We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3376 Peachtree Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Drive in, Stay Late Offer
Ranked #3 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our suite was awesome, great view from balcony, Staff was awesome, always friendly and accommodating . Bed was very comfy and seemed quiet above the city. The sushi in the bar was great too. Tons of other great places within walking distance. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you! We can't wait to welcome you back!!!

Sincerely,

Robert Lowe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    68
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
190
33
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent 2 nights at Mandarin Oriental in october. The hotel is located in Buckhead, an upscale neighborhood in Atlanta, and the entrance is somehow hidden behind a restaurant. But once you enter the courtyard, you can recongnize the unique features of this place...The building is one of the tallest in the city, but only the first 15 floors are occupied by the hotel. The other floors are private residences. My room was on the 15 th floor, with a wonderful view of the city. The service was excellent, from the way they kept the room clean, to the great breakfast in the restaurant or the signature massage at the spa... overall, a nice experience.

Room Tip: The superior room was smaller, but the bathroom had a good size , quite enough for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your great comments and for sharing your experience with us through TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return soon.

Sincerely,
Robert Lowe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Checked in to the hotel after flight from London. Quick registration , bell boy efficient and friendly. Room service very good and fast. Breakfast excellent and service friendly and efficient. Front desk ( Whitney) helpful on restaurant bookings and sightseeing suggestions. Bruce the hotel chauffeur courteous and helpful in getting us to Marriot Hertz to pick up hire car. Terrace suite is spacious and innovatively laid out with double balcony views. Only problem with room is not enough space for our clothes. We are in The States for 17 nights so have more than just hand luggage! Three nights to go but very pleased we chose the Mandarin. Gym area good.

Room Tip: Terrace suite for spaciousness and ease.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Really enjoyed reading your review. Thank you very much for the compliments to our staff and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return.

Robert Lowe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlatravelsfar
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband brought me here for my birthday. It was simply put 5 Star. We have looked and looked for a Fantastic Spa, Beautiful room, and Great Services......this is it! It was luxury, surrounded by perfectly manicured grounds, and a well trained staff. We had the couples reconnect package.....WONDERFUL!! The couples room, was clean, beautiful, and romantic!!! Both of us got up and said, that was the best massage we had ever had! And that is saying something coming from us, we are kinda picky. The room, spa, everything was perfect. We will be back! And we are so glad to have found this place, AND its right in the middle of ATL!! They will even take you to Lenox mall and pick you up so you don't have to fool with the parking issues there. It just could not have been better! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Room Tip: Hubby upgraded to the king suite, corner, it was AMAZING!!! Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We genuinely love special occasion guests to our hotel and receiving feedback on their experiences. Thank you for your lovely review and for sharing your pictures with TripAdvisor!

Sincerely, Robert Lowe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've visited many hotels across the states but they all pale in comparison to the Mandarin Oriental Atlanta. As previous reviewers have attested to, from the moment you step into the hotel right up until you are ready to leave, the staff spoils you with detailed attentiveness and it seems that they are all there just to spoil you! We cannot praise the hotel facilities, rooms, food and staff enough.
We took and all night flight and were schedule to arrive in the very early morning at the hotel. The front desk had already pre-checked us in and had our luggage that we pre-sent already in the room! Nothing to sign, no hassle with searching for luggage, no nothing! To say the least we welcomed the service and had a nice rest before exploring Atlanta.

Room Tip: We had a two balcony suite facing North on the tenth floor. It was quiet and devoid of any traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for relaying your experience with us regarding your arrival from a long international flight. We recognize how tireing such flights can be, not to mention the early morning or late evening arrivals, so we do everything we can to make the experience at the hotel as comfortable and flawless as possible. Thank you for confirming to us and TripAdvisor readers that we do achieve that mission. Your input is certainly valuable to us all.

Sincerely, Robert Lowe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a disappointing stay at the MO Washington I was a bit nervous about staying at another MO USA property. I love the MO's in Asia and Europe and are generally my pick if they are an option in the city I am heading to.

Well, there was no reason to worry as the MO Atlanta is a fantastic addition to the MO stable. I was warmly welcomed each step of the way (driver at the airport, doorman, reception). I booked a Mandarin King Room and was not disappointed. It is of large size and with lovely modern fittings (see photos). The bathroom is also large and one of the biggest showers I have seen. I did have a noise problem with my first room (there was a party in full swing downstairs and the music could be heard clearly and I was on level 6) but a quick trip to reception solved it with a move to another room. No questions asked, they completely understood - fantastic.

I had breakfast on both days in the one and only restaurant and it was pretty good. I strongly recommend the Eggs Benedict on Crab Cakes - yummo! Service was discreet and warm.

I also had dinner in the same restaurant (the hotel really needs more than one option) and it was good from a service perspective but the ambience is lacking due to the proximity of the bar. I know it is usual to have a TV in a bar in the USA but I really do not need to be able to see or hear it when I am dining. Further the noise from the patrons (and staff) at the bar enjoying the football verged on unbearable. They really need to close the bar off a little more to make dining a quieter experience - or perhaps it is just me.

Overall this was a wonderful stay and if heading back to Atlanta I would choose here and urge you do the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I totally enjoyed reading your review and comments regarding the restaurant. As we only arrived in Atlanta at this hotel as of May, we are still in the process of making wonderful changes and additions that reflect the Mandarin service and culture. Please be assured that you will be pleased as this process moves to completion in the near future. Again, thank you for your wonderful review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely, Robert Lowe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I have yet to stay in a Mandarin that doesn't knock my socks off! I was in Atlanta in May and stayed at St. Regis, which was nice but lacking in service. That rarely happens at St Regis. But Mandarin has gone above and beyond and the hotel is completely booked but you wouldn't know it. Everything is running seamlessly....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We genuinely appreciate your compliments of our hotel. It is extremely exciting for us to be a part of Atlanta and look forward to welcoming you back often. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely, Robert Lowe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta

Address: 3376 Peachtree Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an iconic building designed by celebrated American architect Robert A.M. Stern, Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta soars 42 stories above the Atlanta skyline and offers sophisticated, residential elegance in its 127 spacious rooms and suites. The intimate hotel features a blissful 15,000-square foot spa, indoor lap pool, fitness center, extensive meeting and event space, The Cafe & Bar for exquisite dining and Taipan, serving specialty cocktails. The sought-after Buckhead location is steps away from the region's top dining, chic designer boutiques and cultural attractions. The hotel is 35 minutes from Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and 10 minutes from the DeKalb-Peachtree Airport, which accommodates private aircraft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.