We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allow at least a full day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta History Center

Atlanta History Center
130 W Paces Ferry Rd NW, 10 St Nw, Atlanta, GA 30305 (Buckhead)
404 814 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 194 attractions in Atlanta
Type: History Museums, Gardens
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Atlanta History Museum is located at the Atlanta History Center. The Atlanta History Center also features the Swan House mansion, Tullie Smith farm, the Margaret Mitchell House, the Centennial Olympic Games Museum, and five permanent exhibitions.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Allow at least a full day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautifully done exhibits of the Civil War and the history of Atlanta, also period homes on the grounds behind. I could have spent more than a day here learning about the Civil War!

Note: The Swan House has only stair access to the upper floors, not for those of us with heights anxieties!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    151
    35
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We moved to Atlanta about a year ago. I have visited most of the tourist attractions in the area, but kept deciding to skip the History Center. On Martin Luther King Day the Museum opened its doors for free. I decided this would be a good way to explore the museum with my family and I thought it would just take an hour or two and we would all be bored and ready to go. I was completely wrong! I had no idea how much history is packed into the museum and surrounding grounds. This is an amazing Museum and it is the perfect place for a family outing. You could spend the entire day here, so it is worth the money. I think the value is incredible and we are now considering buy a membership. Looks like you could bring lunch/snacks and eat on the bottom floor near the restaurant or outside on the patio. Wear walking shoes and bring sunscreen, since there is a lot to do outside as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“World-class Attraction in Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Atlanta History Center is a treasure-trove of information and if anything you'll wish you scheduled more time to be there! Between the Swan House, Civil War history and genera Atlanta history alone you could spend a day. There's a Chick-Fil-A as well as the Swan Coach House that you can grab a bite at so you can stay on the campus for the day and soak up all that makes up Atlanta's rich history! They have started doing Party with the Past events around Atlanta, inviting folks to join them at various historic places in the city so make sure to check the events page of the website and follow them on social media!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Liked the Swan house and the farm house and the history center in general. Lunch room closed at 2 and I wanted to try the chik filet sandwich. Many civil war videos and they were well done, explaining what were the objectives of the N & S each year of the war and what actually happened. Needed 3 or 4 hours to see it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to spend hours with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I have an annual membership to take advantage of the various members forums, lectures, and special activities. Also on the same property is a historical research center/library. Ask about affiliated centers throughout the state that honors the membership

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlanta History Center also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlanta History Center to your Saves list