We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay for lots of reasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molino del Santo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Molino del Santo to your Saves list
Molino del Santo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bda Estacion s/n, 29370 Benaojan, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay for lots of reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I went to stay at this hotel for a week on a yoga holiday. I loved every aspect of it.

We visited the week after the awful floods, the only noticeable effect was the height of the water in the mill race upon which the hotel is set. The hotel itself either escaped unscathed or the staff did a great job of tidying it up.

The room we had was a twin. Both the bed, pillows and linen were fine. The room is very Spanish in design, tiled floor and solid furniture. The bathroom was huge, two sinks and a toilet, a bath and a shower over it which worked well. Toilet with a cancel button to save water, a good feature.

Kettle and makings were provided and of a reasonable standard. We always take our own preference but it's still lovely to have the choice. There is a fridge, stocked with items that you can purchase too although they do work out a bit expensive. The rooms are cleaned everyday and to a good standard.

Outside the room was a small patio area with 2 chairs and an umbrella. Just down from the room were the steps that led to the pool. It's a bit bigger than the usual so possible to swim a few lengths. It wasn't the warmest but it was bearable and a good place to cool off during some very hot weather. Round the pool are a scattering of sunbeds and tables and if you don't want to sit by the water there is a lovely lawned area to one side with more sunbeds, just in earshot of the mill race.

We were on an inclusive tariff but I honestly don't think the food we ate was any different to what was on offer to other guests. Breakfast was a buffet type table with fresh breads, fresh fruits, yoghurts, cooked meat and cakes for those wanting a sweeter start to the day. Best of all though were the jugs of freshly squeezed orange juice, what a delight, I so hate the cartons put out even in 5* hotels. I could almost give the place 5* on this alone. Following our buffet we were offered the choice of something cooked, this varied from local style bacon and eggs to poached eggs, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs with smoked trout. All brought to your table by the smiling and polite staff who work in the hotel. Freshly brewed tea and coffee, wonderful.

Within the hotel are the bar and dining area, a room with big settees and a library of sorts and other nooks and crannies if you explore a little. Toilets are kept clean, the service in reception with English speaking staff is helpful and polite and there is plenty of information on the locale and train service. A bonus is the local craft items, sweets etc.

The food in the restaurant was amazing. You don't get a plate swamped with chips or anything like that at all. The chef creates all sorts of fine food, I suspect that the hotel must do very well out of the restaurant because it is always full. There is plenty of outdoor seating and at lunchtime this is always busy. I can't think of anywhere I have stayed where the food has been so good, so well cooked and tasted divine. The desserts were amazing. The wine seemed very reasonably priced which makes a change.

The hotel is situated in a tiny village which can be accessed by road and which has its own station. Set in a mountainous area, everywhere is uphill at some point so bear this in mind if you aren't too good on your pins. That said, there is a lot to explore, caves, walks along the river, plenty of birds and I imagine plenty of flowers in the spring and summer. Wild mint grows by the river and you can smell this as you walk along. It's lovely walking country with the added bonus of sunshine :o)

We took the train to Ronda. The trains are big and modern complete with drinks machines and bars and didn't seem expensive. They aren't hugely punctual though. You buy a ticket either at the station or on the train.

All in all I loved this place (can you tell :o)) and I would love to go back. It is run by an English couple, Pauline and Andy and their ethos seems to be to provide good service, good food, in the best situation they can. Nothing is too much trouble and it shows. They employ and train local people and are trying to be as ecological as possible. I can heartily recommend this place for a relaxing, comfortable and very pleasant sojourn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    52
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
178
401
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

About 25 years since we first stayed here and we have returned every year (except one) at least once and mostly twice. Think that really sums it up - we feel as if we are part of the 'Molino family'. As a previous reviewer said 'a magical place - even when it rains' Lovely log fire in the guest lounge on chilly days, very comfortable beds, peace and quiet (no TV),attentive hosts, great staff and delicious food make this our favourite bolt hole in Spain.

