We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, peaceful spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mejorana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grazalema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mejorana
Save
You added La Mejorana to your Saves list
C/ Santa Clara 6, Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grazalema B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This B&B surpassed expectations. Tucked away on a quiet street, but still moments from the main square, La Mejorana felt somewhat like a home away from home. Andreas and Ana were welcoming and happy to help out in any way they could. They speak english well. As mentioned by other reviewers, the common areas are lovely (fire going in the fireplace in the living room on cool evenings), the breakfasts are plentiful, and there is WIFI throughout. We had a room with a sitting area and a lovely view and found it a perfect place to be, even on a rainy day. We stayed for 3 nights and were sorry to be moving on.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a sitting area if planning on staying more than a night or so...a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This small hotel is tucked away down the narrow, pretty streets of Grazalema. It has quite an imposing entrance and once through the door you enter a cool, pleasant interior. The ground floor has the public areas including a living room, dining area, breakfast room and terrace.
The rooms are upstairs and are individual and comfortably furnished. There is no television in the room but I didn´t want one anyway. Breakfast on the terrace is lovely if the weather is right and there are good views down towards the town.
The best thing about this hotel is the owners, Andres and Ana who really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. A perfect place to stay if you are in this part of Spain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

A beautiful house with lovely rooms. Good shower, good (free) wi fi, excellent residents lounge.
Perhaps offering a pay laundry service would be a good idea? Most of the guests seemed to be backpackers/walkers and this would certainly be a big plus.

Room Tip: The house is in a quiet location and I think all of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late and requested a room and this was no problem at all for Ana and Andreas the hosts. They run a relaxed bed and breakfast, with beautifully decorated rooms, 4/5 with excellent views. The hosts are very knowledgeable about the area and recommended some hiking routes which were excellent and the best local restaurants. We ended up extending our stay by 2 nights we liked it here so much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

One of the highlights of our month in Spain was the time spent in La Mejorana. Tastefully appointed in time honored Spanish tradition, this delightful B&B consists of six upstairs rooms with spectacular views over the narrow winding streets of a Spanish white town that might easily have existed in medieval times. Whether hiking in the Sierra de Grazalema National Park or settled in a cozy living room before a roaring fire in the massive stone fireplace sampling tempranillo during a rainstorm and telling tall tales with fellow guests, the experience is one not to be missed. Our hostess Ana, was a charming, helpful lady and we appreciated her thoughtfulness, kindness and competence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

La Mejorana is situated in the winding streets of the white village of Grazalema. Ana welcomed us and showed us to a beautiful upstairs room with wonderful views over the valley. Though we planned to hike we had a day of rain so were able to make use of the cosy sitting room with a roaring fire to keep us warm
The room was quiet and comfortable and Ana was always able to help us with any information we required. The house was beautifully decorated and the breakfast provided so sunstantial and delicious.
Grazalema is a most beautiful village and once we were able to get out and walk we were treated to snow covered mpountians and the most amazing views. Make sure you do the drive from Grazelema to Zahara on the most winding but increbible road ever!
We enjoyed a meal at Cadiz y Chicos on the main square with the best tapas we have had in Spain.
Thanks Ana for a wonderful stay at your very special home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of the highlights of our 5 week trip in Spain. The owners are very friendly, speak English well and helpful with information on hiking in the area. We hiked in Sierra de Grazalema National Park for two days. This guest house had detailed information available on the trails that you could take right out of the front door of the hotel. They also had a great living room area with real fire place, lit each night, where you could read and relax. Our room had a fantastic view of the mountains and was beautiful and clean as where the bathrooms. The breakfast, which was included, was also very good. We highly recommend, but there are only 6 rooms so reserve ahead.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mejorana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mejorana

Address: C/ Santa Clara 6, Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grazalema
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
La Mejorana Hotel Grazalema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mejorana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.