We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca El Abuelo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortes de la Frontera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca El Abuelo
Estacion de Cortes de la Frontera, 29380 Cortes de la Frontera, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed with Polly and Stuart in September 2010 for 4 nights. We had been travelling for awhile and were after a very homely place and we got it. Polly puts such an effort into everything at the B&B - breakfast is amazing, all her recommendations and guides, dinner (the best food we had in Spain), the bar next to the pool, the pool itself. Nothing is too much trouble and we enjoyed our stay and tremendously. Polly and Stuart strike the right mix of assisting you and making you feel at home without being intrusive.
The location is great for Ronda, Jerez, the coast and all the little villages in between. Cortes de la Frontera is also a sweet little town. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

A year or so before we eventually stayed at Finca El Abuelo my wife and I took the scenic train journey from Algeciras to Ronda. We thought "wouldn't it be exciting to stay up in the mountains some time and to travel into Ronda by train, leaving the car behind."

Finca El Abuelo is situated to the south of Ronda and is close to the railway station serving Cortes de la Frontera. After a day in Ronda it was wonderful to come home to Polly's cooking and Stuart's wine selection and his entertaining recollections and stories.
We especially enjoyed Polly's slow-cooked belly pork dinner which looked and tasted delicious. Her kitchen is also beautifully arranged and equipped.

Our four poster bedroom was so snug and comfortable that we overslept each day, - something we never do at home, but on holiday it was a welcome change.

We plan to stay again and to extend our train journeys to Antequera, Loja and Granada, staying overnight in Granada before returning to the peace and quiet of Finca El Abuelo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We spent 2 nights and had a fantastic time. Polly and Stuart were amazing hosts and have done an excellent job at renovating their home. The food provided was some of the best (if not THE best) we sampled in Spain.
Andalucias best kept secret!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

hello Polly and Stuart,
thakx again for our super stay at your persanol hotel for just 4 people. we had a wonderful time. and can recamand it to anyone.
dinner was made with love and care.we loved it.
we loved the quit place, and still you have lot's of things to see or do, if you want it.
a day hanging by the house is not bad either. lovely swimmingpool with soft water.
or just sit on the swing and watch the landscape... i'm missing that!!
all together it feels like home, like a warm house with 2 perfect people with the right feeling for this bisness. super.

we made a walk between to trainstations, did it in the afetnoon, but we remmomend it to to it only in the morning. it was to hot!! and the walk was 3 ours!! well worthtid.

first htey had B&B, but now ou can only book full pension. and we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Andalucia at its best. Polly and Stuart have done there homework on the location and villa. As a travel journalist I would highly recommend Abuelo to anyone seeking the true ambience of Andalucia.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We travelled as two couples from Northern Ireland for a long weekend in April 2010. Our friends (the other couple) had stumbled upon Finca El Abuelo on a previous visit and were so impressed that we had to see for ourselves. We were delighted as it was even better than we could ever have hoped for.

This is not just an excellent B&B, it is so much more than that - the tranquil setting, the tasteful decor and furnishings, the comfort both inside and out along with the superb pool / outdoor kitchen areas all make for a very pleasant stay. However, it was Stuart and Polly's hospitality that sets Finca El Abuelo apart from the rest - their friendliness, attention to detail and determination to ensure that guests have a wonderful time was unrivalled in our experience.

If you stay with Stuart and Polly make sure that you avail as much as possible of their fantastic culinary skills. Dinner was something special and do ask for the slow roasted pork belly - you will not be disappointed. We really look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I were in desperate need of some relaxation when we spent 5 nights with Polly and Stuart. With most week-long holidays you don't really wind down until it's almost time to go home, but we found that within a few hours of arriving we felt like London was a long long way away! The house is beautiful, set in rolling hills with amazing views. Polly's cooking is wonderful and Stuart is great at ensuring the wine bottle is never empty. Despite all this, our holiday really didn't cost very much--lovely bottles of wine at 4-10E each mean you can drink rather a lot of them... and we did!

The next time we're feeling rather stressed and in need of a break I know where we're going...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finca El Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca El Abuelo

Address: Estacion de Cortes de la Frontera, 29380 Cortes de la Frontera, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Cortes de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cortes de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast in our beautifully restored finca. The perfect place for couples to escape, relax & unwind without compromising on comfort. Set in the mountains of Andalucia with panoramic views, an abundance of flowers & wild life in the Sierra de Grazelema & Alcornocales Parque Natural. Surrounded by the 'white villages' hugging the mountainsides & close to the lovely town of Ronda with the spectacular 'El Tajo Gorge' & growing number of vineyards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca El Abuelo Spain/Cortes De La Frontera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca El Abuelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Finca El Abuelo to your Saves list