Room Tip: All we have stayed in have been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Spent 4 nights on a walking holiday. Great value, super food and excellent wine. One day was a total wash out and we just relaxed in the sitting room, reading a book. Not even the incessant rain that day spoiled our enjoyment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montejaque, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although we live just 3 km/2 miles from the Hotel Molino del Santo, we had never stayed there. The cost of a room versus the short drive home meant the latter always won.

Finally, as an anniversary treat, we booked a table in the excellent restaurant, took advantage of the admirable wines, and stayed the night there too. What a fabulous experience!

Yes, our room was superb. Yes, the cleanliness of the room was second to none. And, yes, everything done by the ever-discreet staff was impeccable and helpful. However, it was the overall peaceful pleasure of our brief stay that made us vow to repeat the experience as often as possible. The total absence of extraneous noise - apparently a feature of all the rooms - really embellished our stay.

There is no passing traffic; the last train departs from nearby Benaoján station at around 8:30 p.m. (20:30), and there is no intrusive TV noise from neighbouring rooms because...there are no TVs - a deliberate and eminently sensible, in my opinion at least, on the part of Andy and Pauline, the bilingual British owners who have owned the hotel for 26 years.

For any light sleepers reading this, there are so few trains that a passing locomotive seems a noteworthy event. In any case, the trains that stop at Benaoján also go on to Ronda and Granada in one direction, and to the ferry port of Algeciras in the other, all attractive destinations, and indeed journeys, in their own right for onward travel or day trips

The only non-Spanish person on the 23 staff works in the kitchen (Gordon, the Scottish chef). That doesn´t matter because everyone else that customers are likely have dealings with speak English as a second language. Some have worked there for over 20 years and are greeted by returning guests as long-lost friends.

Room Tip: You are assured of a good night´s sleep in any of the rooms, including the cheapest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

as well as very nice service.

I had lunch at the Molino yesterday with a friend who lives in Benaojan. Salad of deep fried local goats cheese, salad of local chorizo with grilled scallops, fried local broad bacons with local bacon, in other words everything sourced locally!

I live in Gibraltar, and took the 12.00 train from Estacion San Roque (which is 10 minutes drive from the Spanish - Gibraltar frontier) arriving in Benaojan at 1.15. walked up to the Molino, lovely g & t next to the rushing river, followed by this divine lunch. Train back down the mountains, watching the lovely scenery, lambs skipping, storks nesting etc.

I have been going to the Molino for years and always liked it for its' great location, I now plan to return every week just to eat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been to Benaojan many times to walk but this is a first visit to this particular hotel. From the time of our arrival until the time we left we were made most welcome. On the lst evening they had laid on wine tasting night. It was Excellent, we learnt a lot about wine we did not know. Dinner was a set menu that night. Very enjoyable. Food over the 2 days we were there was excellent. Breakfast catered for every nationality. The menu was good. Lots to choose from. The menu is changed on a regular basis, so you won't get bored with the choice.. It is a lovely enviorment to stay in. The staff are excellent. We hope to go back sometime. I would recommend to anyone.
If you like hiking in the country it is a good place to start from.

Room Tip: Every room here has a different style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is situated in a little village near Ronda. It is next to a fast flowing river and as you dine al fresco under cooling trees you can hear the water gurggling past below.

The service is superb, as is the quality and quantity of their food. The menu changes regularly and the food is complimented by a wonderful wine cellar, also at reasonable prices.

It is advisable to book a table to avoid disappointment. It is one of the most enjoyable ways to spend a lazy sunny afternoon, spoiling yourself.

Do not miss this gem.

Roby070

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Molino del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino del Santo

Address: Bda Estacion s/n, 29370 Benaojan, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Benaojan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Molino del Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Molino del Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molino Del Santo Benaojan
Molino Del Santo Hotel Benaojan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molino del Santo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.