We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Molino del Santo

Restaurant Molino del Santo
Bda Estacion | Benaoján, 29370 Benaojan, Spain
00 34 952 16 72 16
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Benaojan
Price range: $21 - $49
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went here on our wedding. Nice place at the river. Very good food. Children plate was very good to. English spoken.
Wen you drive to the place you think your entering a industrial zone. Just follow the sign.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed the food and the river terrace - even after weeks without rain the river never dries up! Children are always welcome here so we always have a varied Children's Menu. See uou soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    32
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“A visit to Heavan on Friday 16 August”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Where do you begin.
Outstanding location. Wonderful atmoshpere. Marvelous staff and service. The food out of this world.
We have visited many restaurants throughout the world. This will stay in our memory for ever.
I would suggest many 5 star restaurants could learn a lot from your standards.
Tonight we will dream of your restaurant, tomorrow the same and the day after that forever.
We will be back and count the days.
J and K

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so very much for your Review - The Team and I are truly delighted by your warm words of appreciation and can't wait to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Its not just me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A small group of expats living in the area give this hotel and the restaurant in particular a huge thumbs up.
We as a group go out for special occasions and often just go out on the thinnest of excuses to meet for a meal. We have now lived here long enough to have tried out most of the eateries more than once and are able to judge like for like, value for value and every time Molino del Santo is in our top two.
Food never lets you down, served with the panache ( my sister knows now, that this is not a type of sauce)of a top class chef, not a cook calling themselves a chef.
The waiting staff are quite delightful,whilst the owners are always nearby to oversee all is well, from the moment we are met and greeted, to the moment we leave, everything is done to to make us happy. It seems their motto must be, give them more than they expected! All this in an informal manner that not everywhere can pull off.
Just go and don't tell me you didn't love it, I wont believe it!
p.s.
How could I forget to mention the riverside setting, crystal clear mountain water thundering down in Spring or prettily tumbling down in the summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Wow...I truly am overwhelmed by your Review. Thank you so much - and so delighted that you have described and appreciated all of the aspects of the Restaurant that we try so hard to promote...and not least the beautiful stream that runs by.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem, excellent taster menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked in for the 5 course taster menu in July on the recommendation of our hosts who had lived in spain for years. When we got off the train we were a little anxious as the village doesn't look like it houses a fantastic hotel....but it does! It's really pretty and looked pretty plush.
We were given a table on the terrace right beside the small river/waterfall and the setting was very romantic.
The food was really unusual and very good indeed. I was unable to eat the dessert due to certain ingredients so they gave me a choice of any other dessert!
My boyfriend chose the pairing wines option but didn't enjoy many of the wines unfortunately, they were however really accommodating and allowed him to swap a dessert wine for another glass of Cava.
Overall it was a fantastic meal and i'd seriously consider staying at the hotel in the future. The location is a great base for visiting towns in Andalucia because of the excellent train line, Rhonda, Algeciras, Granada and many other towns are all accessible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
What a great review - thank you from all of the Team! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the food, the service,the willingness to be flexible and accomodate different tastes - the most important factor is that you enjoy your food and wine! And yes, the setting is so very beautiful thanks to Mother Nature and a little help from our gardeners! See you again we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Superb quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Even if you are not staying at the hotel, the food in the restaurant is well worth a visit. Gordon Brown, the new chef there, is brilliant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Yes, we consider ourselves a Hotel and a Restaurant so you don't have to be a Hotel guest to taste Gordon Brown's "brilliant" cooking. I'm so pleased you and your family enjoyed the food at Molino del Santo - and thank you for taking the time to write a review. See you again soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Molino del Santo also viewed

Benaojan, Province of Malaga
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
 
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
 

Been to Restaurant Molino del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Molino del Santo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.