an insider
Special Offer
$79*
and up
Atlanta CityPass
Ranked #13 of 327 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over the next year, we will be expanding and improving the main museum entrance and admissions area, including the addition of a new cafe and gift shop, all set to open Summer 2015. In the meantime, history is still happening here! During construction: The West Paces Ferry Road entrance will be closed to vehicular traffic. Guests should enter the History Center from Andrews Drive (3299 Andrews Drive NW). The admissions desk and museum gift shop will be temporarily located inside McElreath Hall. The AHC's exhibits, historic houses, and gardens will remain open 7 days a week, and our monthly programming will continue as usual during construction. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we work to improve the Atlanta History Center. The Atlanta History Museum is located at the Atlanta History Center. The Atlanta History Center also features the Swan House mansion, Smith Family Farm, the Margaret Mitchell House, the Centennial Olympic Games Museum, and five permanent exhibitions.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was taken to the Atlanta History Center by a friend, and had not read any reviews. I had low expectations but came away highly impressed. I did not manage to get through everything in a couple of hours but really enjoyed what I did see. The development of Atlanta, though it is a relatively new city, is presented in a very interesting way. The Civil War section though is particularly fascinating - I could have spent much more time there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi IanDogless! Thanks for visiting us all the way from South Africa! We are happy to hear we surpassed your expectations. If you are ever in Atlanta again, we'd love to have you back. Thank you for taking time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    191
    38
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great exhibition on the Civil War”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I like history a lot and this history center does a good job discussing Atlanta's origins and the impact of the Civil War.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi levado656! Thanks for visiting us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the museum and our exhibition, Turning Point: The American Civil War. Come back next year for the Sesquicentennial... we have lots planned. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Living History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you have just a day or two this is a must for history buffs. The Civil War, development of Atlanta and the Olympic Games are all here. Swan House is beautiful and the guides are very knowledgeable. I don't know if there are always period characters at The Smith Farm but they were there when we were and it really added to the experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Atlanta History Center! Thank you for the review. We would love to have you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Pleasant Way to Enjoy an Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Expected a museum and discovered acres of gardens, historic farm and stunning southern manor house that accompanied a very fine museum. Thought the exhibits were exceptional, especially the galleries on the civil war and Atlanta Olympics.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
HI Galooba -

Thank you for visiting the Atlanta History Center. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed spending time on our campus. Thank you for the compliments, we would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford, essex u.k.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We learned so much about the Civil War and there was so much to see. Allow the best part of the day to tour round. Good value for money too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Irenepr -

Thank you for visiting the Atlanta History Center! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Please call on us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlanta History Center also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.