We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mejorana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grazalema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mejorana
Save
You added La Mejorana to your Saves list
C/ Santa Clara 6, Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grazalema B&B and Inns
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

An extremely comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay in the small town of Grazalema. We had an ensuite room with a sitting area and a view over the valley looking east. We stayed 4 nights- started with 2 then extended as we liked the area so much. A good base for walking combined with local buses - 2 a day each direction so not plentiful but you can manage without a car. A torrential thunderstorm all day kept us indoors for one day, but this was no problem as there was a large comfortable sitting room with an open fire. On warmer days there is a swimming pool to use. Breakfast was included making this small hotel incredibly good value at 58 euros for a double room per night.
In the town there are approx 8 places to eat so plenty of choice. We will go back....

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent a week at La Mejorana in late September. Andres and Ana gave us a wonderful, memorable welcome. Our room was very comfortable, with a good view from the balcony over the pool and down the valley towards Ronda. Andres gave us really good advice on our walks and also on our visits to Zahara and Ronda. He also suggested we should call in to see Clive at the Tourist Information Centre, another very useful tip. La Mejorana is in the upper part of the town, around 10 minutes stroll above the main square. We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace every morning and a cup of tea in the afternoon when we returned from our walks. Well done Andres & Ana, you are both stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, South Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I'd read about this place in a Lonely Planet magazine in 2011. It didn't disappoint. Fantastic views of the mountains. The rooms are cosy and elegant. Breakfast was ample each morning, and the owners give you a great welcome. The decor of the place is extremely authentic and stylish. You could spend all day marvelling at it.

Decent sized pool, hidden away in the garden.

We had hired a car during our travels in Andalucia, and there is parking available near the property, although it was a bit difficult to find at first. The minute you get lost in the winding maze of Grazalema's street, your wing mirrors may be in trouble.

I have extremely fond memories of Grazalema, and I have La Mejorana to thank for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at La Mejorana for 6 nights from 11th June. It was wonderful. Andreas is such a friendly helpful man. We were given lovely walks to do. The room was lovely, and everything was spotless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

La mejorana is called a B & b but was nicer than most small hotels we have stayed in It is small but has a lovely terrace for breakfast and a small pool where we could relax and swim after a days walking
Rooms are a goood size with terrace or balconies

We found it in the lonely planet magazine and would strongly recommend to others

Andres and Ana are extremely friendly and go the extra mile to ensure you have everything you could need

A perfect place to be based for walking in
the Sierra de Grazalema which is stunning

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

La Mejorana in Grazalema was the perfect base for exploring and hiking the Sierra de Grazalema. We spent 3 nights there in May, and Ana was the perfect hostess. She helped us with anything we needed, and provided good tips for hiking trails, restaurants, etc. The view from our room was amazing! Grazalema is a quaint, beautiful town that merits a visit if you'll be in the area.

Traveler's Tip: Driving and, especially, parking in Grazalema is a challenge, to say the least. Purchase the insurance on your rental car, and don't try to park as close as possible. If there is an open spot within reasonable distance, take it! It may be the last free spot you find, especially in the evening

Traveler's Tip #2: Be patient with the permit system for the trails in the national park. Prepare as far in advance as possible, and do not expect to obtain a permit within 24 hours. In fact, if it's the weekend, it may take a few days for you to obtain the permits.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view - the Lavender room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just spent a week staying with Andres and Ana at their lovely home. We were independent walkers visiting Grazalema to see the Spring flowers. They provided us with maps and walking instructions-nothing was too much trouble for them. The 6 rooms are all different (as this is an old building )and comfortable with a seating area or balcony-5 have wonderful views. Breakfast is on the terrace overlooking the swimming pool with the views stretching all around.
The guesthouse is a 5 minute walk down the hill into the village where there is a good choice of bars and restaurants to eat and drink. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mejorana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mejorana

Address: C/ Santa Clara 6, Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grazalema
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
La Mejorana Hotel Grazalema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mejorana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.