We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort style hotel near Grazalema” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Grazalema

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fuerte Grazalema to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baldio de los Alamillos Ctra. A-372, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€88 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grazalema
GreenLeadersGold level
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort style hotel near Grazalema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel overlooks a valley a few kilometers from the pueblo blanco of Grazalema. It is a resort style hotel with pool and a small zoo for children. The rooms have nice views of the valley or are adjacent to the pool. The buffet style meals are competent and varied. The rooms are lovely with nice balconies but sitting down on them one finds the view obscured by the balcony wall. The primary downside of the hotel was the erratic nature of the wi-fi internet accommodation.

Room Tip: The rooms either have a view of the valley or the pool so choose between these according to preferen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    120
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
105
117
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a brilliant stay at this hotel. It may be one of a chain of hotels but was certainly not impersonal; the staff were warm and friendly and provided an excellent service. The rooms are well furnished, comfortable beds with a choice of pillows. The bathrooms are spacious and provide s good bath and shower. The views from the terraces were magnificent, the best we have ever had. There was buffet service for breakfast and dinner but there was the opportunity to have food cooked al la plancha. Bacon and eggs freshly cooked for breakfast whilst there was an assortment of fresh meat and fish accompanied by vegetables for dinner. We would recommend booking directly with the hotel group to get the best deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel on a wonderful quiet location opposite Grazalema in its vast natural park. We stayed here for five days and even made excursions to Sevilla and to Jerez from here. Closer is the strange town with a bridge Ronda. The hotel itself was very comfortable with its large rooms and pool, and especially the buffet that comes with the reasonably priced half pension is a real treat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayalonga, Andalucia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Fuerte is 5 km from Grazalema village, one of the few truly unspoilt mountain villages, saved by its relative remoteness from hordes of tourists, with three good restaurants & several popular cafe/bars. The hotel location is almost isolated, but with easy access & ample parking.
We had visited the site several times whilst the building was in progress & had remarked how "bare" it appeared. Sadly, now that it's finished, it is! The public rooms are almost bereft of decor, ornamentation & decent furniture. It seems there was no money left properly to decorate & furnish & the hotel totally lacks atmosphere & ambience.
In high summer it caters for Spanish families holidaying with children (of which, this week, there were many!) Fortunately the large pool & surrounding terraces cope well with hiding them!
Bedrooms are simply furnished, but quality is fine, with good double glazing & thermal curtains to keep out the incredible late afternoon heat as the sinking sun shines directly on the window of all rooms. Professing itself to be an "eco-hotel" it provides no toiletries ("ask in reception"), except a postage stamp of soap & a wall-mounted shampoo dispenser, outside the bath/shower area! Yet, piles of useless literature in the room!
A small flat screen TV offered only one English channel - Euronews - which we consider inadequate in a 4-star hotel catering for tourists.
The good news: the best buffet breakfast we've had in years - far better than the Paradors' offering & less expensive. Massive choices & eggs & bacon cooked to order.
The bad news: rubber/plastic under sheets which made so much noise with every movement that we hardly slept the first night. Next day we removed them & peace was restored. We understand the logic of fitting them but this is supposed to be a 4-star hotel, not a hospital.

Room Tip: Furthest room from Reception, on the 4th floor, along the single corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in Fuerte Grazalema for 1 night during our road trip around the area on the second week of July. We had no problem reaching there by car (with our sat nav) even though the hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere, just by a side road on the way to Grazalema. There is ample parking on the hotel ground, which is very convenient for guests with cars.

We were a bit apprehensive in booking this hotel initially, knowing that it is a popular chain hotel and hence, were expecting one where there will be lots of families with wailing children swarming the pool and the common areas. But we were relieved that the hotel was in fact rather quiet when we were there. Perhaps it was not the holiday season or perhaps the crowd has gone since we checked in on a Sunday.

The main attraction has to be the big pool overlooking the majestic mountain range. What a fantastic view!! We were given Room 318 which is on the same floor as the main reception area and the room is spacious and comfortable, just as we had expected from a hotel of this standard. It has a small balcony overlooking the mountains but the wonderful view was unfortunately blocked by the high balcony wall (for safety reason??). All in all, we were very satisfied with the room and the hotel as a whole. It was quiet and we were able to get strong wifi even from our room, which was free.

Breakfast at the hotel was another thing to rave about! The choices were unbelievably vast and varied. Fresh fruits were being offered in abundance – all very generous and thoughtful.
The only complaint we have about this hotel is the Front Desk staff who checked us in on our arrival. We are surprised that for a hotel of this size, there was only her working at the front desk that day. She had some problems checking in the guests before us and from her whole demeanour, it was quite obvious that she did not know how to solve the problem and did not care that she had kept all of us waiting due to her inefficiencies. Her action was slow and her attitude, nonchalant!

We were made to wait for 25 minutes and there was no apologies being offered when she finally attended to us. Although she checked us in swiftly, she did not record or make note of the hotel voucher (we had paid our room in full when we booked the room) which we have given her, which caused us a lot of problem when we checked out. We were again held up for 30 minutes while checking out as another staff insisted that we have to pay for our room as she had no record of our payment! After much arguing and explaining, and after a long-distance call to the Agoda office (from where we had booked our room), they were finally satisfied that the room had in fact been paid for and told us we can leave the hotel. No apologies being offered, either !!

In an industry which depends so heavily on good customer service, we have to say that this hotel failed miserably and terribly!! The Front Desk of a hotel is the most important port of entry, so to speak, to welcome the hotel’s guests. The first impression that the guests receive really counts and is extremely important because this may affect the rest of their stay there. In this aspect, Hotel Fuerte really has to think seriously about retraining their inefficient staff to ensure that their guests’ stay is not made marred by all these unnecessary and unpleasant encounters.

Had it not been the terrible service we had received at the Front Desk, we would have voted this hotel 4/5. But customer service is of extreme importance to us, and we are sure, to many travellers who just want to have a good time and enjoy their holidays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We wanted to se something different and this hotel i really special. We stayed 3 days with our kids 6,11 and this was a perfect location for them. The views are fantastic, the staff is very friendly, would recommend "media pension". The food was excellent with local ecological products and wines. The cleaning of the room outstanding. We relaxed in the pools and walked the approx.1 hour trip to Grazalema, part of it on a road built by the romans. We took a local taxi back and got the tip to drive from the hotel to Zahara,Montecorto,Ronda and back a beautiful day trip passing the highest peak 1300m - Puerto de las Palomas to see the wonderful bird life. Little scary road trip but sound the horn before every curve and you will be allright.

A point to mention, do ask the staff for any help and they will try to help you. We got the veranda lit up for us only when we very late wanted to play cards and take drinks with the kids.

Do not be scared by reviews about rain. This is the place where it rains most in Spain, true but most rain falls in in january and february. In the summer it hardly rains, we had none at all, only sun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Fuerte Grazalema for one night on a road trip of Spain. The hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere- there's not even an address, just a km marker! It is just outside of Grazalema, with an incredible view of the town and the mountains. The hotel itself is a pretty standard eco-hotel; the rooms are serviceable and the outdoor space is amazing! Our room (on the bottom floor, two floors below the reception area) had an outdoor exit, a patio, and direct access to the pool. The pool and grounds are beautiful, and GREAT for the super hot weather in Andalusia. Down a path from the pool is a little animal sanctuary with rabbits, chickens and pigs. Super fun! We spent the day after our stay at Hotel Fuerte driving around the Pueblos Blancos. This is such beautiful, unspoiled country- the best thing in Spain that we saw!

Room Tip: Floor 2 has balconies, Floor 1 has patios with direct access to the grounds and pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Grazalema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Grazalema

Address: Baldio de los Alamillos Ctra. A-372, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grazalema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Grazalema 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
cological 4 star hotel situated in a cork tree forest in the heart of the Natural Park of Grazalema and only 20 Km from Ronda.77 rooms equipped with central climatization (cold in summer and hot in winter), telephone, minibar, safety box (extra), music channel, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection (extra), cot (free of charge on request), WIFI in Bar Noble area (free).The hotel has a restaurant specialised in local cuisine, terrace bar, pool bar (seasonal), lounges with chimney, Tv room, game room, outdoor pool with sun beds and solarium, outdoor jacuzzi, limited parking space (free of charge), mini animal farm with children's playground. Baby carriage, cot and baby bath free (depending on availability), internet room Complementary activities: bike rental, trekking, horse riding etc.Half board consists on breakfast and dinner, except August when guests can choose between lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Grazalema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.